We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid like the plague unless you like Au de dog!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Stafford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Stafford
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague unless you like Au de dog!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Well all I can say is I have NEVER stayed somewhere like this in my life!!!
We stayed here for 2 nights as we were heading to Alton Towers and my god what a hell hole.
The corridors had a funny smell but when we got into the room the smell was foul. It was a mix of wet dog and damp! We had to have 4 sented candles lit around the room!
The shower was filthy with mould and old scum build up on the shower head. The shower curtain looked like it was about 40yr old and covered in mould. And the ceiling was covered in black damp patches.
The bed was like sleeping on a trampoline, the matress must have been very old! and around the window was all black from the damp...... the tv also kept switching itself on!
We went to reception to complain and to say we were looking to leave and find somewhere else to stay and the woman didn't look concerened or ever offer to move us to another room.... (as she is obv well aware she works in a hovel)
Unfortunately there were no rooms available elsewhere nearby so we had to stay!!!
All in all I think we would have had nicer accommodation if we had checked into the kennels for the weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agwilson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We are extremely sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with our hotel. The points that you have raised have been passed onto the site director and are being dealt with accordingly. Again we are very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    60
    51
    25
    21
See reviews for
63
61
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stopped here overnight on our homeward journey. The room was very well presented and the beds were extremely comfortable ( probably the best of all the Hotels and Motels that we have stayed in !)
Not forgetting - Excellent Value for Money

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We would like to thank you for your extremely nice comments and that we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back here in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Overall a nice place to get your head down for the night bed was really comfy.Room was of a generous size although the tv kept cutting out and so did the wifi. Downside was waking up the next morning to no hot water but staff were very helpful and offered a full refund.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrzo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on our page. We would again like to apologise for the lack of hot water in the morning. As for the WiFi and TV keep cutting out we are looking for a solution into this problem. We hope that you will come and stay with us again in the not too distant future. Once again thank you for leaving us a message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

after a long day at silverstone with two kids we traveled to the hotel,when i went to check in my reservation had not been logged into the system the receptionist was a male chap (didnt get his name),but when i showed him my reservation on my iphone the chap couldnt do enough to help me he put us up in a family room,with more room than alton towers hotel,,and i was astounded at the great quality the hotel had to offer we were going to stay over at alton towers hotel or the travel lodge near ashbourne but this hotel was half the price,only a further 6.5 miles and i have to admit the room was clean,the beds were comfortable,the kids loved it and as a stop over i cant recommend it enough,
quiet halls no noise and very admirable at half the price,
thankyou Days Inn would stay again

would recommend AAAAAAAA***********

Room Tip: family room lots of space and great quality for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clive m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. Secondly, thank you for the kind comments that you have left us. We try to give every customer the best experience that we can give. We hope to see you in the not so distant future. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Arrived quite late at night on route to Scotland from Essex. On arrival we were kept waiting for several minutes while the hotel receptionist had a rather loud telephone conversation with someone over how many guests could stay in one room.

Having eventually got to our own room it was of average standard but was let down by there being several holes in the bed sheets, a somewhat grubby bath and the fact that there was absolutely no liquid soap in the two dispensers. Other than this the room was of a fair size and clean overall.

The hotel is very conveniently located for those travelling on the M6, with motorway services next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel some feedback, as with all feedback we do take it into account and there have been procedures put in place to deal with the issues that have been raised to help give the customer an overall positive experience. We would like to thank you again for leaving us a comment and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 as we were looking for a hotel for a night stopover. I found the person at reception to be helpful and friendly and whilst the rooms could have been cleaner (e.g. the toilet bowl was a bit stained) it was good value for money. For those arriving late, the options for eating are McDonald's which neighbours the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. We are glad to hear about the positives but equally we are glad to hear the negatives. This has enabled us to improve on providing guests with a overall more pleasant experience. Thanks again hope to see you back at Days Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here as a stopover last week on our travels to Scotland and Belfast. My partner chose it as it was number 1 of 4 on tripadvisor, but I now notice its dropped to number 2.

Bathroom wasn't very clean and they couldn't accommodate our request for a double room, so twin beds for us :-(

Reception greeting was cold and unfriendly and receptionist spent a good 3 minutes on the phone without even acknowledging us when we arrived.

It is a Days Inn, so wasn't expecting much and Premier Inn (which IMO cannot be beat) was full.

No soap in the bathroom and not much loo roll.

We always stay in luxurious accommodation when we travel and as this is costly due to the regularity of our holidays and long weekends, we try to cut costs on the stopover hotel, but as this is now the second time a stopover hotel has been dirty, we will have to re-think going for the cheaper stopover options, and factor a decent stopover hotel into the cost, as this hotel was not satisfactory really.

It was very quiet given it is on a main road and the 12am check out is great if you like your bed and want to lay in. Being active people eager to see our lovely country, we are always out of bed and gone at the crack of dawn!

Didn't have breakfast here so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnTeamStafford, Manager at Days Inn Stafford, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your response. At Days Inn we try to make everyone's stay a comfortable one. We apologise for your experience not being an enjoyable one. The issues that you have raised have been noted and there are procedures in place to deal with them. We wish you all the best and thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
472 reviews
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
10.6 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Stafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Stafford

Property: Days Inn Stafford
Address: Roadchef Motorway Svc Area | M6 Southbound Staffordshire, Stone ST15 0XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Stafford 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Stafford hotel is conveniently located off Motorway M6 just four miles north of Stafford town center, and 22 miles from Stafford Train Station. Our newly updated Stone, UK, hotel offers convenient access to Manchester in the north and Birmingham to the south. Thoughtful conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet, new flat-screen TVs, lounge chairs in every room and free parking for any size vehicle help make your stay hassle-free. A selection of beer, wine and spirits is available from reception from 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. for consumption in your guest room. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available at our pet-friendly hotel and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Book online today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Stafford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Stafford Stone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing