We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”
Review of The Gungate

The Gungate
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gungate
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights last week and found the hotel to be everything we expected it to be.
We stayed in room 10,it was lovely,clean and comfortable.The freshly cooked breakfast was excellent,as well as a choice of cereals,juices,yogurt,grapefruit,toast.The owner,Sue,was very friendly and helpful,telling us of all the interesting places to visit locally,town only 5 minute walk and close to nice pubs to eat out in the evening(The Riftswood,The Globe).Nothing was too much trouble for her and the extra little touches made everything even nicer.We would definately recommend it and we will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Room 10 was lovely,quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrahamSue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T, Owner at The Gungate, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you and I am so pleased we met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    8
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
11
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

From even before our arrival, Sue was friendly, very approachable and accommodating, who very kindly went beyond a hoteliers role.
We came to stay on 9 August for our Anniversary and on arrival to the room -- was a bunch of flowers and bottle of fizz -- that my husband had arranged with Sue on pre booking as a surprise to me.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tahitispecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T, Owner at The Gungate, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review and it was no trouble to arrange the extras for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here recently for five nights, absolutely brilliant had the best sleep ever !!!!! The Owner Sue Tipton was brilliant there was not nothing that she would,nt do to make your stay very comfortable, the room was spotless and I mean spotless you could eat your dinner of the floor, the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic everything was cooked the way I asked and was very filling as it lasted me through until dinner in the evening.The towels were very fluffy against your skin. Will definitely be staying here again and I do recommend this Hotel to everyone. And its definitely good value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepper907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just arrived home from our short stay at the Gungate Hotel and only wish it could have been longer!

Right from our lovely welcome on the first night, to our superb breakfast the next morning, we felt really at home. Our room was very spacious and very, very comfortable - really fluffy towels - just what I like!

Sue was most welcoming and very helpful and we will certainly stay again on our next visit to Tamworth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have literally, just got home after a night's stay at the Gungate Hotel. Our room was no9 in the coach house. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a good night's sleep. Sue was friendly and welcoming. We chose here, as we were attending a wedding at another hotel down the road, in the main part of Town, which is noisy, due to the night life, so The Gungate was perfect, as it is away from the noise.

The 2 of us chose to pay the extra for a full English breakfast, which was hot, plates were warm and there was just the right amount of food.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Well done Sue, keep up the good work! x

Room Tip: Not sure on this one. I would say, ask for a coach house room, which is out the back of the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harleygirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked into this hotel as on a visit to the national memorial arboretum. On arrival our party was greeted by Sue, and after being shown to our rooms, we were given tea or coffee in the lounge
before going to look around Tamworth, only a short walk away. The hotel was spotless with a nice homely feel. The breakfast was well cooked, hot and plentiful, could not ask for more. The beds were comfortable.Sue was very helpful and put herself out, will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank solentvets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was going to e-mail Sue to thank her for the lovely time we spent at the Gungate but decided to make my thanks and comments public instead. I booked this as an alternative to the Holiday Inn (where we had stayed previously) as we were going to Thomas Lad for my son's third birthday. Sue made our weekend. She was so kind, putting a Thomas quilt on my son's bed and scouring the shops on saturday for a 'One Direction' one so my daughter wouldn't feel left out. What a nice welcoming host, she made sure we had everything we needed - a lovely lady.

The family room was large, quiet, spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed with a big TV and games for the children. The hotel is in a smashing location on mins away from Drayton Manor and the lovely Twycross Zoo.

The breakfast is delicious and sausage in particular is wonderful. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Tell Sue exactly what you require in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DEBORAH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
2.3 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
1.9 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
212 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gungate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gungate

Property: The Gungate
Address: 62 Upper Gungate, Tamworth B79 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gungate 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Gungate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing