We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just too hot!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“just too hot!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

After reading some dreadful reviews we were pleasantly surprised when given a room in the main hotel as thought we had booked for the annexe . . . . however this was short lived we were given room 2 . this was very smart and clean but the heat was absolutely unbearable we looked for the controls to turn down the heat there were none. this was because the outlet pipes from the kitchen were actually running through the floor of the room with the outlet pipes and vents on the outer wall , they were boxed in by a large metal covering which was very hot to the touch,. we opened the window but the noise from the system was so loud! also slightly worried about the safety aspects of this set up...... I asked the receptionist if we could be moved (even she stated she would not sleep in this room) and moved into the annexe this was mediocre but better than being boiled alive it was clean and we slept ok and the lady did reduce the price accordingly. I am sure there must be some lovely rooms in this hotel and may book again but not without speaking to the hotel directly about the rooms .

Room Tip: not room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizlovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    61
    44
    54
    72
See reviews for
56
82
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed here recently as I was on business in the area. I had booked the hotel prior to reading other reviews, so I wasn't expecting a great experience once I had read them.
I arrived at the hotel around 10pm. Unfortunately they had finished serving food, but the very pleasant receptionist went out of her way and got me a sandwich. The lady in the bar was very courteous.
The bedroom was basic, but clean.
Breakfast waitress was pleasant. Only downside was that the Fried Eggs were rock hard and greasy.
Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fogertyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Greeted by a man on the front desk, check in was smooth. The rooms are undoubtably a good size and the bathroom was clean and well-equipped however, the hotel was so old and old-fashioned (which i usually enjoy) however, this one lacked in an charm and was paired with youngish staff who didnt seem to give a toss. The bar has a very limited selection and didnt even have lime. The sleep quality was not great. Very very noise landings and the bed wasnt the comfiest. The breakfast was the poorest breakfast quality i have ever withnessed in any hotel. ever! my step mum ordered a full breakfast which cam with a raw sausage, limp lifeless bacon and cold toast. I ordered 2 pieces of wholemeal toast as you cant bugger that up, can u? it was cold yet burnt on the edges. There was no tea left in the flasks and the young waitresses looked bored to death and absoluitely lifeless. No wonder working in such a shabby and aged establishment. Steer clear.

Room Tip: Go for a high room, to avoid too much noise from the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieB924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stone hotels

Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

While the hotel would benefit from a sympathetic refresh of paint and plaster, you can clearly see the hotels charm, with wonderful original wood panelling throughout and open fires. The Dining Room is very impressive (almost Titanic) in appearance but may struggle to pull in customers as can appear a little too formal (perhaps for the older clientele!)
Overall it was a lovely base to venture out, although beware folks if going the evening before the local Farmers Market. It sets up at 3am in the morning right outside the door and we got nil sleep on the Friday night. Good market though!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

A local band put on a fund raising event at The Crown Hotel to swell the coffers of the music festival held in the town. We invited some friends and looked forward to a good evening out.
The 'gig' was held in the function room of a hotel designed by Henry Holland - how could it fail? Spectacularly !
The room is at the top of two flights of stairs (no disabled access),it was cold (no heating and zero degrees C. outside),the toilets were back down the two flights of stairs and the adjacent bar was closed.
In order to get our drinks we had to descend the stairs,follow a corridor to the reception,circumnavigate said reception and enter the front (very public) bar. There we waited,being subjected to an overly loud wall mounted tv,until the person working on reception was free to serve . On occasion,said receptionist/bar person was assisted by a waitress from the restaurant who was looking for a way to pass the time.
This is a hotel. A place to eat,drink and sleep. I have previously commented on the restaurant and have never stayed the night but I can record my disdain at a hotel in Britain in the year 2013 serving creamflow/keg beer and offering nothing as an alternative. In fact the range of drinks available was very poor.
This hotel needs to be taken over by people who would recognise its heritage and modernise it sympathetically whilst retaining what is left of its original charm. People who have respect and regard for their clientele. People who have a clue !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golani49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel is a lovely building that is in need of some TLC. The wood paneling in the lounge and the wood burner was a very warming sight. The only downside was the receptionist, she not very forthcoming with information and was abrupt.

The breakfast was okay toast was cold and once the jug of orange juice ran out it was not replenished.

Room Tip: Room 1 was over the top of a Mexican restaurant so make sure this room is not allocated to yourselve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizziehMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

On the high street with the car park accessed from the rear off the one way system. You can eat in the bar or the large dining room, which seemed to reflect bygone days when this must have been the best place for miles around.
The rooms were modern, clean and very comfortable. My only disappointment being that I could not actually see out of my window.
Good pub food in the evening and a great British breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Stafford M6
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 38 High Street, Stone ST15 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Stone
The Crown Hotel Stone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing