We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pretty Pigs

Pretty Pigs
Ranked #123 of 154 Restaurants in Tamworth
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Always a great carvery, decent price, nice views from garden when the wether is good. Can get busy, but this is a good sign, can't fault the place

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    68
    54
    63
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Always a good plateful here, excellent value, and helpful staff.
THE WEEKEND BREAKFASTS ARE TO DIE FOR !!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is a local Pub, trying to give good value at very modest prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

There's an old saying 'You get what you pay for'. That probably sums up Pretty Pigs quite well, but not in an unkind way. We were a 3 generation visiting family group of 6 and, having been told of this pub by locals, dropped in at around 12 mid-day unbooked, for a Sunday Lunch.
Perhaps timing helped because, being quite early, we were ahead of the rush.
Our general reaction was that this was quite a reasonable range of good food, mainly linked to a carvery, where the staff team appeared to be trying hard to look after their customers.
There's nothing pretentious about Pretty Pigs - but then as a good local pub - that's fine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cretelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Pigs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Good price but you get what you pay for. The veg on the carvery always seems to be dry. The meat is acceptable but the price is fairly cheap. I would go again but at the begining of service not half way through the afternoon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeC602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good but avoid the ice cream from machine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My girl friend and I went for Sunday lunch today and it was very good, but the veg was a little on cold side. Staff were very good and polite. Meal was great until I decided to have a dessert, the bottomless ice cream - which is a self dispenser from a machine at the top end of the carvery. When it came out of the machine it didn't look all that appetising and the menu claims its meant to be Cornish style! Not! The ice cream was basically a cross between a vanilla flavoured sorbet and ice cream, which I think you can imagine is a bit watery and icey when in the mouth. So this put a downer on my visit as it was nothing like Cornish ice cream or even as good as the cheapest ice cream from a supermarket. So all in all I recommend its worth a visit for lunch but avoid the ice cream at all costs. If its an ice cream you want for afters then when you've driven off pop in for a cornetto at tesco express instead. Cheers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank milesfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pretty Pigs also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Pretty Pigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing