We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 40th party!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great 40th party!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just wanted to say what a wonderful party we had Saturday night (Jan18th,2014) at The Castle Hotel for my partners 40th Birthday. The staff were wonderful,so helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We had their chosen DJ for the night who was also brilliant and kept friends and family entertained all night. Our room overnight was really lovely with all the accessories we possibly needed. Breakfast was just what we needed after a good night and it catered for everyone whether you just wanted simple or a full breakfast.
Friends and family were also very complementary of the function room,staff,DJ and the rooms for the ones that stayed. Would definitely use them again in the future :-)
Thank you very much :-)
Natasha

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you Natasha for your review, we are glad Geoff's 40th went off as planned. The fancy dress was particularly good, I think it's the first time Fred Flintstone and Batman have ever been in attendance at The Castle Hotel! We look forward to looking after you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    58
    39
    36
    40
See reviews for
155
103
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Thanks to the staff at the Castle Hotel for our children's Christmas party with 100 kids and making their day great. Thanks also for our Christmas lunch with 40 plus volunteers, great food and great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your comments Dawn they are much appreciated.

I am pleased you enjoyed both of your festive parties and that the children enjoyed themselves. We look forward to looking after you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had decided to do some Christmas shopping in Tamworth due to the fantastic retail park and thought we would make a weekend of it. We booked into this hotel through a last minute website as it was next to the Castle itself but wish we had not bothered. We were given the choice of staying in the hotel itself or going to the annexe in the Brewery House just across the road as there were functions on at the hotel and it might be noisy so opted for the annex.

Negatives:
There is no car parking at the hotel so you have to use the public one about a 100 yards down the road. It cannot be seen, either from the hotel itself or from the rooms in the annex unless you have the one on the corner so we spent half of our time worrying whether it would be broken into overnight.
Room décor was very dated and curtains were dingy.
Previous occupants chocolate wrappers down the side of the bedside table.
Dirty bin liner, which had not been emptied, in the bathroom.
The material covered headboards behind the beds showed considerable evidence of the number of greasy heads that had leaned on them over the years.
Polystyrene tiles on the ceilings - which I understood is a fire hazard in any building.
We had the worst nights sleep we have ever had at a hotel (and we have stayed at a considerable number over the years) as the bed was the most uncomfortable we have experienced - I dread to think how old it must be. Unfortunately, it is not something you discover until you go to bed.
Positives:
You are right next to the Castle which is well worth a visit.
The room was large.
The room was warm on a cold day/night.
The bathroom was quite nice and also spacious.
There was plenty of complimentary teas/coffees, plus a hair dryer and an ironing board.
However, overall - especially due to the awful bed - we would not go again.
If you do decide to book in here make sure you do not accept room 27 in the Brewery House unless they have got rid of the bed (and the headboards).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joemeister19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your review and the positive comments contained within it.

Ventura Retail Park and the Castle itself are both within easy walking distance of the hotel and attract many weekend visitors such as yourselves. Booking through Laterooms.com you booked a Budget Double Room which we upgraded to a more spacious Family Room free of charge as we had a number of rooms still available to sell on the night of your stay. I am pleased that the size, warmth and facilities of the room were to your standards. As we had Christmas Parties taking place in the main building we offered you the option of staying in the Brewery House so that you would not be disturbed by these parties, one of which would not be finishing until 2.00am.

It does state on the Laterooms website that the car parking available is off site and chargeable. Being a town centre hotel we have no facility to construct our own car park and as such use the Council owned Pay & Display which as part of “Small Business Saturday” was free of charge on the day of your stay. All of our regular weekday and weekend guests use this car park without any issues arising from not being able to see it personally from their rooms. The Council monitors all its car parks with CCTV and parking wardens regularly patrol during the day.

With regards to Room 27, I can only apologise as to the un-emptied bin and chocolate wrappers and can assure you that this is being investigated within the Housekeeping Department as it is not up to our usual high standards. Had you mentioned after check in that you were unsatisfied with the cleanliness of your room we could have sent housekeeping in to rectify these issues for you or allocated you a different room.

We are in the process of replacing the carpets, beds and headboards throughout the hotel and Brewery House and always replace mattresses whenever they become too old or a guest comments on their comfort. We have regular weekday guests who stay in Room 27 every week and as such have as yet been unable to take the room off to replace the headboards and carpets. I can assure you that in the new year when the hotel is quieter we will be refurbishing this room along with several others in the Brewery House building. The mattress on the double bed has now been replaced. The tiles in the ceiling however will not be being replaced, they are fire rated fibre composite tiles, which meet all current Health & Safety regulations.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion and hope that in future you will report any issues as they occur so that they may be rectified at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The tamworth castle hotel made are special day Awsome they couldn't do enough for us from day one when we went to book eleven months ago they organise everything for you and nothing is too much trouble special thanks to Nicky you kept us calm thank you

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Waaf242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure looking after you, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I got married here on the 7th of September , I could not fault a thing the day ran so smoothly Nikki and kian were fantastic from the day we booked the venue . The effert these guys put in to your big day is amazing nothing was never a problem. Our guest all commented how lovely the food was our night buffet was always fab we always paid for the sweet table big hit with everybody . I stayed at the hotel the night before with 4 of my friends many of our guest also stayed on the Saturday night to yes the rooms are very basic and dated but was so clean and tidy really is nothing to moan about :) if u book your wedding here u really would not be disappointed . We also used a photographer from tamwort called dave joicey who does a lot of work at the hotel his rates are brill and are wedding pics are amazing really would recermend him :) Kelly and Chris

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelchrisoct13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you Kelly & Chris for your kind words, we have passed them on to the team. We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had our wedding breakfast at the Castle Hotel on the 9th November 2013. It was a brilliant day, the food was fantastic, the staff very helpful and the decor was great. Only critisisms were that we wanted the candles lit but they couldn't because of safety and the bridal room we were given was directly above their vodka bar, whose music doesn't turn off before midnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you Ben & Laura for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your wedding day. Having spoken to your toastmaster he has confirmed that the candles in the candelabras weren't lit as there were a lot of children running about and he was concerned they would be easily knocked over, however if you had said you would have preferred them to be lit, he would have done so for you.
One of our bridal suites is located above the Vodka Bar which, as you stated doesn't close until 12.00am most weekends. However this doesn't normally cause any problems with our bridal couples as their own parties rarely finish before this time either. We hope you are enjoying married life and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullion
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I didn't stay in the main hotel so cannot give a review, other than the receptionist was very helpful. I was, however, in The Brewery House which was down the road which I wasn't aware of beforehand so could have parked the car in the car park (another story) walked up the road with the luggage only to find that I was housed back down the road. As it was I had parked my car opposite which were disabled parking areas only, The Brewery House was an old building which apparently used to be the Job Centre some time ago. It was very creaky and in some areas smelly with damp - only in the one spot on the ground floor, whilst walking to the back of the building to my allocated room No 44 (there were two keys - one to the main door and the other to the room), and I always chose the wrong one to open the front door!! This room was spacious with a double and single bed and en suite. Very nice room - clean, television, kettle, biscuits, etc phone to contact reception and calls if required. Had to walk up to the main hotel for breakfast. Went to a family wedding reception in the main hotel. The three course meal consisting of soup, chicken roast and profiteroles was good. Regarding the breakfast, which was self service - the chef could have been a bit more friendly.

Room Tip: Although room 44 in The Brewery House was acceptable from the rear window it overlooked high rise fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended. As you had booked online we allocated you a bedroom in The Brewery House building so that you wouldn't be disturbed by the wedding happening in the main building, especially as you were in for three nights. Obviously this wouldn't have been a problem! We hope if you visit Tamworth again in the future we will have the pleasure of looking after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
1.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Lady Bank, Tamworth B79 7NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing