We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"afternoon tea"”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“"afternoon tea"”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

very good value for the money paid, however we had our tea in the main bar area, which was comfortable but our tea was served on plates , we had thought of a tiered cake stand but no! this was a slight disappointment ,the staff were very pleasant but very matter of fact. it felt like we just stopped of for a sandwich. a one off experience , if they want to promote they need to shape up a bit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajp283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review of your Afternoon Tea experience with us. Whilst I was unaware of your disapointment, and wish that you had spoken directly with a senior manager at the Hotel of your concerns, I believe you had purchased a Voucher through Travelzoo.
I can advise that we do endeavour at all times to ensure the standard and quality of the food presented is of a high standard. Further to this we are awaiting delivery of three tiered stands for such service. We do intend to utilise these moving forward, which I am sure will add character to the experience. Please do come again, and try this out.
Kind regards
MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    157
    130
    48
    41
See reviews for
100
177
15
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed for one night. There was a big puddle immediately in front of the main entrance door which was there when we left the next morning. The receptionist was efficient and polite. The route to my room took me up and down stairs, along narrow corridors and through four doors. A bit of a challenge if you have more than one bag. Also some of the doors open directly against stairs which can be a little hazardous.

The room was pleasant and clean with a comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities, and free wifi with a good signal. Make sure you get the code from reception. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. An iron and board was also provided.

The room was located in the old stables area and featured an old timber beam running through. The floor was a little creaky and the carpet a little worn, but I would put that down to part of the character of the place.

There is a nice bar area with comfortable seating, and dinner is a choice of either bar meals or seated in the dining room. The food is excellent and the service very good.

Breakfast was very efficient and well presented. There is a good choice of cereals, fruit and cooked food which is made to order.

The quirks of the place do give it some character, and the staff are very polite and helpful. I would certainly stay here again. I found it to be very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to write of your recent stay at the Stone House Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, whom i believe add character to the place.
Unfortunately in extreme weather we can experience some car park flooding, and we do endeavour to pump this away as quickly as possible My apologies for this inconvenience. We do believe that we have a unique property here, with easy access to major roads and the added bonus of leisure facilities. I am pleased to read that you will visit us again. Thank you
Kind regards
MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a wonderful dinner, buffet tea and overnight stay. Breakfast was such a varied choice, too.all the staff were excellant and so helpful, we just hope that we are both well enough to repeat the experience in 2014

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind and positive comments. We certainly would like to see you again this year - planning is already under way. We wish you all a very pleasant New Year.
Kind regards
MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel 30th and 31st December 2013. Had a couple of minor issues when we arrived, these were sorted out straight away, so not worth giving air time to. Excellent staff very friendly and helpful. Food was top quality. New years eve night buffet was exceptional drinks at a really good rate, not inflated like some places. We had a really good break here even went swimming in the pool. Would recommend this hotel and will probably book again next year, but this time will phone the hotel direct to book!

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer part of the hotel are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Please do call us direct, we will always endeavour to assist further and provide the best available rate at time of booking. We do look forward to serving you again this coming year.
Kind regards
MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Met up with family and friends for a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel for a short break. Nice walk into Stone on Xmas morning, along the canal. Locals were really friendly as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and review of your stay here and the locality of Stone. We certainly hope that you will visit us again, but in the mean time wish you a very Happy New Year.
Kind regards
MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

A lovely charming hotel. Excellent friendly and accomodating staff all with "can do" attitudes. Stopped New years eve ,hot and cold buffet was excellent..in fact outstanding. Dj for disco was only let down and simply by poor music choices completely failed to pack the dance floor...other than that outstanding food..staff make the place fantastic. Thank you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank keemanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. We do sincerely hope you return here later in the year. We wish you a very Happy New year.
Kind regards
MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Nice, friendly hotel with an excellent cooked breakfast. The room was spacious, clean and quiet, with a large, comfy bed. The staff were really helpful and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast cooked to order. The decor's a little dated, but kind of charming. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I shall ensure that your comments are highlighted to the staff here. Thank you.
Have a Happy New Year.
MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Stone
2.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stafford Road, Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegantly restored country house, the traditional style creates a delightful and tranquil environment echoed in the peaceful gardens and patio areas. There are 50 en suite rooms and guest facilities including an indoor swimming pool, sauna and gym. Dine in our restaurant with its original fireplaces and views across the gardens or recharge your batteries in the Lounge Bar. Whatever your requirements, our experienced staff will be on hand to discuss your needs throughout your stay. Our personal attention to those little extra details, along with the courtesy of our staff, will leave you confident that your stay will be an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing