We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drayton Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We decided that we would spend two nights to allow us more time to enjoy the theme park without rushing to fit it all in. We spent one night in the travelodge and another in the Drayton Manor hotel. We stayed in the Thomas themed room with our 2 year old son which in cluded the Character Breakfast. That itself is a joke, no character i have ever seen in an episode of Thomas (and i have seen a lot!) was there, except two 'entertainers' in dungarees with a thomas badge on. We were told to turn up at 8am prompt, seems the hotel staff did not get the memo. As you are in a seperate room from everyone else (my sons grandparents were not allowed to join us without paying an additional cost!) the food is not replenished like it is in the main room and therefore you dont really get the buffet you paid for!
We ate in the hotel restuarant in the evening even though we were initially told it was buffet (turns out that was just for children.. why??) we were first told there was a 30 minute wait. We went and sat in the bar and waited but relised she did not even take our name. After about 30 minutes we went and asked about our table and was shown to one straight away. She had forgotten about us. Brilliant. The food itself was okay, a bit bit pricey for what it was but i guess to be expected.
I found the communication of the staff to be very poor, the service to be far from adequate of a 4* hotel and i for one will not be returning. I feel completely ripped off and in my view you are better off paying £30 per room per night at the travelodge in stead of near £600 for two rooms for one night at Drayton Manor.
The park itself is worth a look for any Thomas fan. There is more i think they could do with it and some happy staff would certainly give the place a lift. They all look miserable and cannot be bothered. They are planning an extension of Thomas Land next year and if my son is still interested i will take him along, but i will be staying at the travelodge down the road who were very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: The thomas theme rooms are a waste of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Tara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review,

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your recent stay at Drayton Manor Hotel.

I have shared your feedback with the team for review.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed in a family room for one night rooms are lovely and facilties are fab the air con is a massive bonus on a warm to breakfast is fantastic and the choice is amazing all the staff are very helpful to love all the little Thomas tracks ect left out to keep kids entertained happy kids = happy mam :) we will be visting again .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review,

What great comments, thank you for sharing them and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

we booked for a 2 night stay to take our little boy to thomas land. we stayed in a thomas themed room and character breakfast. the room itself was was ok. room 224. the questionnaire card was already filled in by someone who stayed there on the 22nd of july so it had been in there for over a month and not replaced. the blind pull cord was broken so we couldnt close the blind. I found the bed ok but my hubby hated it. said it was too hard. room service arrived. 48 pound for a kids meal and 2 lasagne meals and drinks. scandalous. food was cold and you only get 6/7 chunky cut chips for the princely sum of 4 quid. thomas land was quite good. the zoo is shocking. that poor black panther is going insane in that tiny cage. panther and chimps were constantly pacing up and down. heartbreaking to see. food at the grill..again extortionate. 43 pound for 1 childs meal and 2 adults and WATER. the waitress was so rude. after ordering our adult meals she looked at my two year old and said "does this kid want anything" GRRRRRR.....disgusting prices everywhere. after paying nearly 600 pound for a 2 night stay I do not expect to be ripped off for a poxy lasange. breakfast with the fat controller was a joke. they tell you to arrive at 8.00am PROMPT and then dont turn up themselves till quarter past. a thomas tablecloth and a certificate do not make it special. fried eggs were not replenished so we didnt get any and the sausages are raw on one side and burnt on the other. second morning we didnt bother with character breakfast. it was poor. nearly 800 pound we spent for 2 days. more fool us.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and that you felt let down by certain elements of the service we offered including pricing.

Let me assure you that we do review our pricing on a regular basis. Offering value for money is one of our key values as a business and we do believe that we are competitively priced. We are sorry if you felt let down by our pricing and will discuss your feedback as a team.

We do employ comprehensive management cover 24 hours per day and if you did want to speak to someone about the quality of the service you received at breakfast, that resource was and is available to all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a fantastic bank holiday break at the Drayton Manor hotel. The Thomas themed room was superb, spacious and very comfortable and our kids loved it.

The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and the standard of the evening meal was very good although a little expensive. Breakfast with the Fat Controller was quite amusing and a nice touch which our kids loved.

The terrace area overlooking the playground was very pleasant with childrens entertainment and face painting going on til 7ish which was a plus.

Overall the hotel is absolutely spot on for a weekend break and I would definitely return. If I did have any suggestions for improvement then I always prefer/look for hotels with an indoor pool when I'm searching for these trips and this hotel doesn't have one, although i'm not sure we would have found the time to use it. Also the hotel does advertise free Wi-Fi but this was very hit and miss.

The park was very busy on the Sunday which led to massive queues which was a bit of a let down but the bad weather on the bank holiday meant there were little or no queues and despite the rain, Monday was far more enjoyable. It is a common theme to all theme parks in the UK and it would be nice if one of them came up with a better system to reduce queuing (not just charging extra to get a fasttrack ticket) as it can spoil a potentially great day out!

Room Tip: Free Wi-Fi was very hit and miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review,

We are delighted that you had and your family had a great time during your recent stay.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very uncomfortable beds and pillows that have probably been in use since it first opened, they were horrible, apart from a poor nights sleep the hotel was clean, and staff were friendly, although breakfast does become some what of a bun fight if you go down at peak time and if you go down towards the end there is nothing left.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review,

We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the quality of our bed and pillows and we hope that you were able to sleep. They are hypnos beds which are very well known for their comfort and the beds and pillows are regularly tested and replaced as part of scheduled maintenance plan.

I'm also sorry that you found breakfast distressing, you are right to point out that the restaurant does get very busy during peak times. We do provide signage in our guest lifts and bedroom information folder outlining the best times to visit the restaurant for breakfast. This is also displayed on your in room television and illustrated on the welcome letter that we give out at reception.

Furthermore we are sorry that the breakfast buffet wasn't fully replenished. It is our normal standard to offer a full range of breakfast items from beginning to end and I will share your feedback with the team to try and prevent this from happening for future guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This is the second year running we've stayed at this hotel for the play and stay deal. Last year we splashed out on the Thomas themed room but at the time we felt it was very overpriced and this time just went for a standard family room . The Thomas themed room was great but for the price we paid it was definitely not worth it on comparison.

The family room was really lovely, very clean, comfortable and spacious and even had a fridge. My only negative comment would be that there were no mattress protectors on either of the double beds, this is sloppy on the hotels part and unhygienic, my young son actually leaked his nappy during the night so this was how I noticed, I obviously felt bad about this but when I saw there was no protector I felt there really should have been one there, particularly in a hotel that is geared towards families.

The bar and restaurant are expensive and the food and service is average, other than that the hotel is the perfect base for the theme park with lots of Thomas related things dotted about, this is not the type of hotel for couples wanting a relaxing break as it's absolutely full of children everywhere as would be expected. The breakfast was really good and the free parking from when you arrive until when you leave from the second day in the park is a great bonus. Overall a great stay and would return. Just please invest in some mattress protectors for the beds, this should be a basic must for any hotel room, especially one claiming to be 4*.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank loobylooUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

I am happy to see you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. We do have mattress protectors so I will investigate why this was missed in your room - I apologise for that. Whilst in children's holidays our hotel does get quite loud, at other times it is still quiet enough for couples and business users alike in case you ever wanted a getaway without the kids?... Thank you for reviewing your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked a night at the Drayton Manor Hotel as part of a "Stay and Play" rate that includes a day in the adjoining theme park (see my separate review on the theme park).

The hotel is very clean and all of the staff I interacted with were very helpful and polite. I arrived about 5:00pm and the booking in process was simple and quick, I did not use the restaurant for an evening meal so I cannot comment on this.

Our room was clean and air conditioned (we were able to control the A/C) and was overlooking the park. The family room that we had was comfortable and had a large flat screen TV that included all of the available freeview channels. Wi-Fi is available but is only free for the first 30 minutes after which time you will need to purchase further Wi-Fi.

We used the restaurant for breakfast which offered a freshly cooked English breakfast (Eggs, Bacon, Sausages) plus toast & jams, cereals, fruit juices and Tea & Coffee. The restaurant staff were happy and polite.

Access to the hotel was easy and parking was free, I would certainly use again.

As my rate included park tickets I collected these from reception after breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamieoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
0.7 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
246 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#6 of 11 in Tamworth
422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
4.5 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range: £57 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing