We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small is beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Small is beautiful!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a Premier Inn operating on a human scale with the personal touch; friendly helpful staff for whom helping out with enquiries /requests seems to be second nature. The location was perfect for us, being close to key roads both on arrival and for our onward journey. On a foul evening the Table Table restaurant was warm and welcoming,our request for a table away from the rather uninspiring Fire Exit was handled calmly and without question, and the menu was varied with a surprising number of healthy options. Breakfast at 8am on a Saturday morning was copious and generous, with cooked options being cooked to order and served by a very personable waitress. Our first floor room was quiet and comfortable, and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefultraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    72
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
132
40
3
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband and 2 children in a family room. It is quite a small hotel, only about 20 rooms I think so this makes the service much more personal.

Location is not the best, industrial estate surroundings but you don't really notice this and it is relatively peaceful and in a good central location. Certainly good value for a family.

There is a restaurant next door called table table which is where you go for breakfast and other optional meals. We were asked to make reservations at the restaurant prior to our visit on a number of occasions by both e-mail and even a personal phone call advising us that the restaurant does get very busy. I am not sure this was quite true as it always looked empty so perhaps they are just trying to drum up business!

Anyway, we phoned ahead to request a room on 2nd floor (this is top floor) and facing away from the road as this is much quieter - this was acknowledged and honoured. Room had double bed, single bed and put up bed all ready made up. everything was clean and adequate.

Breakfast was ok - children eat free with adults so reasonable price. My only negative would be that if you went during the last hour, all the buffet area with cereals, croissants etc was a bit of a mess and not much left.

Overall, great base to visit Twycross Zoo, Drayton Manor, SnowDome etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second floor away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perfectionists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in a family room, all the beds were already made up,which was a great time saver. They were really helpfull. The room was freshly painted, very clean and loads of towels!
Great location for visiting drayton manor as only 10 minutes away and there is a massive commercial site near by with loads of food options

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Like many others, stayed here in a family room for one night prior to visit to Thomas Land at Drayton Manor. Excellent location - just a 10 minute drive from Drayton Manor. Modern, clean hotel with air conditioning in each room. Staff were most friendly throughout, as is the norm for Premier Inns. Dinner and breakfast in the adjacent pub were also excellent, good value for money and good quality food. The hotel is pretty small which is a good thing, felt very personal. Cheap wifi at £3 per day (although not needed as excellent mobile signal in the area). Were a little concerned prior to our trip as it is next to an industrial estate, but the hotel is secluded away from that and you don't even notice it once in the grounds of the hotel. Absolutely recommended to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZYFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Premier Inns represent great value and a consistently high standard of service in my opinion. Having stayed at the Tamworth South Premier Inn a couple of weeks ago, I have to say that it was one of the best Premier Inns (they are all good) that I have stayed in. A pleasant greeting from reception, refurbished rooms, air con already creating a cool environment on a very hot day and a quiet location.

Breakfast is great value - £5.25 for an excellent continental (recently paid £10 for much less at an independent hotel)

Premier Inns really have got it sorted in terms of value for money.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor, facing a main road, but couldn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stopped here for 2 nights to break journey to Devon and for kids to enjoy Thomasland.

Pros-great location for theme park, about 3 miles from Drayton Manor
- friendly staff, welcoming
- very clean
- looked newly decorated
- restaurant (table table) with outdoor seating for hot summer night
- new green energy Premier Inn

Con?-though my other half really liked the minimalistic energy saving lighting I found it harsh, ineffective & difficult to get used to - a matter of preference, don't let it put you off too much!
- more storage would be useful for longer stays

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Zip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Overnight stay in June to visit Thomas Land at Drayton Manor nearby. Good standard smaller Premier Inn with very friendly staff. Receptionist Natalie was particularly helpful helping us find somewhere suitable to eat with our 2 year old grandson as the restaurant was busy until later in the evening. Excellent breakfast freshly cooked the next morning, only downside was making tea from a flask of warm water, updated hot water /coffee maker needed please!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurGough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
2.1 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Address: Watling Street | Wilnecote, Tamworth B77 5PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Tamworth South. The UK's fist greenest hotel bringing together the best environmental initiatives to help us towards a greener future. With our 20 ensuite bedrooms, flat screen free view TVs, adjoining restaurant (The Centurion Table Table), Air-cooling and 24hr reception.We are one of a very select few that is a Green Hotel. Here is why we are Green.1)We heat and cool the hotel using the earth's natural energy using a special underground pump. Four heat probes, 130 metres below our hotel, take advantage of the earths natural energy to dump heat in the summer and cold in the winter.2) Re-using water. All toilet flushes use grey (recycled) water - water re-used from showers and baths plus 50% of rainwater from the roof. This provides 100% off all toilet water and will save 20% of the entire water usage.3) Sustainable wool from British sheep is used in the walls creating exceptionally efficient thermal and acoustic insulation. Heat loss of the hotel is reduced by 60%4) Solar power. Solar panels have been used on the hotel's south facing roof. They can produce hot water to the system with almost no energy used. The system is expected to generate 11.740kWhr per year - enough for 1000 baths a year!5) All lighting is low energy thanks to LED's that produce high light levels while only using 5 Watts per bulb, this coupled with motion detectors means the lights are not left on. An 80% saving against standard lighting methods.6) All materials used are locally and sustainable sources. Timber is used rather than concrete where possible and when concrete is used it is a low cement that has been locally sourced. Our use of carbon has been reduced by using natural resources, sustainable materials, such as external timber cladding, and recycled materials, such as plasterboard and rendering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing