We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“castle hotel”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just stayed at Castle Hotel for a Family wedding. Wouldn't give this hotel any stars. We r a family of five and were put in the brewery house over the road, this was a work-mans b&b. Room shabby tired and whole house needed gutting and very poor standard. Lowest crappiest hotel I've ever stayed in, would have moved but arrived 1 hour before wedding. If u have no standards or have lived as a tramp on the streets then this is a hotel for u.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank duane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleHotelTamworth, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

I am sorry that you have had cause to write such a damning review.

We do not portray ourselves as a luxury hotel our aim however is to provide good service with value for money, which is evident from our many satisfied and returning guests. Our room rates reflect our product and we work hard to provide excellent customer service. This is exactly what attracts many of our bridal couples to host their weddings with us.

Of course, with any wedding the guests all have different levels of expectation and in many cases guests of the bride and groom may sometimes be used to staying in far superior and more expensive accommodation. It is also the same in reverse and I am often told by bridal couples who choose us that they do not think it is fair to their guests to expect them to pay extortionate room rates in expensive hotels when inviting them to their wedding.

I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations but can assure you that your hosts the bride and groom choose our hotel for good reason. When we show bridal couples around, they view all the facilities including our bedrooms prior to them deciding to entrust us with the arrangements for their special day.

We were not informed of your dissatisfaction during your stay and were only aware of your comment that the room wasn't big enough for 5 people. I absolutely agree with this and don't know of many hotels with rooms that are comfortable for 5 people. Whilst I appreciate it would have been more expensive you could, had you wished have booked 2 rooms with an interconnecting door.

I appreciate arriving shortly before the wedding did not allow you time to make alternative arrangements but was surprised under the circumstances to see that you extended your stay to the night after the wedding to spend the day at Drayton Manor Theme Park. Had you made us aware of your dissatisfaction we would of been more than happy to assist in resolving this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

There was quite a few of us that stayed, all the rooms were clean and spacious. All our guests mentioned how lovely they were. All of the staff were friendly and polite. Nothing was to much for them. We booked the Tudor Suite for our wedding. From the moment we enquired right up to the day both wedding co-ordinators Nikki and Heather we're very helpful,polite and friendly. They answered all my emails and enquires quickly. The room was set out exactly how we wanted. All the staff went out there way to make sure our day was perfect. The food was lovely and plentiful, all our guests commented on how nice the food was and the excellent service from the staff, which was second to none. We can't thank the staff enough. With a special thanks to Kian, who was our master of ceremonies. Our day wouldn't have been the same with out him. A massive thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our day perfect and We look forward to coming back to the hotel in the future. Mr & Mrs Smith

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleHotelTamworth, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My son and his new wife (Gareth&Lesley Smith) had their wedding here in the Tudor Suite on the 25th July, we had an amazing time, the staff couldn't do enough for us,it was perfection.The hotel is amazing,the wedding breakfast was great. I just can't give enough praise,our thanks to all of the hotel staff,for working so hard to make it a perfect day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleHotelTamworth, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure looking after you and I am pleased we were able to contribute to a superb day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding day on Friday 25th July in the wedgewood suite & it was truly the most amazing day ever. We was on a budget & found this hotel was suitable for us. The staff were totally amazing from Start to finish & there was always good contact throughout the planning. Every Question was answered & nothing was ever to much trouble.
Our day itself was just magical, Phil in particular was just the best you could wish for...he looked after my new husband & I so well & made us feel so at ease.
The bar staff were friendly & always looked happy which again added to our special day.
I would just like to say that I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to get married & the staff here really work hard to make your day the best they possibly can.
Keep up the good work guys, I am gutted its all over! Will post some pics when I get some from our photographer.
We stayed in the honeymoon suite as part of the wedding package & thought the bed was really comfortable & the room was very clean, breakfast in the morning was lovely too. A perfect end to such a perfect day. Big thankyous from Mr & Mrs Turner.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you Mr & Mrs Turner for your lovely comments, its great to read what a great time you had, it was a pleasure to look after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Me and wife got married at the castle hotel on the 11/8/13. The staff was really great. Food and the room out of this world. The weather was really good for us. The wedding plans was spot on, the wedding host was really great could laugh and joke with.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Williamdallimore82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I got married here on the 4th July 2014. What an excellent choice we made!!! The service was outstanding from start to finish the staff could not have done more for us or our guests. The food was great served quickly and efficiently and there was lots of it!!. The room looked amazing it really had the wow factor the staff worked so hard. Our master of ceremonies was called Phil he was a lovely friendly guy, really professional and so well organized he was instrumental in making our day so wonderful. We would highly recommend the castle hotel for any occasion. Many thanks to all the staff there

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you Dawn & Andrew for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to contribute to your special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We attended a wedding here on Friday 4th July and had a fantastic day. The staff at this hotel were brilliant. They were friendly, efficient and attentive. The Master of Ceremonies, Phil, was outstanding in his organisation and the whole team were really helpful. Best service I have experienced in any hotel for quite some time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your comments Ruth, it's much appreciated, I hope we have the pleasure of looking after you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
1.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
240 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Lady Bank, Tamworth B79 7NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range: £36 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing