We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughters Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 6 Tamworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We held our youngest daughters Wedding Reception there, the Wedding Breakfast was 10 out of 10, then after a couple of hours "recovery" the Invited guests began to arrive, who were treated superbly well, as the majority were early.Soft music accompanied the superb evening Buffet of a variety of Balties, Curry's & Vegan dishes etc.Several couples & Families stayed the night to wake up to an absolutely FANTASTIC breakfast, that never seemed to end. BRILLIANT.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonah486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Peel Hotel Aldergate, which is home to Christopher's Restaurant, is a hidden gem in the heart of Tamworth. The best clue as to location is virtually opposite the bus garage! Last Saturday (January 26), I was one of a party of 6 who were priviledged to enjoy the Gourmet Game Evening. It was food of the very highest quality. There were 7 Game Courses and a superb sweet for £35. In short form, the game used were (1) Mixed pheasant, partridge & guinea fowl terrine (2) Quenelles of rainbow trout mousse (3) Tandoori Quail (4) Half an oven roasted partridge (5) Saddle of rabbit (6) Individual game keepers pie (7) Venison medallions. The sauces were out of this world, the service attentive and very friendly, the atmosphere relaxed, the wine list varied and not unreasonable. We stayed over after blitzing the wine list. Our room was large, beautifully furnished with the usual 4* features of large plasma tv, coffee making facilities and a well fitted en-suite. The beds were very comfortable and although facing the front, there was no apparent noise from passing traffic. Breakast on Sunday morning was also a culinary gem. My friends all managed the Full English - which looked superb - but my appetite only left room for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Probably the best salmon I have ever tasted. Christopher's normal menu is varied with an abundance of choice to suit all tastes. What is apparent is that the ingredients are sourced locally (where possible) and are of the very highest quality. Because of the size of the Restaurant, booking is essential for most evenings. There are currently about 25 covers but it is planned to expand this to 40. I cannot wait for the next themed evening. They are usually on the last Saturday of each month. If you cannot justify going to Birmingham or London for a Michelin starred Restaurant - go to Christopher's - it is the nearest you will get to culinary heaven. Good Game - Good Game!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent but I think those towards the rear are quieter - although I had no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raratrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We attended the 'Game' gourmet food evening and it was superb! First class food, service and a very clean and comfortable room. What a great idea to have themed evenings throughout the year with locally sourced ingredients and good wines.

Breakfast is wonderful and I look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just had a 2 night stay at this hotel with friends. Was a lovely clean hotel and although our friends room was small and ours had a some road noise it had everything we needed. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough to make our stay a success. The food in the restaurant was really excellent - we needed to stay a few more nights to work our way through the menu!!!!!!! Really good value if ever in the area again would stay there.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms at back of hotel away from the road-lower numbers are at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just arrived home from a 2 night stay in this wonderful hotel. The rooms were spotless. All of the staff were friendly but efficient. The food, well what can I say? You would struggle to beat this in any top London hotel. There were 6 of us in our party and we ate there both nights. It was delicious. Our Grandchildren who are 14 and 11 both enjoyed and ate every bit of it. Also the breakfasts were good value and plentiful. Please do not be put off by the look of The Peel for what it lacks in kerb appeal it more than makes up for in its service, food and accommodation. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueb268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Looks can be deceiving. When you approach the hotel you see a chain pizza place and think....oh heck. However, once you negotiate the small car park, the hotel is a nice place.
The rooms are of good size and are clean,tidy and comfertable.
The food in the restaurant is first class as is the level of service you get.
Breakfast again is excellent.
If your after a small friendly hotel in the centre of Tamworth, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleBuck_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of the town although it is on a main road. We had a room overlooking the main road but this was fine. The room was spotless, the beds were comfy, plenty of room for clothes - water in the room was appreciated. Shower wasn't very powerful but it was adequate. A fridge in the room would have been useful but was not a problem. We were very warmly welcomed and all the staff seemed very friendly. The lady at breakfast was very efficient yet really friendly. Breakfast was spot on - well done Boris! You could tell the food was fresh and a good standard - as much toast, coffee and juice as you wanted and whatever combination of breakfast you wanted was possible which shows how accommodating they were. Don't be put off by the Domino's - wasn't an issue. The location fo the hotel is ideal for lots - the Snow Dome (brilliant!!), the cinema, bowling etc. Use the taxi service recommended by the hotel - Bennetts. Several bars and restaurants within close proximity - something for everyone. Thanks to the staff - we were very happy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#1 of 11 in Tamworth
240 reviews
1.5 mi away
Plough & Harrow
Plough & Harrow
#10 of 11 in Tamworth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation

Address: 13/14 Aldergate, Tamworth B79 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tamworth
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peel Aldergate is a 4 Star accredited guest accommodation provider right in the centre of Tamworth, with 19 bedrooms. We offer free parking (for up to 12 cars), free broadband WiFi internet to all guests and have a very highly regarded restaurant serving English-European food. The Peel is a family run hotel that has been welcoming guests from all over the world for over a decade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing