We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Haslingden, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had a lovely stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed one saturday night at the Stone House hotel and had a excellent stay. The reviews hadn't been the best but we had already booked so went along anyway and we were not disapointed. The place was packed out for a wedding but we were made to feel welcome by every single employee we came across, everyone was friendly and helpful and appeared to be enjoying themselves.
The food was excellent, really good. Nothing else to say there. The hotel was nice, there was a well kept garden area and everywhere was in good nick as far as I could see, not that we gave it a particularly close inspection.
The bedroom was a reasonable size for the rpice, with the usual TV, iron, trouser press etc but dont expect internet or wifi. The room was, as others have said, unfeasibly hot, though. And the mattress was a little lumpy. Still, we'd a few drinks and great evening so didn't really care.
Overall, great value for money. Dinner (3 course), bed and breakfast (unlimited, offered everything you could imagine from cereal to a full english) for around £100. Can't fault the service or the food at all, happy customers. We'll go back if we need somewhere in the location again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachyD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    152
    122
    48
    39
See reviews for
95
172
14
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Granville, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Apart from the darkness of the room, the cracking of the wooden floor from the corridor and other bedrooms, the worst thing was the bed: one could feel the springs just with the hand!
I have been answered that I could not change room as the hotel was full (strangely the car park was 2/3 empty at 7am) and that I was not forced to stay…

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaGiret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Unfortunately I am unable to verify the date of your stay from your comments, but can assure you that we would not comment falsely about the occupancy levels of the Hotel. . It is our firm belief to assist our guests wherever possible. I sincerely apologise for the standard of the mattress. We are currently in the process of purchasing new stock for our rooms. Our property is an old country house which has been restored and enlarged. Some rooms are situated in the country house section, others in the extended wing of the hotel. I do sincerely hope that my apologies are accepted and that you will reconsider visiting us again whereby I sincerely hope you will experience a better standard of room and mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stone hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We only stayed for one night as we were invited to a wedding reception and were very pleased.The bedroom was spacious and clean even though some of the furnishings are a little old we had no complaints.The breakfast is very good and staff pleasant.As we arrived in the afternoon we spent some time in Stone which was a steady 20minute stroll-nice little town with bars shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nett22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We had our daughters 21st Birthday party here as it's close to where we live, but where we and others from our family from different parts of the UK could meet and stay. We had to book the room for the party well in advance, reserved some rooms and then made the final arrangements and confirmations on numbers a couple of weeks before. We just stayed 1 night, but others in the family stayed for 2 nights. The party was good, the staff were great and the manager and the party organiser were really good at making sure everything went smoothly. Other than the party food we didn't eat in the evening in the restaurant. We did however have breakfast there and you help yourself to the cereals etc and they take your order for the cooked breakfast,which was cooked fresh and very good.
The party cost a lot, but the bedrooms were very reasonable for our stay. The rooms were a good size, but our bathroom needed freshening up somewhat, but it was OK and very good value for money. My sister in law and her husband had noisy people in the room next door on the Saturday night, which they reported to reception and it quietened for a bit, but then the adult noises started up again. Reception this time offered a room move which they quickly accepted and settled down to a good nights sleep albeit a little belated. Can highly recommend this as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dekka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We booked a twin room with this hotel for a relaxing weekend away after a very traumatic few weeks, but on arrival we were informed that they only had 2 single rooms and nobody had rung to inform us before our arrival. The manager actually said that he would not charge us any extra for having 2 single rooms! The manager also came straight from the kitchen smelling of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
As I mentioned on the day that I met you, please accept my sincere apologies for the unfortunate error, that at the time of your booking we had just filled and were closing out to all channels. This was very unfortunate, and indeed agree that you should have been contacted at that stage. I did offer the choice of two single rooms, or to book elsewhere in the vicinity. I apologise that we were unable to help you further, but would ask that you accept my apologies and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you to the Stone House Hotel at some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

It is difficult to understand how this hotel claims to be a country house hotel when it is just off a major arterial route, the A34 a dual carriageway and is located next to an industrial park.

The only part of the hotel which is original is the central section housing the public areas i.e. dining room, bar, reception etc. Most of the rooms are housed in 2 modern brick built extensions housing compact but perfectly clean and functional rooms.

Breakfast was fine but frankly nothing special, as too was the price at £95.00 for a double B & B.

It is a 5 minute taxi ride to Stone town centre at about £5 but walking can be hazardous due to having to negotiate the A34 which in parts does not have pavements.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if physically challenged stipulate a ground floor room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank printer066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

This hotel looks tired and in need of a refurb. The standard double was far too hot, even with the window open it was stuffy. The decoration was very dated, and it had little charm. The receptionist tried to charge us even though we had prepaid. Generally ok for one night if you have no other options, but there really is nothing special about this hotel. One positive is that we got up late for breakfast and got there just as it was finishing, but the waitress offered to still cook us a bacon or sausage sandwich and get us tea and coffee which was really nice of her.

Room Tip: The standard double was awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffsMazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the waitress. Please accept my apologies that you were being asked to pay, even though you had already paid. We have recently taken on new receptionists and whilst training had been provided there were obviously certain aspects that required further training and understanding.
I do appreciate your comments regarding the tiredness of the property. This follows the inherited portfolio by Oxford Hotels and Inns that required considerable investment. There is a programm of investment currently taking place throughout the portfolio, and we as a hotel will endeavour to improve our property through what means we can, because we take pride in what we do and the image that we portray.
Thank you for your comments.
Mike Hewitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Stone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
5.0 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stafford Road, Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegantly restored country house, the traditional style creates a delightful and tranquil environment echoed in the peaceful gardens and patio areas. There are 50 en suite rooms and guest facilities including an indoor swimming pool, sauna and gym. Dine in our restaurant with its original fireplaces and views across the gardens or recharge your batteries in the Lounge Bar. Whatever your requirements, our experienced staff will be on hand to discuss your needs throughout your stay. Our personal attention to those little extra details, along with the courtesy of our staff, will leave you confident that your stay will be an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing