We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice alternative to same old, same old” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cullens Restaurant - CLOSED

Cullens Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice alternative to same old, same old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went on a Friday night to celebrate a new job and it was just what we wanted. Nice intimate venue with unobtrusive but friendly service and fantastic food. Limited menu but that's the idea and when the food is that well done it shows why. A nice alternative to the usual haunts in the area and comparable value for a special night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mrobborobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    48
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dont let this restaurant go for lack of support”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited this restaurant twice in the last couple of weeks.The food was Michelin class,perfectly prepared and presented.The flavours were well chosen and distinct.This is without a doubt the best restaurant for miles.It is a little expensive for local values but take it from me it is worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A fantastic dining experience.Friendly and knowledgeable staff all contributed to this culinary delight. My daughter who has made a life style choice and become vegan asked if there was any vegan options. Without hesitation the menu was changed for her and individualised, with no detriment to flavours or experience. SUPERB, four very happy diners who are looking forward to the next time

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oasis in culinary desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed in area for Staffs Uni graduation and wanted a celebratory meal the evening before. Research of the area failed to show many/any high class dining establishments. However found Cullens on Tripadvisor so thought we'd give it a go.

What a treat!

Fantastic meal. Limited but lovely choice of innovative dishes, beautifully cooked and executed. Superb fine dining. We weren't surprised to find out the history of the chef when we looked it up later!

We considered the £32 for a 3 course set meal with various choices excellent value for money for such good food.

One of our party has various food allergies and these were dealt with professionally and politely.

We were pleased with the service and had no problems at all. We would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to others and hope it continues to thrive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Choochoochaboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent evening now the best food in Stone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great evening on Saturday thank you. Food was excellent and great service upstairs. Good attention to detail loved the flower on my starter! Fish was amazing and desert excellent. Petit Fours with coffee made the meal. My Dad wanted to come and is a regular. I will be now too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jane134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cullens Restaurant also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing