We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drayton Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, Herts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We booked in at Dratyon Manor Hotel for one night with a day park to the theme park the following day.

First impressions were good. A nice reception area, the staff members were friendly and helpful. Check-in was speedy and efficient.

We stayed in a standard family room, (2 adults and 1 child) this was more than sufficient for a one night stay. The room was comfortable and the air-con was a very welcome relief after a very hot and sticky 2 hour drive!

We ate in the carvery restaurant in the evening. The price was reasonable, a 3 course carvery for the adults was £19.95 as much as you can eat, and the child price was £5.00 for 2 courses. The restaurant staff were very attentive, and the service was very good.

Breakfast - I would strongly advise to avoid the 8am crush! We went for breakfast just before this time and had to wait about 5 minutes for a table. Just after 8.15 it seemed like everyone staying decided to descend on the restaurant at the same time! The food is a buffet style, with cereals, fresh fruits, yogurt, toast and the full English. Again the restaurant staff were very attentive.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay here, and I would recommend for both families and couples.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazParnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your visit. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    499
    273
    95
    63
See reviews for
1,058
100
5
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Six of us, including two 3 year olds stayed over a weekend after visiting the excellent Thomas Land in the theme park. The hotel is perfectly situated just outside the park entrance. It is new and clean. However the weekend we stayed the entire hotel seemed to be staffed by school children with no experience of hotel work. We paid over £100 for the evening meal. The drinks never arrived and the kid’s meals came when the adults were eating desert (after we had cannibalized our meals to feed the ravenous children). The food was not of great quality. Following the disastrous meal I sought out a local supermarket to get water and milk for our children. When I came back there was no parking available in the hotel. There was a lovely Bentley parked immediately in front of the hotel door (see picture). I asked if I could park next to that and was informed that this was the owner’s car and guests had to park in the theme park lot across the road (which was unlit and a trek away with baggage). I mentioned I would like to complain and was told, “complain then, we do not care” by the manager! It is such a shame a nice hotel is let down by such terrible service. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbod79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your visit, we were naturally very disappointed to read that your stay with us was not of the standards we strive to achieve. We take all of the comments on here very seriously and use these to ensure we take appropriate action to improve our guests experience. Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced in the restaurant and with our reception team, please rest assured your valuable points will be shared with our teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had a large party in the Hamilton Suite at Drayton Manor and about 40 of us stayed overnight at the hotel. The party catering, food, service etc was excellent and very good value for money. Our expectations of the hotel weren't high as we had huge difficulties booking. The web site was appalling, the pricing all over the place and generally chaotic. However once we had got hold of a member of staff they sorted everything out and the bookings were arranged properly. There were a couple of 'Faulty Towers' moments eg the family with three children who wanted two adjoining rooms got two adjoining rooms but they were each adjoined to the room on the other side, not to one another! However the staff were very pleasant, tried really hard to sort everything and the function was great that the whole experience was really good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to the Hotel and events suite, we find your comments extremely valuable, especially regarding our website which we are aware when booking for large groups can be confusing, so are pleased our staff were able to help with this. We do have plans to develop our booking site to ensure this is more user friendly.

Please accept our apologies for the bedroom mix up and again we are pleased to hear our staff worked to rectify this. We will ensure your comments regarding your experience in the Hamilton Suite are passed to our team there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Very nice hotel, lovely and new.
Went as a couple but if you have kids they would love it. Comfortable bed, which is unusual in most hotels and enough pillows.
Can't fault the room to be honest except for one niggling irritation, and it is minor.

The clock on the 32" widescreen TV is so bright you can almost read by it!
Take some black tape to cover it and all is good. (Probably only noticed because the black out curtains are amazing, woke up 3 hours later than normal and was shocked it was brilliant daylight).

Breakfast of good quality, even had balck pudding, only omission was marmite for your toast.


On site food at the grill was excellent, a little dear for basic food but very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you had a good stay - and have passed your comment to the Maintenance team to see if the TV clock brightness can be adjusted? We have also passed onto the kitchen your valid comments about no Marmite for toast, we are sure there are many others who would like this to be available!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed here on 27th Sept 11 with my partner & 2 year old son. On the day we arrived the theme park was closed which we where not aware of, but i suppose we could have checked. The tickets included in the price of the hotel where for the next day, would have liked someone to have notifed us upon booking of the closure though - it might have saved one disappointed little boy!

As we arrived early unaware of Thomas Land closure, we thought being a lovely day we would take our son to the outdoor play area which was advertised on the website. This however was not finished yet. We thought we would try the indoor play area & was told that due to staffing levels there was nobody to supervise this area, so this also was closed.

The only thing in the whole of the hotel for children to do is two small identical train sets in the foyer - which have no trains.

The rooms where of a very high standard, check in was smooth & the staff where lovely & very helpfull. It was exceptionally clean & breakfast was very nice, plenty of choice and again the staff where brilliant.

I just feel that it was aimed more towards the business side of things, rather than children which is a shame. When everything is fully completed maybe things will be different, but untill then, the holiday inn down the road does exactly the same job.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for your comments, we really do value these and take note of all of these to make action where possible.
We appreciate your valid points regarding the play area, and have made sure both this and the Thomas play area are detailed on the website as coming soon. Unfortunately the outdoor play furtniture has not yet been delivered to us, which we appreciate is dissappointing expecially as the park is not open every day in September. We are currently working on our plans for the Thomas & Friends theatre as we need to ensure this is appropriately staffed and managed, again this is hopefully now portrayed on our website to avoid confusion.
We are pleased that you found the bedrooms of a high standard and breakfast & our team a positive part of your stay and do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future where your son can experience the elements which were not available on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

A group of friends and I stayed for 1 night in September. On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful - we were checked in to our rooms with no problems. As requested they had put us in 2 rooms next to each other which was appreciated.

We stayed in the delux rooms which were lovely!! Decorated to a high standard, spotlessly clean and well laid out. Tea and coffee facilities in the room came in useful, as did the mini fridge. The bathroom was larger and nicer than most hotels with comparable star ratings. There was a large, modern flat screen TV with the facility to play music via a USB port in the wall (although we didn't actually make use of it, we thought it was a nice touch).

We didn't make use of the breakfast/restaurant facilities so can't comment on that. There was a lovely decked area out the back of the hotel which looked like a great place to sit and have a drink.

Overall we were thoroughly impressed with the hotel - cannot fault the staff or facilities. We had read some of the previous negative reviews on tripadvisor prior to our stay and went feeling a little nervous about what to expect. We didn't encounter a single problem as mentioned by previous visitors so I can only assume thess was teething problems which have now been ressolved.

Thanks for a great stay!! We will definitely be coming back again :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiorequestion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit to Drayton Manor Hotel. We are pleased to read that your stay with friends was a positive one, and that you would consider visiting us again, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We spent two nights here so as we could take out two year old to Thomas Land. I had initially considered the themed Thomas rooms but the hotel failed to respond to my enquiry email. We instead booked a Double/Double room online. The room was fine.

We chose the hotel simply for location, and in summary that is the only advantage. The hotel has no atmosphere, it is trying to be a family hotel and a business hotel but business meetings and toddlers are not a compatible mix!

Everything is an effort for the staff. There are no facilities for children, no outdoor play area as advertised and although there are a couple of play tables in reception my toddler quickly established that there were no trains for the tracks! It seems ridiculous that there were no trains in the Thomas Land hotel, but the reception staff confirmed there were none! The staff were unhelpful and it took three to deal with a simple request at 5pm one evening - I wanted a bottle of water...I was directed by the staff to an empty vending machine, then a closed hotel shop, and then a bar where I was told they could help when they had found the fridge key!

I was pleased that I did not pay a premium for the themed rooms and also ask any parents considering the "character breakfast" to think how many characters are in Thomas that you can eat breakfast with! I had a quick browse at this to see if it would be worth doing for my son on the second morning, but it was not in my opinion.

The Thomas Land theme park itself was brilliant but unfortunately the hotel and the hotel staff did not add to the experience. Hopefully they will get the hotel organised soon so as the staff can be trained in customer service and start to value their guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluerainbow198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Firstly please accept our apologies that you did not find the process of booking a Thomas & Friends themed bedroom, We are pleased that you found the Double/Double room suitable for your family. Naturally we were dissappointed to read that your experience with our staff was less than positive and we will deal with these points with each department. This is not the level of service and interaction we expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
0.7 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
389 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,127 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Property: Drayton Manor Hotel
Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing