We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gungate(Tamworth)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plough & Harrow(Tamworth)
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Tamworth Central(Tamworth)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
237
63
44
40
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
237
63
44
40
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster of ceremoniestudor suitevodka barwedding breakfastwedding packagewedding venuetoast masterwedding receptionmr mrsamazing weddingdance floorevening buffetbridal suiteevening receptionpiping hotwedding guestswedding night
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

excellent from start to finish ,would recommend to any one who wants a stress free wedding .,the staff were really helpful and keane who did kimberley and simon,s wedding was aa1.thank you so much for making it such a beautiful day will always treasure xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your review Michael. Cian and his team appreciate your kind comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

had my daughters wedding here. had the blue room (wedgewood suite), luvly room, wonderful day, staff realy friendly and helpful, couldnt have wished for a better day, thankyou all at the castle hotel x

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValS1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you Val for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure looking after you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked this hotel as we were in Tamworth for Vape Fest 2013.
Ok dont get me wrong I was not expecting the Ritz , The bed was the worst thing I have ever slept on and the pillows were so thin my dogs bed is thicker . there had been a water leak at some point and had marked I the wall black the whole thing is very tired looking .we were woken up by the couple in the roon next to ours having a massive argument most of the night
On sunday went to breakfast to be told they were running late wo uh ld not recommended this to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluefishwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that your stay was not to the standard you expected.

Unfortunately Room 14 did experience some water damage to the wall by the door during the heavy rain we had a couple of weeks before your stay. The torrential rain regrettably caused a leak in the roof above the room, which caused the problem inside the room. Whilst the leak itself was fixed shortly after it was noticed, we have been full every weekend due to busy wedding season and as such unable to take the room off for any duration to re-paper the walls. It is next on our refurbishment list as soon as the opportunity arises.

Thank you for making us aware of the problem with the mattress in your room, it has now been replaced. Had you mentioned this to us after your first night we would have been able to transfer you to another room for the Saturday night.

With regards to the couple next door, I’m sorry to say there isn’t a lot we can do about what other guests choose to do inside their rooms. Again however, if you had phoned down at the time it was happening we would have been able to speak to them and let them know they were disturbing other guests and try to rectify this for you.

Again we are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay; I hope in future you will report anything you are unhappy with to staff at the time so that they have chance to rectify it for you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hotel is in centre of Tamworth -easy reach (1 km) from train station. I can not fault the hotel employees - Tremendously friendly , extremely helpful and always smiling. The room was spacious, bathroom shower was powerful, but bathroom overall was dated with an unstable floor , which was bellied and collected pool of water after showering. The entire hotel was spotless - extremely clean, bed linen and towels very fresh. My only gripe was matress , cheap , aged , and really no comfort. I would recommend the location and such helpful and engaging hotel employees.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay over all. Thank you for letting us know about your mattress, it has now been replaced. There has always been a slight dip in the floor of Room 2’s bathroom, many areas of the hotels floors do have a slight unevenness due to the age of the building, again thank you for highlighting this, we will look into it further. We hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My family stayed here for two nights in August for a wedding we were attending at the Drayton Manor Hotel ...... we booked three double rooms and we paid £120 for the two nights per room ...... We actually stayed in the building across the road, known as "the brewery" it was good value, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms were a little dated, and were in need of some TLC but on the whole were ok. The reception staff were professional and helped us on several occasions with requests that we had. The breaksfast was served downstairs in the restaurant area and was served between 8.00 and 10.00 on the Saturday and sunday ...... im afraid to say the breakfast was not good and was priced at £9.00 I think on top of our room booking ....... it was serve yourself and they brought coffee/tea to your table ...... the breakfast itself was not very warm and didn't look very appetising but we overlooked this as the overall stay was quite good value. We went to the Drayton Manor Hotel for our breakfast on the Sunday which was superb but was pricey at £13.75. Parking at the castle hotel is very difficult and we had to park in a public car park as there is no parking outside the hotel itself. We had to pay as it is a pay and display car park but you can obtain a parking ticket for a whole day from the reception at a cost of £3.50 ....... would I stay here again? maybe if I was in the area again and wanted a basic good value for money hotel to lay my head

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay on the whole and apologise that breakfast on this occasion did not meet with your expectations. It is only through comments such as yours that we can continue to improve our usual high standards. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews