We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty Towers but with lovely staff!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
kendal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers but with lovely staff!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed for a 2 night break booked through Superbreaks. £150 for 2 people for 2 nights b and b with dinner on the first evening. From the moment we arrived to the second we left, staff were so helpful, pleasant and welcoming, especially those on Reception. However the staff in the restaurant, though they worked hard and tried their best, just didn't have a clue. It was amusing watching drinks go to the wrong table, breakfast delivered to a group of 5 with every dish incorrect and the waiters in disarray. Just felt like they needed a better system and more training. No surprise that our bill had an additional drink on it which we hadn't ordered, though it was removed when we queried it. Food plentiful in the evening. Breakfast would be improved if it was a self servic hot buffet.
Bedroom was very nice. Shabby bathroom but clean and with lots of hot water. Plenty of space and even a table and chairs in the room.
Like so many British hotels, sad to see the worn carpets and furnishings. Beautiful grounds but needed some attention.
We would stay again but mostly due to the convenient location for visiting friends and family and due to the warm welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekykkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
I am in receipt of your comments posted on Trip Advisor.
May I firstly thank you for your very kind words regarding members of my staff, this is greatly appreciated.
We accept that with certain aspects of the building there is attention required, and Oxford Hotels and Inns is, even in the current economic climate, applying a programme of upgrades and refurbishment within it’s portfolio.
May I additionally apologise for the confusion surrounding breakfast service. I have passed your comments onto my Operations Manager, and discussed the needs of training within this area, albeit this occurred as a result of more senior members being away from the business. However this and other aspects of your comments will be addressed to ensure that in future we can ensure an improved level of service throughout the Hotel.
Thank you once again for your comments as it is through comments such as you have made that we can positively monitor, maintain and improve our levels of service within the Hotel
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    152
    122
    48
    39
See reviews for
95
172
14
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have used this hotel over the last 10 years when I travel down to Crufts. It is lovely to see the same staff year after year. We are welcome to bring the dogs in, and the staff always make a fuss over them.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. They have a small swimming pool and sauna, which is good after a long day at the show.
The staff make every effort to make sure your stay is good and you leave happy. The breakfast is very good! Cooked fresh for you rather than a buffet, which I don't like. Also top marks for the service!
Only down side is, if there is a wedding or party on, then it can get a tad noisy.
But even that wouldn't make me change hotel for my yearly trip down to Crufts.
A big thumbs up from me and my 9yr old daughter who travels with me!

Room Tip: The original part of the hotel has the best rooms as long as there is there isn't a function on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Wow , this hotel was set in lovely gardens and the hotel staff were lovely . Would highly recommend and def would stay again. We ate in the bar and the food was really nice and the bar wasnt too expensive. The breakfast in the morning was really nice too.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keljon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston Lancashire. England.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I found this short break on Ebay by searching spa hotel breaks. I paid through a booking company called Spa & Hotel breaks. Seamless transaction. No hidden extras!
Congratulations to the friendly and efficient hotel staff who made our weekend superb. Pleased to recommend the chef for the quality of his/her food served on hot plates!
We had the bridal suite by chance which was charming with the four poster bed. I wasn't able to watch the football from bed because the post was in the way. This was to my partner's delight and amusement!
Thank you all again!

Room Tip: Please your partner and book room number 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed over Valentines and had a great time for a great price . The hotel is just off a main road and our room over looked the car park but we didn't hear any traffic noise at all and I am a light sleeper.1 negative is the drafty windows but the heating in the room was good and closing the thick curtains took away any chill when we sat at the table to drink champagne : ) We used the pool which was lovely and warm and my boyfriend used the gym . We had a 4 course evening meal which had a good choice and was very tasty we also had a bottle of rose wine at a special valentine price of £10 bargain!! followed by coffee and chocolates in the lounge the whole evening was made more special being entertained by a lovely singer . Yes the hotel is a little shabby in places (but so is my house ) the service was excellent the room was very large with ample storage space the bathroom had a great shower and large bath and again lots of storage space .
The hotel is in a good position for visiting other places , But don't expect a country house in large grounds it is next to an industrial estate but once inside the hotel you wouldn't know or care . We caught the local bus into Stafford from just around the corner and they run untill almost midnight .
Over all for the price we paid the stay was excellent and we would return again

Room Tip: Dont worry if you are at the front its very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glittergalMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

we visited the stone house for a valentines weekend feb 2012

we have stayed at this hotel in 2010 for valentines weekend.

the hotel itself is very basic but clean etc

we booked in at the resturant for a "romantic" meal.... there was nothing romantic about it! the meal cost £27.50 which was daylight robbery... i have had better meals at a two for one resturant! food was either over cooked or undercooked, dry and tastless, i could of cooked it better myself and i really arent a fussy eater

the food this time was of such low standard compared to the food 2 years ago, i recommened a new chef for evening meals... however the breakfast in the morning was fab
there was a singer on called heavenly voices.... which whilst u are eating just became annoying, couldnt wait to leave the resturant -

i would return to the hotel but i would not use the resturant at night.

Room Tip: do not eat in the resturant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stone hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice over the last 2 years when visiting friends in the area. The price has always been good and when travelling with children as we are it is always good to have food included in the deal. Our second stay was not as good as our first unfortunately, this was mainly due to the change in the style of the main restaurant menu - it has gone from what was an a la carte feel to a bit of a large chain diner kind of feel, even down to the printed laminated menu format. The quality is still good and the team of young staff are still really helpful. The rooms remain a good size to accommodate a family and are comfy with all the facilities you could need, and the small pool is great for a dip with the children or an early morning swim. This hotel is on a small business estate as previous reviews have stated but it has not had any impact on our stay - don't be put off by the location it is both easy to find and practical for days out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flintstones81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Stone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
5.0 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stafford Road, Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegantly restored country house, the traditional style creates a delightful and tranquil environment echoed in the peaceful gardens and patio areas. There are 50 en suite rooms and guest facilities including an indoor swimming pool, sauna and gym. Dine in our restaurant with its original fireplaces and views across the gardens or recharge your batteries in the Lounge Bar. Whatever your requirements, our experienced staff will be on hand to discuss your needs throughout your stay. Our personal attention to those little extra details, along with the courtesy of our staff, will leave you confident that your stay will be an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing