We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drayton Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here whilst working in Tamworth and have found it to be an excellent hotel. All the staff are welcoming and friendly. My room was immaculate. The food is superb. What makes Drayton Court stand out is it has all these qualities whilst remaining informal and homely.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

This lovely hotel has all the amenities you could wish for. On arrival we were greeted by the host who was happy to provide us with complimentary tea and coffee and home made cake. The room was in immaculate condition with all the features in Georgian style.

A bottle of wine and chocolates were left in our room which I thought was a nice touch.

Breakfast was in the restaurant and they were able to accommodate you with exactly what you wanted as both myself and my husband have particular needs i.e. vegetarian/lactose intolerant, so eating meals can be challenging but the chef was happy to work with whatever we needed.

If you want to have a break where you feel spoilt and relaxed, this is the place. I especially loved the hotel accommodation which was top notch and was in keeping with the age of the property.

This was a nice get away from it all, even for those going other places, I would recommend this as a great stop over.

Room Tip: If you like original features and really old properties then you will love this, the hotel has chara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieLeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and the receptionist did everything to ensure we could check into our rooms.

Rooms were very spacious, we had to have a travel cot put in which they were more than happy to accommodate, however we did have a room at the front of the hotel which was subject to excessive traffic noise until quite late and began early in the morning.

Evening meal was fantastic as was breakfast both freshly cooked and plenty there.

One minor point I would make is that the. Sat majority of people staying at the hotel would be travelling with young children for the theme park which is all of 5 minutes drive away, however the hotel I wouldn't say is completely family friendly. The hotel is very quaint and as such ornaments are dotted around easy reach for a 2 year old, and some of the steps to the restaurant and stairs are quite on the high/steep side.

I appreciate it is parents responsibility to look after their children, and based on my other thoughts of the hotel I wouldn't think twice about going back if ever we visit Thomasland again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank ellttck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A very welcoming hotel. Excellent breakfast and evening room. Room furnished to a high specification. Staff who care and want your stay to be a good experience.

Ideally situated for Drayton Manor and Thomas Land. Only a 3 minute drive.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and heard traffic. Therefore would request a room away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

On the 14th June 2014 we held our first get-together for our family who are scattered across the UK. 45 prople attended with 24 staying for one or more nights in the Drayton Court Hotel. Everyone was warmly received and made to feel welcome. the main event was a lunchtime and afternoon party held elsewhere. come the evening we were a little weary but came together to dine at the hotel. This was a great success with food and wine (+ children's drinks) adding to our celebration.

We would commend the Drayton Court Hotel to anybody who wants to avoid the formality and meanness of the main hotel chains. The staff all went the 'extra mile' to meet ou needs and nothing was too much trouble. I wish more hotels were like this. It was so nice we all hope to repeat our gathering in Tamworth next year - and stay at the Drayton Court Hotel again!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well fitted and comfortable but don't expect a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and tidy, the rooms were exceptionally well presented and comfortable.
Very good food lovely little bar room.
a very welcoming venue I hope to visit again soon.
staff were very polite, friendly and helpfull, really cant fault any part of my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We travelled from Canada for a family holiday for the past two years and have stayed at this great hotel each visit. We love the old British feel of the hotel. The hotel is very clean, has comfortable beds and the home cooking is wonderful. What sets the hotel apart from other hotels we have stayed at in the past is the wonderful staff. They go beyond to make you feel like your at home. The hotel checks off all the boxes that a traveller looks for in a holiday destination.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannygomes92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
0.7 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,763 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
1.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#6 of 11 in Tamworth
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
2 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
72 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Belfry Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drayton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Court Hotel

Address: 65 Coleshill Street, Tamworth B78 3RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range: £90 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drayton Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drayton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing