We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
765amyb
York, United Kingdom

Don't expect to get any lost property back!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Feb 2017
Hotel is basic and clean enough. Staff however were not particuarly helpful or friendly. Accidentaly left my phone charger in the room on the Sunday morning. Called the hotel on the monday to confirm that it had been handed in and was told to send a stamped, addressed jiffy bag to them which I did the next day, first class. 2 1/2 weeks and 5 phone calls later, having spoken to unhelpful and rude staff, I finally spoke to the "manager" who told me the charger had never handed in and they knew nothing about it. So my charger was basically stolen and not logged as lost property! Poor attitude from the so called manager who insinuated I was lying when I challenged him about the charger being stolen! Won't be using this hotel again if they are going to employ dishonest, rude staff! Formal complaint made to Travelodge headoffice!
Date of stay: February 2017
Room Tip: Just don't bother!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge Tamworth M42, responded to this review
Responded 24 Feb 2017
We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied stay at Tamworth M42 Hotel. Its very disappointing to hear of all the problems you faced during your stay with us. As your experience was not up to our standards, could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with your review to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
GB AccessibleTwn
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Travelodge
  • Algotels
2.6 miles from Travelodge Tamworth M42
Free parking
Premier Inn Tamworth South hotel exterior
PremierInn.com
£41
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.4 miles from Travelodge Tamworth M42
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £108
  • Hotels.com
3.0 miles from Travelodge Tamworth M42
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
2.6 miles from Travelodge Tamworth M42
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £143
  • Hotels.com
3.1 miles from Travelodge Tamworth M42
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.0 miles from Travelodge Tamworth M42
Free Wifi
Room service
PremierInn.com
£41
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
3.0 miles from Travelodge Tamworth M42
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
  • Hotels.com
3.0 miles from Travelodge Tamworth M42
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £104
  • Hotels.com
3.2 miles from Travelodge Tamworth M42
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Room sleeps 4
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.2 miles from Travelodge Tamworth M42
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tamworth
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
444
172
72
36
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
444
172
72
36
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews service station burger king motorway services travel lodge service area moto services drayton manor birmingham airport free parking room was clean excellent value for money room key overnight stop short stay business trip tea and coffee pleasant stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

overall a very pleasant stay , very clean and tidy , and the reception staff were more than polite and helpful , also offering discount on purchases from the shopping mall sited within 2mins walk , double room I had was very spacious with plenty of storage

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 606garethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Tamworth M42, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is an absolute delight to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, especially our very clean, tidy facilities and our team members high level of service. We will ensure the hotel team receives a copy of your kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Friendly staff that are reasonably helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy. There can be a lot of road noise depending on which side of the hotel you are on.

Down sides;
Noise....
If you are on the lower floor the noise from those above walking round can be quite bad.
Smokers,,,,,
Having to walk through the toxic fumes of the ignorant smokers who decide it is their right to smoke directly outside the entrance is ridiculous. How about travelodge take action on this and stop the guests and staff from doing this?
WIFI....
Why are we still being charged for the use of WIFI, this is 2017 not 2000, get with the times and stop trying to rip people off with this.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Tamworth M42, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great that you found your room to be clean and the staff to be helpful during your stay. We're really sorry to learn of your disappointment with our WiFi extra. We do not include the cost of this extra in our room rates unlike some of our competitors as we believe this allows our guests to pay for the services they need so we can continue to offer great room rates. We will be sure to pass on your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Only 10 minutes from the airport, this Travelodge is located at Tamworth Services on the M42. Free parking once you've registered your number plate. Quiet clean room with comfortable bed. Only problem was lack of shower gel by the bath and soap at the sink. sadly you can't phone down to reception anymore to have them filled.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne660
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

This is a Travelodge on a motorway services so don't expect too much; free parking, good access to motorway but you'll have to drive to get food which is an inconvenience

Room - standard, large enough to do a body weight workout in. Good desk size. Shower isn't very powerful but is ok (for a quick stay). Surprisingly little noise from the outside.

Wifi is chargeable or 30mins free

Location - motorway services as name suggests. On site is a Costa, M&S, Burger King, WHSmiths and a Greggs. You will need to drive if you don't fancy any of that; there is a pub nearby next to the Premier Inn

Nearby is also a Morrisons with very cheap fuel

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank superduperhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Tamworth M42, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

We're pleased to learn you had a peaceful stay recently at our Tamworth M42 Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your positive stay with us. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for all of our guests and we're thankful this has been achieved. We will be sure to pass your kind comments to the hotel and we do hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Value for money prime location Costa greggs burger King on the doorstep! Friendly staff clean rooms no noise at all staff very helpful regarding things to do nearby directions etc couldn't fault our stay

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Tamworth M42, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience so it's great you found your room to be clean and comfortable and the staff to be friendly during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews