We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to be avoided”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Granville, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“to be avoided”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Apart from the darkness of the room, the cracking of the wooden floor from the corridor and other bedrooms, the worst thing was the bed: one could feel the springs just with the hand!
I have been answered that I could not change room as the hotel was full (strangely the car park was 2/3 empty at 7am) and that I was not forced to stay…

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaGiret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Unfortunately I am unable to verify the date of your stay from your comments, but can assure you that we would not comment falsely about the occupancy levels of the Hotel. . It is our firm belief to assist our guests wherever possible. I sincerely apologise for the standard of the mattress. We are currently in the process of purchasing new stock for our rooms. Our property is an old country house which has been restored and enlarged. Some rooms are situated in the country house section, others in the extended wing of the hotel. I do sincerely hope that my apologies are accepted and that you will reconsider visiting us again whereby I sincerely hope you will experience a better standard of room and mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    159
    131
    48
    41
See reviews for
101
178
15
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We only stayed for one night as we were invited to a wedding reception and were very pleased.The bedroom was spacious and clean even though some of the furnishings are a little old we had no complaints.The breakfast is very good and staff pleasant.As we arrived in the afternoon we spent some time in Stone which was a steady 20minute stroll-nice little town with bars shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nett22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We had our daughters 21st Birthday party here as it's close to where we live, but where we and others from our family from different parts of the UK could meet and stay. We had to book the room for the party well in advance, reserved some rooms and then made the final arrangements and confirmations on numbers a couple of weeks before. We just stayed 1 night, but others in the family stayed for 2 nights. The party was good, the staff were great and the manager and the party organiser were really good at making sure everything went smoothly. Other than the party food we didn't eat in the evening in the restaurant. We did however have breakfast there and you help yourself to the cereals etc and they take your order for the cooked breakfast,which was cooked fresh and very good.
The party cost a lot, but the bedrooms were very reasonable for our stay. The rooms were a good size, but our bathroom needed freshening up somewhat, but it was OK and very good value for money. My sister in law and her husband had noisy people in the room next door on the Saturday night, which they reported to reception and it quietened for a bit, but then the adult noises started up again. Reception this time offered a room move which they quickly accepted and settled down to a good nights sleep albeit a little belated. Can highly recommend this as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We booked a twin room with this hotel for a relaxing weekend away after a very traumatic few weeks, but on arrival we were informed that they only had 2 single rooms and nobody had rung to inform us before our arrival. The manager actually said that he would not charge us any extra for having 2 single rooms! The manager also came straight from the kitchen smelling of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
As I mentioned on the day that I met you, please accept my sincere apologies for the unfortunate error, that at the time of your booking we had just filled and were closing out to all channels. This was very unfortunate, and indeed agree that you should have been contacted at that stage. I did offer the choice of two single rooms, or to book elsewhere in the vicinity. I apologise that we were unable to help you further, but would ask that you accept my apologies and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you to the Stone House Hotel at some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stone hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

It is difficult to understand how this hotel claims to be a country house hotel when it is just off a major arterial route, the A34 a dual carriageway and is located next to an industrial park.

The only part of the hotel which is original is the central section housing the public areas i.e. dining room, bar, reception etc. Most of the rooms are housed in 2 modern brick built extensions housing compact but perfectly clean and functional rooms.

Breakfast was fine but frankly nothing special, as too was the price at £95.00 for a double B & B.

It is a 5 minute taxi ride to Stone town centre at about £5 but walking can be hazardous due to having to negotiate the A34 which in parts does not have pavements.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if physically challenged stipulate a ground floor room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank printer066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This hotel looks tired and in need of a refurb. The standard double was far too hot, even with the window open it was stuffy. The decoration was very dated, and it had little charm. The receptionist tried to charge us even though we had prepaid. Generally ok for one night if you have no other options, but there really is nothing special about this hotel. One positive is that we got up late for breakfast and got there just as it was finishing, but the waitress offered to still cook us a bacon or sausage sandwich and get us tea and coffee which was really nice of her.

Room Tip: The standard double was awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffsMazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the waitress. Please accept my apologies that you were being asked to pay, even though you had already paid. We have recently taken on new receptionists and whilst training had been provided there were obviously certain aspects that required further training and understanding.
I do appreciate your comments regarding the tiredness of the property. This follows the inherited portfolio by Oxford Hotels and Inns that required considerable investment. There is a programm of investment currently taking place throughout the portfolio, and we as a hotel will endeavour to improve our property through what means we can, because we take pride in what we do and the image that we portray.
Thank you for your comments.
Mike Hewitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This room (52) is apparently charged at £95! Don't pay it!!! We got the room at £40 through last minute.com and I'm not sure I've had value for money even at that price! Rooms are dated, very hot, not many power points, appalling decor (in my opinion!) holes in carpets are taped up, it's just not nearly as good as an ibis, holiday inn etc... which are the same price bracket.

Breakfast was poor. Waffles unavailable, bacon overcooked and just not acceptable if paying £95 for the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for your comments. It is our aim to continually provide value for money in a very competitative market, with a positive attitude to service, and with competitative rates reflective of our the local market. We do also endeavour to ensure that, within our means work is carried out to continually improve the standard of our rooms. Oxford Hotels and Inns inherited a portfolio of properties that require considerable investment. This investment continues across the estate despite a downturn in business over the past couple of years. The programme of investment continues.
Please accept my apologies for the unsatisfactory breakfast, and your comments have been passed to the relevant senior team member to retrain to the correct standard.
Mike Hewitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Stafford M6
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
213 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stafford Road, Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegantly restored country house, the traditional style creates a delightful and tranquil environment echoed in the peaceful gardens and patio areas. There are 50 en suite rooms and guest facilities including an indoor swimming pool, sauna and gym. Dine in our restaurant with its original fireplaces and views across the gardens or recharge your batteries in the Lounge Bar. Whatever your requirements, our experienced staff will be on hand to discuss your needs throughout your stay. Our personal attention to those little extra details, along with the courtesy of our staff, will leave you confident that your stay will be an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing