We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a local Pub, trying to give good value at very modest prices”
Review of Pretty Pigs

Pretty Pigs
Ranked #123 of 154 Restaurants in Tamworth
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This is a local Pub, trying to give good value at very modest prices”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

There's an old saying 'You get what you pay for'. That probably sums up Pretty Pigs quite well, but not in an unkind way. We were a 3 generation visiting family group of 6 and, having been told of this pub by locals, dropped in at around 12 mid-day unbooked, for a Sunday Lunch.
Perhaps timing helped because, being quite early, we were ahead of the rush.
Our general reaction was that this was quite a reasonable range of good food, mainly linked to a carvery, where the staff team appeared to be trying hard to look after their customers.
There's nothing pretentious about Pretty Pigs - but then as a good local pub - that's fine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cretelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    68
    56
    65
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty Pigs”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Good price but you get what you pay for. The veg on the carvery always seems to be dry. The meat is acceptable but the price is fairly cheap. I would go again but at the begining of service not half way through the afternoon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeC602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good but avoid the ice cream from machine”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My girl friend and I went for Sunday lunch today and it was very good, but the veg was a little on cold side. Staff were very good and polite. Meal was great until I decided to have a dessert, the bottomless ice cream - which is a self dispenser from a machine at the top end of the carvery. When it came out of the machine it didn't look all that appetising and the menu claims its meant to be Cornish style! Not! The ice cream was basically a cross between a vanilla flavoured sorbet and ice cream, which I think you can imagine is a bit watery and icey when in the mouth. So this put a downer on my visit as it was nothing like Cornish ice cream or even as good as the cheapest ice cream from a supermarket. So all in all I recommend its worth a visit for lunch but avoid the ice cream at all costs. If its an ice cream you want for afters then when you've driven off pop in for a cornetto at tesco express instead. Cheers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank milesfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch and it was packed ..got a couple of drinks and paid for the carvery over the bar ...The next thing was finding a table luckily we got one though it was dirty when we sat down but it was quickly cleared. We went to the carvery and the chefs carved us our meat ..There were 4 to choose from. ..then you helped yourself to your veg and potatoes ...its fair to say my plate was full. ...The food was ok but nothing special..so the meal was over in about 30 mins and cost £20 (1 course 1 drink each )..overall ok but nothing special

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Take a torch!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a cheap carvery, you get a good choice of meats and vegetables, but the condition of the vegetables is very hit and miss. If you are lucky enough to hit it when the fresh vegetables have just been brought out, you are on to a winner, otherwise you could be subject to veg that has been sitting there for hours! (Gravy, mushy peas and sauces are the same!) The food is otherwise ok, nothing special, but what do you expect for less than £4?
The management really ought to go into their dining area after dark! For the past two week there have been 3 light bulbs not working making what is already a very dark room, dangerously dark. I have some walking difficulties and managed to trip over a chair leg walking back with my meal. Heaven knows how the waiting staff write out orders!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pretty Pigs also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Pretty Pigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing