We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stopover when travelling”
Review of Days Inn Stafford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Stafford
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good for a stopover when travelling”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 as we were looking for a hotel for a night stopover. I found the person at reception to be helpful and friendly and whilst the rooms could have been cleaner (e.g. the toilet bowl was a bit stained) it was good value for money. For those arriving late, the options for eating are McDonald's which neighbours the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. We are glad to hear about the positives but equally we are glad to hear the negatives. This has enabled us to improve on providing guests with a overall more pleasant experience. Thanks again hope to see you back at Days Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    68
    56
    27
    22
See reviews for
71
64
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here as a stopover last week on our travels to Scotland and Belfast. My partner chose it as it was number 1 of 4 on tripadvisor, but I now notice its dropped to number 2.

Bathroom wasn't very clean and they couldn't accommodate our request for a double room, so twin beds for us :-(

Reception greeting was cold and unfriendly and receptionist spent a good 3 minutes on the phone without even acknowledging us when we arrived.

It is a Days Inn, so wasn't expecting much and Premier Inn (which IMO cannot be beat) was full.

No soap in the bathroom and not much loo roll.

We always stay in luxurious accommodation when we travel and as this is costly due to the regularity of our holidays and long weekends, we try to cut costs on the stopover hotel, but as this is now the second time a stopover hotel has been dirty, we will have to re-think going for the cheaper stopover options, and factor a decent stopover hotel into the cost, as this hotel was not satisfactory really.

It was very quiet given it is on a main road and the 12am check out is great if you like your bed and want to lay in. Being active people eager to see our lovely country, we are always out of bed and gone at the crack of dawn!

Didn't have breakfast here so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your response. At Days Inn we try to make everyone's stay a comfortable one. We apologise for your experience not being an enjoyable one. The issues that you have raised have been noted and there are procedures in place to deal with them. We wish you all the best and thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived mid afternoon hotel clean but basic staff on reception really good full of helpful information ,room clean very basic but clean , unfortunately the bed was so uncomfortable once under duvet you could feel every spring also bed tipped to middle lady on reception managed to get us a 2nd duvet so we could make bed more comfortable but worst nights sleep for a very long time will stick with premier inn for value hotels as never wish to go this value again !

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sjsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Firstly, thank you for your feedback. At Days Inn we try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. In your case this was not the case. This problem has been noted and everything is being done to try an stop this from happening again. We apologise for the problems that were caused to you and your party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I booked this hotel for my daughters to use when attending V festiva,l because it was close to stafford station. (This was as the crow flies) one daughter could not attend so I drove down to stay and make sure the other got safely back after the shuttle bus the only way to get in or out of the site is by the south bound M6 carriageway. So after leaving Stafford station the only way back in is to drive back north to Stoke and turn back down the south carriagway. If my daughters had been alone the cab fair would have been too expensive. I booked for 2 nights and paid £120. When using the service area the recorded message clearly stated rooms, were available at £25 per night. this was a cynical rip off aimed at the V festival fans. On top of this the hotel smelt damp. On the second evening rather than drive back from Stoke, I carried on driving and came home

Room Tip: This hotel is only suitable for people travelling south who need a break in their journey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you and your party. We are trying our utmost to make sure that the hotel is properly advertised so that this does not happen again. Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stone hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I was booked to spend one night in this hotel, booking the accomodation the day before. I mentioned in the space available that I would be arriving late and left email and phone numbers in the normal way. The accomodation is located at motorway services hence only access is via the motorway.

On arrival at the junction before the services, i found that the motorway had been fully closed and hence the hotel was inaccessible. Left stranded in the midlands with no bed to go to, i had no choice but to continue home (a further 4 hour plus drive on a good day) arriving at just after 5am, 23 hours after getting up that morning and ten hours driving.

Had the closure been down to an accident, fair enough nothing could have been done, however in fact a quick internet search revealed the motorway closure was down to advertised roadworks with the motorway closing for the night at 9pm. This would have been well known to the hotel manager well in advance of the closure.

Why then was the hotel on sale the day before and more significantly, why did the manager not bother to contact his guests for that night to warn them that the hotel would not be accessible.

My first letter of complaint was completely ignored.
my second did get a short acknowledgment from customer services promising that the manager would be in touch within 72 hours and customer services would monitor and if response sent respond within 96 hours. 144 hours later, predictably still no response from either.

Really poor customer service. I will not be using this brand again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience that was caused to you on the night in question. We are doing everything possible for this kind of thing to never happen again. Once again we give our sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We booked 2 rooms, as we a family of 6, but have to say that we would have managed to fit in to one. the size of the rooms were great, we had a double bed, twin beds and a sofa bed, we booked them through booking.com at a cost of £21 per room, and it was well worth it. We expected a lot of noise but even though your next to the motorway it wasnt an issue. Linda on the reception desk helped us with direction to a couple of local places to eat, which were spot on. We stayed here before going to Alton towers and it was well worth it, we would use this hotel again no problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
The staff at Days Inn Stafford would like to take the time to thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We used this as a one night stopover and was not disappointed. The check in was fast and efficient and parking was not a problem as it is on the main M6 services and as a hotel guest you get free parking.
Reception handed the keys over and explained where our room was and about the eating/drinking facilities.
The room was large and comfortable and was perfect for a short stay.
This is a good friendly budget hotel and we would use it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Days-Loved-Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We would like to take the time to thank you for all your positive comments. We would love you see you back here at Days Inn Stafford in the not so distant future. Kind Regards from all at Days Inn Stafford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
494 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Stafford M6
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
7.5 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Stafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Stafford

Property: Days Inn Stafford
Address: Roadchef Motorway Svc Area | M6 Southbound Staffordshire, Stone ST15 0XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Stafford 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Stafford hotel is conveniently located off Motorway M6 just four miles north of Stafford town center, and 22 miles from Stafford Train Station. Our newly updated Stone, UK, hotel offers convenient access to Manchester in the north and Birmingham to the south. Thoughtful conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet, new flat-screen TVs, lounge chairs in every room and free parking for any size vehicle help make your stay hassle-free. A selection of beer, wine and spirits is available from reception from 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. for consumption in your guest room. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available at our pet-friendly hotel and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Book online today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Stafford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Stafford Stone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing