We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel closed and still got charged”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel closed and still got charged”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We too arrived to see the closed sign on window and after banging on the door and window we got no answer, and unfortunately we slept in the car because of the rod stewart concert and at 4 pm there were no rooms anyware imagine my delight at seeing my credit card had been charged £80 the day after our booking a month earlier faulty towers has got nothing on this place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    61
    45
    59
    98
See reviews for
67
94
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked 2 twin rooms a few weeks ago via Booking.com and obviously paid in full, total cost £120.00 (rooms only) Breakfast an extra £7.50 each paid up front if we wanted it, we declined.

When we arrived we were advised that there was only one twin room available and that they had put up a Z bed up (camp bed) in with a double bed in the other room. When we opened the door we were met with cramped conditions, unable to use the wardrobe, double bed in front of the doors, the z bed was in front of other draws that could have been used also and a 5 inch gap between the two beds to manoeuvre in.

Went back to reception to see if there would be a discount due to the fact that we did not expect to pay to sleep on a camp bed. No joy, in fact the woman on reception said we need to take it up with Booking.com, which I will. She said someone had phoned us to advise us of the problem with the room, a blatant lie, no phone call and no message left on my answering machine, they had a few weeks to inform us. I am sick and tired of getting ripped off by establishments such has this, once they have your money you can sod off.

The room that we were put in was in an annexe next door, and the room backed onto the car park and a main road which was quite noisy. This hotel is very tired and need of a total refurbishment, the staff need to get there fact's right, nothing to do with Booking.com on how the hotel is run. Needless to say we shall not be stopping at this hotel again, and I have passed this information onto family, friends and work colleagues.

Save your hard earned money and find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chubster3756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here in 2014, trouble from the start with booking in, they haven't got a clue how to run a hotel I was waiting ages. The room wasn't up to standard, seemed like it had been left for weeks. Shower was boiling hot no inbetween. Reception staff are useless especially the Indian woman. Food terrible, cold and looked awful.
Do not stay here!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Booked for Rod Stewart concert in Stoke and due to all the hotels being booked up,we ended up in Stone,some 10 miles away.Our first encounter was asking for directions when in Stone ,only to be told it was closed.We went to the hotel and a notice in the window did say closed,however knocking on the front door a very nice obliging woman opened up and said they were only open for bookings(phew).She directed us to the free car park at the rear and we were showed our room.Recently decorated and clean,but hot and bit smelly.Bathroom was nice with all new fittings.The place looks tired and is being re decorated.We were told breakfast if req'd was £7.50 each and paid up front.Which we did.The room was on the front and due to England playing late the noise went on till the early hours.Prior to going to bed we noticed there was no hot water,put it down to the time of night,but the next morning still no hot water.The cold was slightly tepid.We went for breakfast ,most unusual,fruit juice served to you,no cereal,no top up on the juice.Full English served,but never asked about eggs style or nothing so everyone got the same,including HOT chilli sausages .One bite was enough,I'm still tasting it hours after.This also left an odour on the food.Food was served from the local Mexican place next door.We checked out and mentioned the hot water which didn't seem to be a big suprise,we were told they had been working on it 2 days last week.All in all quite pricey for the room £80.£15 for breakfast.Would we go again,no.On a plus,we only stayed 1 night.Staff were very friendly and helpful though....

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a room here but was put in the annexe next door. My room faced the road and it was just too noisy for me.The place is being refurbished and maybe it will be nice when done but for now I would not recommend it. On the plus side the staff are helpful and the location is good with loads of great restaurants nearby and canal walks opposite.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jacksterlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a great place for a stopover en route from London to the Lake District. It's less than 10 mins off the M6 but so much nicer than staying in one of those service station hotels. Stone is a traditional market town, possibly beyond its heyday but charming enough. Typical of a former coaching inn, the hotel is easily found by car with its rear entrance fronting directly on the town's one way system while the front of the hotel fronts the main high street.

Even though we arrived late the night porter/receptionist was attentive and helpful. Our room, not in the main building, was clean and spacious with an en suite shower room. The temperature was a bit on the warm side but the window was openable and, being late on a Saturday night after closing time it was not too noisy outside. The bed was large and comfortable.

My only criticism is that since the hotel had recently changed hands and the dining room was under refurbishment (closed off with leaky ceiling etc.) there was no breakfast option but a Costa Coffee a few mins' walk away in the High Street served the purpose.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloodwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My partner and I stayed in a building which doesn't feature on the gallery. Next to the hotel is a subordinate annex, where the definition of a warm nights sleep is taken to a new level. My partner and I had a hot and steamy night consisting of lying down doing everything in our power to keep cool. I virtually stuck to everything I touched and found it difficult to cool down in a shower that resembled something similar to Matilda's chokie.

The staff were helpful and charming - promptly providing us with a fan. We also enjoyed our trip to Stone. But overall the room/building we stayed in was poor. We'll take our chances staying in the monkey forest next time.

Room Tip: Please avoid the annex building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
502 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Stafford M6
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
381 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
5.5 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 38 High Street, Stone ST15 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Stone
The Crown Hotel Stone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing