We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly welcoming hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A great reasonably priced hotel, ideal for Drayton Manor, staff in both hotel and adjoining restaurant were very friendly and helpful not just to us but to the children too who are often ignored in hotels so although there were no ameneties for them you felt they were also welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    71
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
127
40
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stopped here during a visit to Drayton Manor. It was our first experience of Premier Inn and I was most impressed. We called in ad hoc on Sunday evening and was initially told they were full. Whilst we were in the car park the receptionist came out to find us and told us that they did indeed have a room but it needed preparing but she would do it immediately for us. The room was superb and the beds were so comfortable. We needed a charge on our ipad and phones and the receptionist was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I was most impressed with the level of service and attention to detail. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyke15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our two receptionists Karen and Naomi were fab. Karen was so friendly and extremely helpful when we arrived. Our little boy Charlie loved her. She took the trouble to give him colouring to do and always made a fuss when she saw him.

Naomi took our telephone booking and promised to send some literature through to us on Drayton Manor and Cadburyworld which she duly did. She was extremely helpful also too and even took the trouble to book our table in the restaurant each night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reads1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here just overnight on a Saturday in July.

The lady on reception couldn't have been more attentive or helpful.

We had an initial problem with a leaky bath tap and a very noisy family next door but we were quickly moved to another room and had a very peaceful night.

The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable and have everything we needed for overnight.

Our only disappointment was the restaurant next door and as we had booked a room and meal deal combined, that part of the stay was not so good. However we have reviewed the restaurant separately and have not allowed it to influence the review of the Premier Inn.

Our stay was fine for a night but I wouldn't want to stay more than a night or two.

Room Tip: Clean, basic and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunduku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the course of my business, the stay was excellent, food great, staff very professional.
I have to single out one particular member of the staff, that is Naomi on the reception, she is one of the most professional receptionists that I have encountered in nearly 30 years of staying in hotels, very polite, very professional and very attentive to the customer.
Note to management :: Do not let this young lady go, she is a credit to your company.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decor1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Excellent hotel along with very helpful staff. The staff attitude to customers and cleanliness of the rooms is of the highest standards and rivals some 5* hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24543470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Lovely receptionist called Deborah gave us a very warm welcome. However, when my parents went in their room it stunk of smoke. They were moved to another room without any problems, then because it is an 'eco' hotel there was no shaver point for dad's electric razor. He was very embarrassed the next day that he hadn't had a shave. Beware of this if you are staying on business! Take your own loo roll also as there's is c£&p!
The Table Table restaurant next door was not full when we used it on a saturday night, and we had pre-booked, but it took us over a hour to get our main course, and only one decent knowledgeable waiting staff. They then got our breakfast order in a muddle the next dayl
.My dad did complain to head office - premier inn, & did get a full refund. Table Table's response was very poor.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKIES65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
2.1 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,558 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
208 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
380 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Address: Watling Street | Wilnecote, Tamworth B77 5PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Tamworth South. The UK's fist greenest hotel bringing together the best environmental initiatives to help us towards a greener future. With our 20 ensuite bedrooms, flat screen free view TVs, adjoining restaurant (The Centurion Table Table), Air-cooling and 24hr reception.We are one of a very select few that is a Green Hotel. Here is why we are Green.1)We heat and cool the hotel using the earth's natural energy using a special underground pump. Four heat probes, 130 metres below our hotel, take advantage of the earths natural energy to dump heat in the summer and cold in the winter.2) Re-using water. All toilet flushes use grey (recycled) water - water re-used from showers and baths plus 50% of rainwater from the roof. This provides 100% off all toilet water and will save 20% of the entire water usage.3) Sustainable wool from British sheep is used in the walls creating exceptionally efficient thermal and acoustic insulation. Heat loss of the hotel is reduced by 60%4) Solar power. Solar panels have been used on the hotel's south facing roof. They can produce hot water to the system with almost no energy used. The system is expected to generate 11.740kWhr per year - enough for 1000 baths a year!5) All lighting is low energy thanks to LED's that produce high light levels while only using 5 Watts per bulb, this coupled with motion detectors means the lights are not left on. An 80% saving against standard lighting methods.6) All materials used are locally and sustainable sources. Timber is used rather than concrete where possible and when concrete is used it is a low cement that has been locally sourced. Our use of carbon has been reduced by using natural resources, sustainable materials, such as external timber cladding, and recycled materials, such as plasterboard and rendering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing