We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our perfect wedding”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our perfect wedding”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had our wedding reception here on 25th April & it was amazing. From the very first day we booked the venue right through to check out on the day after the wedding we were looked after by the nicest people we have had the pleasure in meeting. All the staff were always friendly & very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I was put at ease right from the start & always knew our day would be perfect. Our toastmaster Kian was amazing he is a real credit to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble even when we arrived an hour early due to the rain! The food was delicious & all our guests commented on how beautiful the building was. The rooms were very comfortable & had everything you needed. We can't thank Nikki & the team enough for helping make our day perfect. We will definitely be recommending this hotel to everyone & will definitely return in the future. Thanks again
Sam & Rob xx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantharose12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you Sam & Rob for taking the time to post a review, I have passed the review to the team.
We are glad you enjoyed your day and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    58
    40
    38
    42
See reviews for
160
107
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at hotel for wedding on 19\4\2014 found staff quite rude and not welcoming, ,was given room over in annex across road and round a bend found this very disgusting due to having three young children 10 6 and 2 and carting them over after wedding in the dark and cold which they found very upsetting.the hotel do not cater for disabled people as stairs all over hotel and no lifts ,the car park ran out of hotel parking tickets and we received a parking fine .there were signs in room saying try and keep towels for one more day if can but if really need clean towels then they will provide its a hotel should have clean every day.its unhygienic also ,my dads bath was dirty also.would not recommend this hotel to a family or the elderly

Room Tip: Make sure you are on bottom floor and no kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you Sharon for your review. I am disappointed that your stay was not to the standard you expected it to be. However, I feel there are several points worth clarifying.

Your booking was made for you by the Groom of the wedding you were attending. At the time of booking their wedding all of our Bridal Couples are informed that accommodation is split across two buildings and are given the opportunity to view bedrooms on both sides. As the Groom booked several of the rooms attending his wedding he was also informed that we only have two family rooms in the main building and that the majority are in The Brewery House. As such, he requested that the two family rooms he had booked, which contained several of the bridesmaids, be in the main hotel in order to get ready prior to the wedding. He also requested that 4 rooms be available for early check in for specific family members, your room being one of those and your room was available for a 1.00pm check in as requested.

Legally all hotels are required to cater for guests with disabilities. Due to being a Grade II listed building we are unable to install lifts, however access ramps are provided to all main areas of the hotel and ground floor bedrooms are available in The Brewery House. All disabled guests are informed of this at time of booking. As far as I am aware no one in your room suffered from a disability and as you were allocated a ground floor room for your stay I’m not sure how this affected your stay.

As a town centre hotel we do not have access to our own car park, however guests are able to use the Council owned Pay & Display 150 yards from the hotel. As this is normally a 2 hour maximum stay the hotel purchases Parking Permits from the Council which guests can then purchase to allow for all day parking. At the moment we are in a transition period between Permits and a Cashless Parking system where guests will be able to call and pay by card for 24hrs parking without coming to Reception and having to go back to the car to put the Permit in. This means that the Council are sending us a reduced number of permits week by week. Unfortunately they had not sent us enough for the weekend which meant we did run out by 2.00pm. All guests however were advised that they should Pay & Display until 6.00pm as that is when the car park stops charging. This actually works out cheaper than a permit at £2.80 as opposed to £3.50 and a majority of tickets were due to expire at 4.00pm or after meant that it was convenient for people to renew them as this is when guests were down in the Castle Grounds by the car park having photos taken. That you failed to pay for the correct duration on your car cannot be blamed on the hotel.

There are signs in the bathroom requesting that guests put towels they wish to be changed in the bathtub for housekeeping to change. You find these signs in hotels around the world, personally I have never stayed in one without! However, as you state we are more than happy to provide fresh each day. However, as you only stayed one night I fail to see how this is relevant.

We had a gentleman report a dirty bath on check out Sunday morning, I am presuming this was your father. Whilst we apologise if this was the case, we did have a member of the housekeeping team in until 8.00pm on Saturday night who could easily have rectified the situation for him had he informed us earlier.

We work hard to look after all our wedding guests and are upset to hear that you have branded all our staff as “rude and unhelpful” simply because we were unable to cater to your request of moving to the main building. Had we not been fully booked and the 2 family rooms in the main building already in use we would of course accommodated your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We chose the 'amazing wedding package' and it does exactly what it says on the tin! Our wedding day was amazing from start to finish, nothing was to much trouble. The staff were wonderful especially Nicky and Phil, and Mark H the DJ kept everyone dancing!! We can't recommend these guys highly enough, you made the day one we will never forget. Thanks again for everything all our love Jayne and Gary Edkins xxx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Jayne & Gary, thank you for taking the time to post a review, I have passed the review to the team.
We are glad you enjoyed your day and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

What an amazing experience! The staff at the hotel have been exemplary throughout the organisation process and the day itself. The food and accommodation is excellent value. I would highly recommend this venue for a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. I hope we have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What can I say, well from the moment we booked till the time we checked out nothing was to much trouble for the staff. We had good food ( wedding breakfast, buffet and breakfast in the morning). We had the "Amazing Wedding Package" and we were more than happy, you worry when things are done on a budget that the standard wont be high, but we feel as we had real value for money. Decor/Parking/Comfort of beds etc are personal taste or things that can't be catered for to everyones standards, but we feel the staff made us all feel welcome the organisers were easy to talk to and attentive and always were able to see us at times to suit us, the Master of Ceremonies was awesome (the best man was more than happy with seconds on his pudding). He consulted us and guided us on a day when we didnt really have a clue. The serving staff were polite and happy and that makes a difference. Thankyou for making our day as perfect as it could be. Well Done all xxx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you Lee & Sam for your review, we are glad your special day was everything it should be and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have recently held our wedding reception at this hotel, and we really can't fault it! The staff have been attentive and supportive from the day we booked. The whole day went without a hitch and our toast master ensured all our needs were met.
We had half the hotel booked with staying guests and all said they were happy with the service and much needed breakfast :)
Thank you for making our special day stress free

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 885Donna_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you Donna & James for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your day and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Booked a twin room for me and my friend for an over night stay using a discount voucher from Hotel.com so the price was only £41 room only. Checked in at reception and was told our room was 'in the annex'. Thinking the annex was going to be just off the hotel main block, we were surprised to be told that it was across and down the road. We then came to a large old house with gardens and a bowling green out back, directly opposite Tamworth castle. The room consisted of a double and single bed, was clean, tidy and nicely decorated. We had a key to the front door and a room key. There was tea & coffee making facilities in the room and plenty of complimentary toiletries and fresh towels. The hotel bar was back in the main hotel building and was empty (but this was probably due to it being a Tuesday night). There was no onsite restaurant for an evening meal but an Italian restaurant next door was recommended and offered a superb 3 course meal for £12.95. On the whole, this was a great stay in Tamworth. The shops are on the doorstep. There was a market on. There's plenty of pubs and this was a nice cheap hotel with a central location. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainematty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki2404, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Tamworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
1.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
216 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.3 mi away
Plough & Harrow
Plough & Harrow
#11 of 11 in Tamworth
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Lady Bank, Tamworth B79 7NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing