We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tamworth Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tamworth Arms
Ranked #4 of 6 Tamworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Tamworth and its people is awesome! I love everything of it! The Tamworth Arms is a lovely and cute place where spent relaxing time. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is very good!
Amazing location and the owners are very kind and cool!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    50
    24
    14
    13
See reviews for
37
43
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Was a really lovely place to stay. Very welcoming people. Lovely warm room, comfy bed & nice people & breakfast. & secure parking right next to your rooms. Was quiet at night. What more would you want? Would definitely recommend & stay again :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapphire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

First of all, walked into the room and the smell was horrific, on both nights. Secondly, the showers take forever to get hot and when it finally does the water barely drizzles from the shower head.

The staff service is woeful, stayed here for two nights and both nights the staff barely acknowledged me and we're very rude. The food portions were small and my chips were cold so had to send them back.

When booking I wanted a b&b that offered good wifi and one that was local to where I was working. The website claims free wifi, however this didn't work and when I questioned it the staff done the bare minimum to help. The location is about the only good reason to stay here. 100% would not recommend this place!!!!! Disgraceful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tamworth hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed in December, I got given a broken ironing board and iron with the wires coming out.
If that wasn't bad enough the room was freezing cold. I tried to get an extra blanket from someone about 12pm but they lock up and go home after the pub is closed. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight fri 26 dec
Whilst visiting friends . Nice staff
Nice food nice warm clean room
And decent price .
Only fault was room was really
Small and so was toilet / shower
But as we were only there one night
It wasn't a big deal .
Thanks to staff for all your help
And would defiantly return

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hartlepudlian1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I'm almost lost for words. I tried to cancel my booking due to my father just passing away. Admittedly this was a last minute booking but being told by the manager that "I find it very hard to believe that you'd be calling if your father had actually died". She was so rude and continued by calling me a liar.

It was shocked that anyone in the hotel industry would speak to someone like that.

I have used the hotel before and said I would continue using them as my girlfriends family live in Tamworth. She confirmed the only way that they "might" be able to give me a refund is if a bring in an original birth certificate. They would not even accept a scanned copy.

The manager was obnoxious and rude and I would urge anyone reading this not to give her the satisfaction of getting your custom.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daymonkey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed overnight last Friday for first time, and highly recommend this establishment. Friendly & welcoming staff, great food, sky sports, good beer, and a decent room. England were playing a world cup qualifier that night, and the staff were still really good, and the food was freshly cooked.There is a car aprk at the rear which is a bit hard to find, so best to pull up out the front and pop inside and ask directions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertofYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamworth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamworth Arms

Property: The Tamworth Arms
Address: 71 Lichfield Street, Tamworth B79 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Tamworth Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing