We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in a family room, all the beds were already made up,which was a great time saver. They were really helpfull. The room was freshly painted, very clean and loads of towels!
Great location for visiting drayton manor as only 10 minutes away and there is a massive commercial site near by with loads of food options

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Like many others, stayed here in a family room for one night prior to visit to Thomas Land at Drayton Manor. Excellent location - just a 10 minute drive from Drayton Manor. Modern, clean hotel with air conditioning in each room. Staff were most friendly throughout, as is the norm for Premier Inns. Dinner and breakfast in the adjacent pub were also excellent, good value for money and good quality food. The hotel is pretty small which is a good thing, felt very personal. Cheap wifi at £3 per day (although not needed as excellent mobile signal in the area). Were a little concerned prior to our trip as it is next to an industrial estate, but the hotel is secluded away from that and you don't even notice it once in the grounds of the hotel. Absolutely recommended to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EZYFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Premier Inns represent great value and a consistently high standard of service in my opinion. Having stayed at the Tamworth South Premier Inn a couple of weeks ago, I have to say that it was one of the best Premier Inns (they are all good) that I have stayed in. A pleasant greeting from reception, refurbished rooms, air con already creating a cool environment on a very hot day and a quiet location.

Breakfast is great value - £5.25 for an excellent continental (recently paid £10 for much less at an independent hotel)

Premier Inns really have got it sorted in terms of value for money.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor, facing a main road, but couldn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stopped here for 2 nights to break journey to Devon and for kids to enjoy Thomasland.

Pros-great location for theme park, about 3 miles from Drayton Manor
- friendly staff, welcoming
- very clean
- looked newly decorated
- restaurant (table table) with outdoor seating for hot summer night
- new green energy Premier Inn

Con?-though my other half really liked the minimalistic energy saving lighting I found it harsh, ineffective & difficult to get used to - a matter of preference, don't let it put you off too much!
- more storage would be useful for longer stays

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Zip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Overnight stay in June to visit Thomas Land at Drayton Manor nearby. Good standard smaller Premier Inn with very friendly staff. Receptionist Natalie was particularly helpful helping us find somewhere suitable to eat with our 2 year old grandson as the restaurant was busy until later in the evening. Excellent breakfast freshly cooked the next morning, only downside was making tea from a flask of warm water, updated hot water /coffee maker needed please!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurGough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at this premier inn in early July in order to visit Thomas the Tank engine at Drayton Manor. We were reluctant to travel with our 2 and 5 year old daughters, however this hotel and its staff took the stress of out of it!! We were met by polite, warm, pleasant staff who immediately made it feel like a home from home!! We had a quad room with a double bed and 2 small single beds for our daughters. The room was spotless and large and air conditioned!! It is a 30 second walk from a garden area (off road) with a very well priced restaurant which was child friendly. Our daughters were so happy playing in the evening in the garden whilst we watched from a picnic table. The staff could not do enough for us even putting our chocolate from cadbury world in the fridge due to the excessive heat!! Would recommend this value for money (without feeling cheap) hotel to all families especially with young kids as it made our trip! Thank you to all the staff and we WILL be back next year!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in a room just beside reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collette_L762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel and ALL staff were so very warm and friendly which means a lot. Room on ground floor overlooking our car in the carpark. It was very clean and sofabed made up for our 3 yr old grandson. Very comfortable beds. Food next door was very nice and breakfast was beautiful, freshly made cooked breakfast. Scrambled eggs were very tasty. Great choice of other food such as croissants crumpets fresh fruit salad yoghurts and ceresls.plenty to choose from.
Our grandson wasnt well however and the receptionist offered to bring any food or drink to our room if we needed anything which was very much appreciated. She even asked how he was the next morning which was so nice. The waitress said good morning when we met outside as she arrived to work. This made our stay so much better and will book here again when we goto thomasland. Great value for money too. Under £90 for 3 of us including breakfast whereas we paid £300 for a night at drayton manor in a room with dirty sticky dressing table and bedside tables.food not good and staff very poor, they were not intersted in making our stay pleasant they just reeled off what they had to say and that was it, no real conversation. Dont know how its got 4 star? We have stayed here on 3 different occasions in 3 different rooms and ALL were dusty, sticky sides and only 2 cups for the 3 of us
Will definately not stay there again.
But you know what your getting at premier inns and we will be back there again soon for our grandsons love of thomasland.
Thank you for a lovely stay and staff deserve high praise for ALL their hardwork.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mama022010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
2.4 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,726 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
1.8 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth M42
Travelodge Tamworth M42
#6 of 11 in Tamworth
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel

Address: Watling Street | Wilnecote, Tamworth B77 5PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Tamworth South. The UK's fist greenest hotel bringing together the best environmental initiatives to help us towards a greener future. With our 20 ensuite bedrooms, flat screen free view TVs, adjoining restaurant (The Centurion Table Table), Air-cooling and 24hr reception.We are one of a very select few that is a Green Hotel. Here is why we are Green.1)We heat and cool the hotel using the earth's natural energy using a special underground pump. Four heat probes, 130 metres below our hotel, take advantage of the earths natural energy to dump heat in the summer and cold in the winter.2) Re-using water. All toilet flushes use grey (recycled) water - water re-used from showers and baths plus 50% of rainwater from the roof. This provides 100% off all toilet water and will save 20% of the entire water usage.3) Sustainable wool from British sheep is used in the walls creating exceptionally efficient thermal and acoustic insulation. Heat loss of the hotel is reduced by 60%4) Solar power. Solar panels have been used on the hotel's south facing roof. They can produce hot water to the system with almost no energy used. The system is expected to generate 11.740kWhr per year - enough for 1000 baths a year!5) All lighting is low energy thanks to LED's that produce high light levels while only using 5 Watts per bulb, this coupled with motion detectors means the lights are not left on. An 80% saving against standard lighting methods.6) All materials used are locally and sustainable sources. Timber is used rather than concrete where possible and when concrete is used it is a low cement that has been locally sourced. Our use of carbon has been reduced by using natural resources, sustainable materials, such as external timber cladding, and recycled materials, such as plasterboard and rendering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing