We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful base for fun weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful base for fun weekend”
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed here as our children wanted to experience toboganning and swimming at the Snowdome which is practically attached to this hotel. We checked in at 2pm and went straight to our room which was absolutely spotless.We went straight to the snowdome for a fun packed afternoon. We then walked across the road to a cinema and drove 2 miles to the most wonderful Harvester restaurant, then back to the hotel to waqtch X-Factor in the main reception and to bed for a lovely comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was basic, with minimal hot food and not a huge variety but O.K. and a smooth check out, with a beautiful lake right outside the hotel I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m-gloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    293
    77
    25
    24
See reviews for
295
103
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bridgn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

My husband and I stayed on Saturday 3th December for the FJ Function. Were very impressed with parking facilities, light and bright welcoming reception area. From then on it went down.
1) It would be helpful if the receiption staff had told us that the light system operated on the room key, to be faced with a very dark room, on arrival, eventually sussed the light system (this type of system is not new to either or us) but most receiptionists tell you this on arrival.
2) The volume of the television is set at 49, in dark could not find controls or where to turn down volume until we had worked out light system.
3) Bed:
a) the bottom sheet finished about 2" from the end of the mattress was not tucked under the mattress.
b) I have never seen such a think duvet, 4.5 tog rating on one of the coldest nights of the year.
c) Most hotels now use a king size duvet on a double bed, this duvet was too short, you would either have your feet csovered ot your shoulders, but unfortunately not both, and iit was impossible to drape duvet over both of us
d) the legs on the bed were almost collapsing.
e) the mattress dipped in the middle.
f) the bed was so wobbly it was like sleeping on a rolling sea.
g) pillows were as hard a rocks.
4) Temeperature in room could not be icnreased to more that 18.5, the room was cold.
5) Lighting in room is abysmal, very poor, the brightest light was in the shower cubic;e but who wants to read in the shoewr!
6) What point is the stupid blue light in the bathroom, from a womans point of view it is impossible to apply maker to ones face in the poor light.
7) The hot buffet, no choice, if you didn't like chilli or curry you starved. Very small plate to put your meal on, Buffet certainly inadeqyate,
8) Breakfast - organised chaos. Do appreciate that there 253 covers on Sunday morning. But you couldn't jave coped well with 53,
a) If you like powdered scrambled egg and overcooked sausages you may have been pleased with breakfast. - choice of breakfast very meagre.
b) toaster did not work very efficiently.

If this is a flagship for Holiday Inn Express I would not like to stay at an ordinary Holiday Inn Express.
I hasten to add that I stay at Holiday Inn Hotels (proper hotels not excused) both in this country and in Europe, and have until this week end found the group to be very efficient.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zakster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This hotel was got on a last minute deal and my wife and i stayed here for 3 nights. The reception area is very modern and the staff were very helpful, especially Ryan who worked the night shift.
When we entered the room this very well layed out with a comfy bed and a nice sofa, with the lcd tv sat above a very nice large desk. The lighting in the room was good and the tea making facility's were good and if you run out just ask for more.The room had a well sized bathroom very modern again with a great shower. The hotel was very well situated with a large shopping area in walking distance with many eating places (as long as your not too fussy). Also close was a bowling alley and next door the snow dome with many leisure facility's.

In conclusion this hotel is very modern, well situated to shops and roads and my wife and myself would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEPCLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The hotel is very well located. Rooms are spacious and clean.
Hotel staff helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mofreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaniKaur, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
Dear Vicenza,

Thank you for taking time to leave a comment following your stay.
I have passed your comments onto the team.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay and hope to see you again soon.

Rani Kaur
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Stayed for 2 nights when visiting the Snowdome and Drayton Manor. Hotel was very clean and staff there are very polite and helpful. They seem to have a problem with food service at this hotel as mentioned in previous reviews and we also experienced this upon our stay. There were long queues for the 0830 breakfast with little cutlery or spare seats remaining however by the 0930 session there was plentiful supply of everything as the number of people reduced.
Further to this there was no chef on duty in the evening time. Actually this worked out to our advantage as we were allowed to use their dinning room, plates and crockery for takeaways which we duly did. Using their recommended menus we chose the champagne Indian takeaway (one of our best ever takeaways!) which meant that our family of 5 ate for under £20. The hotelstaff even did our dishes. So we actually viewed the missing chef as a positive! (is there a Market for this?).
Overall we had a fantastic weekend and we will def use this hotel again...

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paskyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanbrothersTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Dear Paskyyy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. It really in great to read such positive comments. I have passed on your comments to the team.

I am however, a little dissapointed about the service you recieved at breakfast. I have ordered some more cutlery - so I am hopeful other guests will not experience this in the future.

We have always offered great takeaway menus, just as another option. We consider it a nice service to have for our guests.

Thank you again Paskyyy. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Dan Brothers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This hotel was the perfect place to stay for our trip to Tamworth. We had planned to go to Drayton Mannor and the Snowdome. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and modern. The sofa bed was set up ready for us, which was ideal for our 4 year old. There was no bath only a shower which was not a problem for us, and was very clean. The TV had freeview channels and payed for movie channels. Coffee and tea making facilities were great as well.

Our breakfast slot was 8.30-9.30 and we made it down for 8.45, this seemed to be the rush hour! There was a queue for the hot breakfast options and not many tables and cutlery left. I only saw one staff member clearing all the tables. They did however open up the seating area into an adjourning meeting room, which we sat in. Even though it was very busy we managed to have a thoroughly satisfying meal which included bacon, toast, scrambled egg, croisant, jam and juice. The rush died down totally by 9.30 and I would imagine earlier than 8.30 would have also been quiet.

On the Sunday after we checked out we left our bags in a locked luggage room until 4pm since we were visiting the castle and the Snowdome, so this worked out perfectly.

We came on the train so walked everywhere, and even with a 4 year old everything was within walking distance e.g. Snowdome, town centre, castle, retail park...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WazKROKEIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanbrothersTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Dear WazK224,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are always striving to improve our product and service - so our customers feedback is vital to us.

I am pleased you found so much to do with the family. Tamworth really does have a surprising amount of attractions.

We hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan Brothers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2010

My husband, my son and i stayed here for one night as we were going to Drayton Manor for the day and we were pleasantly surprised. We thought Holiday Inn would be bare basic but it was nicer then some of the 4* hotels we've stayed in!

The reception area is clean and very modern. The lady at the front desk was very nice. Our room was located on the 1st floor and as soon as we walked in we thought 'oooo..this is nice!' The room was nicely decorated and big and the bathroom was very nice. There was no bath (which wasn't an issue) but the shower was huge and the shower itself was fantastic - it's better than our own shower at home!! The beds were very comfy and we also had a sofa which was good to lounge on.

The only downside was that the chambermaid didn't empty the bin in the room as there was still rubbish in there. But apart from that tiny thing, it was a very pleasant experience for all 3 of us. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanbrothersTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Dear Mummychan,

Thank you so much for your review following your stay with us.

I am pleased your stay was largely satisfactory. We are delighted with the product and strive so hard to ensure the service is even better than the product!

The issue with your bin not being emptied has been raised with the housekeeping team and this will be dealt with in due course.

We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit Mummychan.

Kind Regards,

Dan Brothers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
67 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tamworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Address: River Drive | River Drive, Tamworth B79 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tamworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tamworth
#7 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tamworth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth is ideally situated for both business and leisure. With great transport links to the M6 and M42 - its very central and easy to get to. The Hotel has free high speed internet in all the bedrooms and reception areas. Parking is free for all hotel guests, tickets to be validated at Reception. Package deals with Snowdome, Drayton Manor and Twycross zoo are all available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tamworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing