We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious, quiet, comfortable and breakfast is pretty good too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have used this hotel very regularly in the last couple year and it ticks all the right boxes, its spacious, in a very nice area beside a lake, not far from town centre, many eating spots within a mile or two. Beds are brand new and the rooms are very sound proof too. wifi and breakfast is free and very good quality. Rates are also very decent. Also a microwave available for use!

Room Tip: there aren't any bad rooms as such in this hotel I have stayed on various floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvinPertab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty and kind words.

We share your thought on our location. It is perfect to accommodate a wide variety of guests, from business, to leisure, and from families, to single travellers.

We recently changed our beds to ensure we offer a good night sleep, and we offer complimentary Wi-Fi and breakfast.

We look forward seeing you in the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Myself and my wife stayed for two nights a Friday and Saturday. We booked last minute and got a great deal. The hotel is easy to find and is fairly new so the room was immaculate with everything one would expect in a Holiday Inn. Air con in the rooms plus a decent set of TV channels and a comfy bed. The staff were friendly and efficient. We used this as a base for visiting Lichfield and a few other places. Parking is plentiful although as the whole site is barrier controlled you have to pay £1 to get your ticket validated every time you leave which is a bit of a faf. Personally if they must charge I'd rather they put £5 on the cost of the room and then you can come and go as you please. The hotel is on the same site as the snowdome/swimming pool but this didn't cause any problems with noise e.t.c. You can walk to the castle and town centre in about 10 minutes and to the retail park shopping areas in about 15-20 minutes.

The only negative was the breakfast on the Saturday was a bit of a scrum. They have the breakfast area in one corner but it's behind some screens. This creates a queue as people can't see what is what so they assume everyone is waiting for the same thing when in fact it's just people stacking up in one particular area. If everything was a little better spread out it would help the flow of people. Also I have to say that a large part of the problems we had were down to people not being considerate and stopping others from getting to the counter. Also it may help if when it's really busy people with 5 kids might take the view that this isn't an appropriate time to let their kids make their own breakfast and run around the place......not the hotels fault of course but this would be helped if the whole thing was organised better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous four star rating and delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Your comments regarding breakfast have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made in order to achieve complete Guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Tamworth for a night to cut a journey up to Alton Towers in half. Hotel, which is literally right next to the Tamworth Snowdome, is still relatively new, and the room was of a decent standard (a slightly plusher Premium Inn-style). Certainly didn't have the issues the previous reviewer mentioned with a mouldy bathroom and poor fittings; ours was immaculate. However, the whole of the exterior needs a good clean: we had enormous spider webs (and the spiders within them) hanging outside our window, and it was the same in the bar area. Light sleepers should also be wary of having a room like ours opposite the lifts; the pinging and sound of doors opening didn't bother us, but would some people. (In terms of noise, also worth knowing the bar is showing all the World Cup games live, although the crowd in there for the England game on Saturday night weren't rowdy.)

Breakfast was fine, disappointing the hot offer never includes bacon (just sausage, scrambled egg (which was cold) and beans) but all in all it wasn't too bad at all.

We got a heavily discounted room rate booking in advance online, but I would necessarily say the hotel's worth the 'turn up and pay' £139 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomhourigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It was good to read your positive comments regarding your room and we have taken note of your valuable comment regarding the exterior of the Hotel and will use it to monitor and improve our quality of service we offer our Guests.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I understand that this is a budget hotel, and I shouldn't expect much, however anything bearing a holiday inn brand should at least deliver the basics. my list of complaints include, poor tap fittings that trap the skin on your fingers - very painful and not at all child friendly, dirty mouldy shower, the most uncomfortable sofa bed I have ever experienced, no food at the weekend (but they very proudly offer take away menus !) dirty and very limited breakfast service and above all there is serious road noise - even with the window shut, which is another nuisance as the air con only has one setting, regardless of what you do with the control. .on top of this there is the noise from neighbouring rooms - it is very easy to hear conversations above , below and next door, and when the room below shut their window, the cups on the shelf rattled . just very very poor. I don't understand where the positive reviews come from.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Jonty B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always our top priority to ensure we provide comfortable and friendly stay. It is regrettable that our facility has fallen short of your expectations when it comes to room accommodations and breakfast offerings. We take all comments from our valued guest like you into serious consideration as I would like to follow up on you. I sent you a private message for us to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here 4 nights on buisness very happy with hotel nice and clean and very friendly front desk staff breakfast isthe usuall standard in hix eat as much or little as you want the eening menu is very basic and limited but great restuants in town 5 mins away my only grumpn this stay was the sellfish guys who insist on parkingin the disabled parking spaces when there s ample parking shame on hotel staff and idiots who actually park in these spaces for allowing this to take place hopefully theguys who prk in these spaces become disabled one day and have to get wheel chairs etc out f there cars parked tight to oher cars as sme mindless person has used the extra room disabled spaces

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your leaving us feedback. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete Guest satisfaction.
Thank you again for your comments and this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our Guests expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked in for 2 nights with my girlfriend. Great rooms and massive bed -great.

Second night...room not made up. Requested it be made up, went out. Returned at 4 -hoovers still in the corridor, so cleaners still around, asked reception to make sure room was made up again. Advised there was a 'do not disturb' sign on door. There wasen't and never had been.

Returned at 8. Room still not made up. Complained. Reception only decided to make room up when I enquired what the discount was for making the room myself.

On check-out I was asked to pay for parking. Again requested info on the discount for room not being made up. Parking fee waived.

Followed up very poor stay through Holiday Inn's own questionnaire. Recieved emails back stating different events...Corrected several times, eventually they gave me 1,000 points for a loyalty scheme I will never use. Told them this is not acceptable. No response.

Would never, ever use this company again.

Room Tip: Travalodge. Costs dramatically less and as if by magic they manage to make the rooms up EVERY day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fran d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear fran d,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

Again, thank you and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stopped here recently to go to a 21st at "The Lamb"
Parking was plentiful & very easy and the greeting at reception was warm, informative and efficient. The room was modern & clean, nice big bed too with a selection of pillows. The bathroom was also very clean with a fantastic walk-in shower. Afraid can't tell you much about the breakfast as we slept right through it, but would certainly stop here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtpacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

It was good to read you found your room modern and clean and you enjoyed using the shower.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#6 of 11 in Tamworth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#1 of 11 in Tamworth
235 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
0.8 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tamworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Address: River Drive | River Drive, Tamworth B79 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tamworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tamworth
#7 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range: £45 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tamworth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth is ideally situated for both business and leisure. With great transport links to the M6 and M42 - its very central and easy to get to. The Hotel has free high speed internet in all the bedrooms and reception areas. Parking is free for all hotel guests, tickets to be validated at Reception. Package deals with Snowdome, Drayton Manor and Twycross zoo are all available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tamworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing