We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peel Aldergate tamworth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 6 Tamworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peel Aldergate tamworth”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Booked last minute direct with hotel as I wanted to break a long business trip & weather was foul ! Car park very limited as a late arrival late and difficult to manouevre (OK you check the spelling!). Bedroom for a solo traveller very basic and a bit of a walk back out into car park and up 3 flights of stairs - attic room! But clean and warm. Evening meal surprisingly good with an excellent steak & an acceptable house wine. Bar area limited as it doubles with/for the restaurant. Breakfast fair value and included. Very convenient for Tamworth town centre - easy walk to all attractions and castle and to train station. The main church St Editha is very ancient, large & well worth a visit. Overall reasonable value for money for a solo business traveller - might want/expect more if travelling as a couple for leisure.

Room Tip: Ask what floor room will be on and if it is inside or outside access from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    46
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
42
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed 1 night

My room was clean and comfy good bathroom TV drinks facility Wifi was a little patchy at times but free. Evening meal excellent I had the perfect steak and chef even went to the trouble of making onion rings for me Breakfast was very good too. The staff were polite and helpful and I'd stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Excellent hotel - ideally located for working in the area. The hotel could not have been easier to find and the on-site parking was very good. Stayed on two separate occasions now and have the third stay booked. All the staff are very friendly - especially Mandy, the rooms I have stayed in (7 and 12 so far) have been of a good size and the breakfast is well-presented and plentiful. I have eaten in Christopher's Restaurant twice in the evening and the food was exceptional both times. This hotel is a real find. The only reason I've not given 5/5 is the water pressure is too low for a decent shower.

Summary: lovely town, lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Not had a bad one yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesleybEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night on 2 separate occasions. On both occasions we found staff very nice and helpful, food (breakfast) was plentiful and well presented. All very clean. Plenty of room in the bedrooms and again very clean. Parking on site at the back of building so no worries there. Great place for short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The aldergate is a very nice hotel with friendly staff. It is on a main room but if u ask for a side room or back room it is not a problem. The rooms were clean and of a good size. The breakfast was good with lots of choice. There is a information center across the road who were very helpfull in finding something to do and eat.but u can eat at hotel. It is walk away from the town centre.Would recommend this hotel for a short stay to explore this area. We went to twycrss zoo it was great.

Room Tip: ask for a back or side room and not on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife, son (2yrs) & I stayed for 1 night 12/08/13 for Thomas Land at Drayton Manor. Booked B&B Twin Room (double & a single - Room 15) through Laterooms.com. Easy to find and ideally 6-7 minutes down the road from Drayton Manor. Parked in their off road secured overnight car park. Mandy was extremely helpful and friendly upon our arrival and could not do more to make the restaurant available to us as soon as was possible to feed our hungry son. We ate a very nice meal, and our room was very clean, quiet, comfortable & perfect for a 2 yr old with a shower/bath option. Aircon is slow but I put this on before we went to dinner & slept with it overnight & it was fine. Breakfast also very good. Absolutely no complaints & happy to recommend. Rooms located up steep stairs so not ideal if physically impaired or elderly. Would stay again. Thank you

Room Tip: Speak to the staff if you have a specific need as they will do everything they can to accommodate yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C'monYouIrons!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

When coming to the hotel, it seemed nice. The rooms were nice but a few things were wrong, air con did not work and it was the hottest weekend to arrive, the towel rail fell off and the curtain pole fell off too, saying that the room was still nice and the beds were comfortable.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MelFromSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
2.0 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation

Property: The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation
Address: 13/14 Aldergate, Tamworth B79 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peel Aldergate is a 4 Star accredited guest accommodation provider right in the centre of Tamworth, with 19 bedrooms. We offer free parking (for up to 12 cars), free broadband WiFi internet to all guests and have a very highly regarded restaurant serving English-European food. The Peel is a family run hotel that has been welcoming guests from all over the world for over a decade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Peel Aldergate Hotel - Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing