We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful rooms”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great staff but hotel was tired,dated and needs a much needed uplift. Bed was dreadful,bony and sagged in middle! Bedding was horrible,horrible polyester...no cotton bedding available......pillows,well if You call them pillows were non existent...we had 3each and still only came to the equivalent of 1 decent one! Duvets need replacing too, about the thickness of a blanket....Don't stay if they have a party...the much too loud music and dreadful singing went on until 2am!!! We only had about 3hours sleep........we came to see our son and family up here but will def NOT stay at this hotel again......the owner needs to spend a few ££££££ on this hotel to bring up to scratch.

Room Tip: Don't have room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that our bedding was not to your standard.

All of our bedding is 50% Cotton, 50% Polyester and no guest has ever reported problems with this in the past. I am aware that your husband has an allergy to polyester and nylon and as such requires 100% cotton bed linen. Had you informed us of this at time of booking we would have been able to arrange something for you. Unfortunately these options are limited somewhat at 7.00pm on a Saturday night, 8 hours after you checked in. We did however try and sort this for you by telephoning all other hotels in the local area to ask if they had any we could borrow for you, to which the answer was no, none of them have 100% cotton bedding.

Pillows and duvets are always difficult to suit to individual needs, which is why we will always provide extra pillows and blankets where required. We use 4.5 tog duvets so that guests can add extra blankets if required, though with the heating on for 2 hours at a time with 1 hour breaks during the winter months, this is not normally an issue.

We did have a wedding taking place on the night of your stay, of which you were informed at time of booking. The wedding finished at midnight and the Bride & Groom requested their guests be able to carry on the party in the Vodka Bar, which is licensed until 2.00am. Room 5 is not above the Vodka Bar, however we are sorry you experienced noise transference from there.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and hope that in future you will remember to inform staff of any special requirements prior to your arrival so that they have the opportunity to make arrangements for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a brilliant stay. Some people forget that hotels have to look after a lot of people with different expectations and demands and a lot of the time expect too much.
4 of us attended my neice's wedding yesterday. As it was an all day event, the venue room had to be rearranged to accommodate the wedding, meal & then the reception. All of it was modified without any fuss or problems. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the car park is at the bottom of the road which is a dead end but we were informed about this and it wasn't a problem as it is
covered by CCTV. The D.J did a fantastic job and we all enjoyed it. The rooms are warm and everything that you might need was there in the rooms, including an iron and ironing board (first time we have had this) instead of requesting one from reception. Breakfast went down well with us all. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.
Well done to you all.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you Kay for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us for Nicola & James’ wedding and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Parking is not easy and is unsecured. Room was very average and missing a pillow and the bed was most uncomfortable, the mattress having seen better days. Shower was very difficult to fathom and in fact my wife gave up. Breakfast was poor, no fruit available and the sausages had been around for some time despite the fact that we arrived within ten minutes of the start. My request for warm toast led to being shown to a toaster where only two of the four sections worked.
We were there for a wedding and stayed overnight so expected a little noise. The wedding meal was like most large scale catering - reasonable food but a little cool. Staff were pleasant enough and the happy couple had a great day so not all doom and gloom, but we won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Get married - I believe the bridle suite was OK - in fact the bathroom was bigger than several doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger_jenkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

Due to our location as a town centre hotel we do not have access to our own car park and as such use the Council owned Pay & Display 100 yards from the hotel, chargeable between 0800hrs and 1800hrs Monday-Saturday, our bridal couples are made aware of when booking their wedding so that they can inform their guests. . The Council make a charge of £3.50 per day for all day parking, for which Permits can be purchased from Reception and charged back to the room if requested. The Council monitor the car park 24 hours a day via CCTV in order to protect those vehicles left in the car park overnight.

We are in the process of replacing the carpets, beds and headboards throughout the hotel and always replace mattresses whenever they become too old or a guest comments on their comfort. We have regular weekday guests who stay in Room 10 every week and have not commented on either the quality of the mattress or the complexity of the shower. We are however looking into these issues now that they have been brought to our attention.

Our breakfast is a buffet style breakfast consisting of 6 items on the hot plate for guests to help themselves to, along with toast and cereals. Thank you for informing us that one of the toasters has broken, we can now replace it as this is the first time anyone has mentioned it. As to the sausages, I am unsure as to why you believe they had been ‘around for some time’. Chef does not come in until 7.30am to prepare and cook breakfast in order for it to be placed on the hot plate at 8.00am prompt. I can assure you the sausages were freshly prepared that morning. Had you mentioned to the serving staff that you were unhappy with the quality of the breakfast food, chef could have cooked some especially to order for you.

It is unusual for wedding guests to comment that the food was cool at time of serving as it always piping hot leaving the kitchen and usually only cools down if a guest is not sat at his/ her place at time of serving. Again, had the staff been made aware at the time they would have been able to sort this for you.

I am sorry your stay did not meet your expectations and I hope in future you will inform staff of any issues you meet with during your stay so that they can rectify them at the time for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel was very easy to find, but the car park is a council owned one on the same side of the road, past the castle itself. Remember to add the cost of parking (an additional £3+ per day) onto the cost of your hotel room. Only a bit, but it all adds up! Also as it is a council car park it is not secured at night - that being said there were no problems with my car over the week except for the wing mirror getting knocked. What is a pain is having to walk down to the car each day to put a new ticket in. The staff will add the cost of the daily parking pass to your bill so you don't need to worry about having the change for the meter. Don't forget to add the cost of breakfast too (expensive at £9.50 per day) if having it.

I stayed on the second floor of the main building so had two flights of stairs to walk up. The higher I climbed, the more tired the décor and carpeting became. I opened the door to my room and was greeted with a strong smell of cigarettes before I even saw inside. This, despite the sticker on the door and the law! The room itself was quite large and nicely proportioned, but again the décor left a little to be desired - patched wallpaper peeling in places, draughty windows, colour scheme not quite getting it. The en-suite bathroom had tiles around the bath itself but again patched up wallpaper on the rest of the walls. The shower looked a cheap one, but at least I got a decent water pressure from it. The bed was very lumpy and it was impossible to sleep in the middle of it - it was one side or the other - eventually found it better to sleep on top of the quilt to even the mattress up a bit and use the blanket as a cover!!

Liked:
Location, friendly reception staff, size of room, tea and coffee making facilities.

Didn't like:
Décor, draughty windows (despite secondary double glazing), car parking, lumpy bed, smell of cigarettes (sprayed Febreeze over everything to fix this), breakfast and parking not being included in the price.

Summary:
If you are looking for the basics this will do. I expected more for my money but would stay there again if there is nothing else local.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleybEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review and the positive comments contained within it.

Due to our location as a town centre hotel we do not have access to our own car park and as such use the Council owned Pay & Display 100 yards from the hotel, chargeable between 0800hrs and 1800hrs Monday-Saturday, which is clearly stated on Booking.com’s website through which your reservation was made. The Council make a charge of £3.50 per day for all day parking, for which Permits can be purchased from Reception and charged back to the room if requested.

I can only apologise that your room had a smell of cigarettes, all of our rooms are non-smoking and are sold and signposted as such. Unfortunately this is not an easy law to enforce as we have no way of monitoring guests’ activities whilst they are in their rooms. Whilst we levy a charge for the additional cleaning required if evidence of smoking is found in a room, this does not always deter guests from trying. Had you mentioned on check in that despite the air freshener placed by housekeeping there was still a smell lingering, we would almost certainly have been able to move you to another room.

We are puzzled as to your description of the colour scheme ‘not quite getting it’, the room you stayed in is decorated in neutral tones with a leather headboard. The only colour introduced is in the curtains so as not to clash with the browns and creams of the rest of the décor.

I am sorry to hear you did not sleep well during your stay, I am unsure as to why this was as the mattress in Room 20 is less than 4 months old and has received no complaints from other guests. Again, if you had mentioned during your stay that it was not to your individual comfort we would have been able to try and rectify it for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just wanted to say what a wonderful party we had Saturday night (Jan18th,2014) at The Castle Hotel for my partners 40th Birthday. The staff were wonderful,so helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We had their chosen DJ for the night who was also brilliant and kept friends and family entertained all night. Our room overnight was really lovely with all the accessories we possibly needed. Breakfast was just what we needed after a good night and it catered for everyone whether you just wanted simple or a full breakfast.
Friends and family were also very complementary of the function room,staff,DJ and the rooms for the ones that stayed. Would definitely use them again in the future :-)
Thank you very much :-)
Natasha

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you Natasha for your review, we are glad Geoff's 40th went off as planned. The fancy dress was particularly good, I think it's the first time Fred Flintstone and Batman have ever been in attendance at The Castle Hotel! We look forward to looking after you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Thanks to the staff at the Castle Hotel for our children's Christmas party with 100 kids and making their day great. Thanks also for our Christmas lunch with 40 plus volunteers, great food and great service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your comments Dawn they are much appreciated.

I am pleased you enjoyed both of your festive parties and that the children enjoyed themselves. We look forward to looking after you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had decided to do some Christmas shopping in Tamworth due to the fantastic retail park and thought we would make a weekend of it. We booked into this hotel through a last minute website as it was next to the Castle itself but wish we had not bothered. We were given the choice of staying in the hotel itself or going to the annexe in the Brewery House just across the road as there were functions on at the hotel and it might be noisy so opted for the annex.

Negatives:
There is no car parking at the hotel so you have to use the public one about a 100 yards down the road. It cannot be seen, either from the hotel itself or from the rooms in the annex unless you have the one on the corner so we spent half of our time worrying whether it would be broken into overnight.
Room décor was very dated and curtains were dingy.
Previous occupants chocolate wrappers down the side of the bedside table.
Dirty bin liner, which had not been emptied, in the bathroom.
The material covered headboards behind the beds showed considerable evidence of the number of greasy heads that had leaned on them over the years.
Polystyrene tiles on the ceilings - which I understood is a fire hazard in any building.
We had the worst nights sleep we have ever had at a hotel (and we have stayed at a considerable number over the years) as the bed was the most uncomfortable we have experienced - I dread to think how old it must be. Unfortunately, it is not something you discover until you go to bed.
Positives:
You are right next to the Castle which is well worth a visit.
The room was large.
The room was warm on a cold day/night.
The bathroom was quite nice and also spacious.
There was plenty of complimentary teas/coffees, plus a hair dryer and an ironing board.
However, overall - especially due to the awful bed - we would not go again.
If you do decide to book in here make sure you do not accept room 27 in the Brewery House unless they have got rid of the bed (and the headboards).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joemeister19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your review and the positive comments contained within it.

Ventura Retail Park and the Castle itself are both within easy walking distance of the hotel and attract many weekend visitors such as yourselves. Booking through Laterooms.com you booked a Budget Double Room which we upgraded to a more spacious Family Room free of charge as we had a number of rooms still available to sell on the night of your stay. I am pleased that the size, warmth and facilities of the room were to your standards. As we had Christmas Parties taking place in the main building we offered you the option of staying in the Brewery House so that you would not be disturbed by these parties, one of which would not be finishing until 2.00am.

It does state on the Laterooms website that the car parking available is off site and chargeable. Being a town centre hotel we have no facility to construct our own car park and as such use the Council owned Pay & Display which as part of “Small Business Saturday” was free of charge on the day of your stay. All of our regular weekday and weekend guests use this car park without any issues arising from not being able to see it personally from their rooms. The Council monitors all its car parks with CCTV and parking wardens regularly patrol during the day.

With regards to Room 27, I can only apologise as to the un-emptied bin and chocolate wrappers and can assure you that this is being investigated within the Housekeeping Department as it is not up to our usual high standards. Had you mentioned after check in that you were unsatisfied with the cleanliness of your room we could have sent housekeeping in to rectify these issues for you or allocated you a different room.

We are in the process of replacing the carpets, beds and headboards throughout the hotel and Brewery House and always replace mattresses whenever they become too old or a guest comments on their comfort. We have regular weekday guests who stay in Room 27 every week and as such have as yet been unable to take the room off to replace the headboards and carpets. I can assure you that in the new year when the hotel is quieter we will be refurbishing this room along with several others in the Brewery House building. The mattress on the double bed has now been replaced. The tiles in the ceiling however will not be being replaced, they are fire rated fibre composite tiles, which meet all current Health & Safety regulations.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion and hope that in future you will report any issues as they occur so that they may be rectified at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
1.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
240 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Lady Bank, Tamworth B79 7NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range: £36 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing