We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Thomas themed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drayton Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Thomas themed hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just come back from a fun filled weekend
We stayed in one of the Thomas themed room which we found to be clean and well laid out for the little children to play
The hotels restaurant is very good value for money
With the hotel being on site with the theme park we parked the car as all parts of the park are in walking distance
The hotels card keys are a great idea but only one fault is we had a fire alarm early morning and other guest ran out with out key cards and where locked out of rooms (I think all locks should be disabled when alarm sounds for peoples safety) Hotel need to look at this as sleeping children could be locked in rooms alone

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t-macrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    516
    280
    99
    67
See reviews for
1,102
102
5
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here on the 2nd May for our Son's 6th Birthday treat. We purchased a play and stay package directly through the hotels sight.

We booked a family room, which had two double beds.

Check in was straight forward. Receptionists were very polite and helpful.

They have lifts which require a room key to operate, which is very reassuring from a security point of view. (Stops the munchies going where they aren't meant to, and prevents unwanted people getting where the bedrooms are. Very reassuring)

The room was immaculate, complete with iron and ironing board which is unusual these days. It had a bath, with shower facility which is great for the age our children are.

Checkout was simple and efficient. At which point we collected our tickets for the park, which helped us avoid queues at the start of the day.

Would I have changed anything? Only we would have booked an interconnecting room if that package hadn't been so expensive compared to the room we got. No more beds to clean, but charging approximately £60.00 more seemed a little bit excessive.

That said, it was a brilliant stay and made the next day more pleasurable as everyone was refreshed from a good night sleep!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_F999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hope we see you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed the 9th-11th May on a stay and play basis in a Thomas themed room. The room was spotless and airy with plenty of room so no one was in anyones space. As the parks right on the door step there was no need for us to move the car all weekend. Overall a fantastic stay, well worth the money and will go again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahburt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I am happy to see you all enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in a themed room and the kids loved it. The room was big enough and there was a fridge too which meant my Rose didn't get warm (well you have to think about these things darling!) We ate out the first night and in the second night and the food was surprisingly good and not too expensive. Breakfast is buffet style and we opted for breakfast with the Fat Controller on the first morning which the kids absolutely loved. The only thing that spoilt it a bit was some of the other clientèle of the hotel. If we go back to DM then we would stay here again as it is so convenient. Plus if you are in a themed room you can utilise the hotels collection of Thomas DVD's too.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a Thomas room if your kids like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyHayllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Nobody like warm Rose this is true! I am glad to see you had a good time with us, and hopefully this will lead to you returning in future where our team will be waiting. Thank you for taking time out to let us know how your stay went.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Really pleased with hotel, right next to the theme park which was ideal. Plenty of free parking spaces. Room very clean and comfortable. Thought the keycard access is a good idea (We did receive a card each) Would certainly stay here again especially with the amazing deal we got!! My only little niggle was at breakfast, had a long wait for coffee to be served. How the food was presented meant I as a vegetarian was unable to ascertain whether the ingredients were vege suitable, I suppose I could have asked the breakfast staff but none appeared remotely approachable. All in all had a fabulous stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandimayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I am happy to see your had a good time with us during your recent stay. I have made the restaurant manager aware of changes that could be made at breakfast for them to address. I do hope to see you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We had a short, stay and play, family break at Drayton Manor over the recent Bank Holiday and cannot wait to go back. The hotel accommodation and grounds are immaculate. The staff are friendly, polite and professional in their work. We dined at the hotels restaurant and found the food and service to be excellent. My four year old loved the hotels outdoor play area. To top it off, it is a matter of yards from the hotel to the theme park which was a great day out. Overall, an excellent hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dustybin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your pleasant review. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here May bank holiday weekend and was disppointed with the room & service was my sons 6th birthday not enough pillows in the room took over 3 hours to get more and also a big stain on bedding disgusting took them till 10pm at night to change the bedding so had an exhausted little boy as he couldn't go to bed until it was done not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I am extremely sorry for the housekeeping issues you had during your stay. Over the last month there have been many changes made in our housekeeping department in order to improve our guest's experience. Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
0.7 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
225 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#6 of 11 in Tamworth
405 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,224 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Property: Drayton Manor Hotel
Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing