We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience of my life”
Review of Plough & Harrow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plough & Harrow
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The worst experience of my life”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stay away from this place at all costs. Firstly its tiny, which I could deal with but we had drunken idiots stamping around, trying to get into our room most of the night. Worst of all at 12.30 the hotel manager let himself in to our room which was the final straw and we had to leave and find somewhere else at 1 in the morning. Our poor little girl was so scared.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    17
    8
    12
    31
See reviews for
31
15
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Sounds as though other people have had the unfortunate stay at the Plough and Harrow in Fazeley. Like so many others have said, you pay up front. I wonder why!!! It sounds as though room No.3 is a no go. We were shown to this room, and I was really looking forward to it, as in their website the rooms looked really countrified and clean. On opening the door, I was thrown back by the awful smell of cooking oil. They had left the window open, which unfortunately is right over the kitchen, and the extractor was belching out this horrendous smell which is engrained in the whole room. Shut the window and keep the smell in, or keep the window open to try and disperse it. Neither does any good. The don't think they know what bleach is, as inside the toilet was dark brown...most off putting. The taps dirty. Thought I would lie down and prop myself on pillows to view the television as it was so high up and small, but the pillows were so thin I gave up. Bedding was clean I must admit. There was noise until 02:00 in morning, with the clanging of utensils as they were cleaning up, and doors were constantly squeaking and banging. At 07:00 in morning we had gone. Couldnt stand anymore. Luckily we were going to see some friends and I was able to wash the smell of chip oil out of my hair. This should be made as a pub and pub only. Please avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CatrinaPaignton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tamworth hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

We booked the room thru a late booking website and were stung on the price!! They charge you £11 for breakfast but to buy alone is £4.50!!!
The rooms were freezing cold when we got there, I had a shower and the water was boiling hot!!!!!! The Tele was so small and far away from the bed!! I wouldn't of complained if it was £10 a night but over £50 is a joke!!!!! I'd rather pay £20 more and stay in a travel lodge!!
I would not recommend this to anyone!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Check in is at the main bar, which is difficult when busy, but the staff were very polite.

Having been told the room was £40.00 for b&b we were then told we had to pay an extra £11 for the breakfast.

The room is smaller than a prison cell, no room to turn around and very dark with the blinds.

The room was also very cold and took hours to heat up with the poor electric heating system.

TV is the smallest I've ever seen and watching anything on it was very hard work.

Thankfully it didn't seem a very busy night in the main or cocktail bar so we were disturbed much by visitors. Although you can hear doors opening and closing throughout the night!

Having paid the £11 for two breakfasts we checked the menu in the morning where the actual price was £4.95. Albeit a couple of quid, this doesn't seem right.

The breakfast was nice in the main bar, again the staff were lovely. However the breakfast was the smallest 'fry up' on offer and we weren't asked what we wanted or any changes to it.

I won't be staying here again and I wouldn't recommend it too anyone else!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieSteve12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I found The Plough via a google search for somewhere close to Drayton Manor - so we could do a stopover on our way back from Cornwall. It is ideally placed for Drayton Manor, HOWEVER, book somewhere further away if you'd prefer to avoid EVERYTHING that has been previously mentioned.

I cannot say the place was dirty, as it was presented in a clean manner - we stayed in rooms 2 and 3 - however, it was rather shabby and room 3 still smells like the local chippy, on a bad day!

We were made to pay for our room on arrival, which rang alarm bells - rightly so. The breakfast isn't worth the money and we eventually got everything we ordered which was far worse than the meal we'd enjoyed the previous evening, which was more than pleasant.

I would avoid this 'hotel' too at all costs unless you're planning on a stag/hen night in the cocktail bar and need somewhere to rest your drunken head.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Lets start with the good...was close to the reason why we went to Tamworth, Drayton Manor. The staff in the pub were friendly.
Now the bad...the hotel is near the bar, so if you want a quiet night, you're not going to get one. The room had big holes in the wall like they'd been a fight there at some point(after the first night they'd added some very poor pictures to cover up the biggest hole). The toilet didn't flush very well, and the shower wasn't warm unless you turn the power to dribbling.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rjward76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Check in is at the bar which was quite full and awkward to get into when laden with cases! Room 3 noisy so we were moved without fuss to room 8. Rooms small, as are the tv's (my computer screen is bigger) and perched high up on the wall. Venetian blinds dusty,no bed side lamps or glasses in the bathroom.Although less noisy than the 1st room the noise heard from this room constantly bangin doors till 3 in the morning and what sounded like furniture removals.Not good when you have been travellling all day and a busy day ahead! Breakfast at 9 rooms vacated at 10!! Staff helpful and pleasant.Breakfast OK,tea watery actually thought there ws no tea bag in to start with.Sorry guys but there is no way I would stay here again.Oh and no one around to collect the key on departure!!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
0.9 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
389 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough & Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough & Harrow

Property: Plough & Harrow
Address: Plough & Harrow Atherstone Street | Fazeley, Tamworth B78 3RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plough & Harrow 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Plough & Harrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough & Harrow Hotel Tamworth
Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing