We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bank House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bank House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights, I don't normally write reviews but felt compelled to after staying at the Bank House Hotel.

The only positive for this hotel is that it is fairly close to Alton Towers. Other than that, there are no positives whatsoever.

We booked two nights here online, upon our arrival the first thing we noticed was a strange smell in the hotel. It was a cross between the smell of an old peoples home and rotten vegetables.

There is a strange pub downstairs as well which is full of locals that just drank all day, we did not feel welcome at all. We had to walk through this pub to get to the reception area.

When we spoke to the receptionist there was no record of our booking and we had to faff about for fifteen minutes whilst a room was arranged.

The room we were given was called Admiral Gardner or something similar. The decor exceptionally out of date and the room was fitted with a horrible dirty green carpet which was probably put down when the building was first built.

There was carpet in the bathroom which was always soaking wet as the shower screen was tiny. There wasn't a proper shower either which was annoying, just a shower head over the taps so it took ages to get the water in the shower to a nice temperature.

The sink in the bathroom was dirty and in need of a good clean. This is something that is easy to resolve and the fact that the sink was dirty suggest a lazy attitude.

The bed was exceptionally uncomfortable and the bed sheets were unclean.

When we checked out the receptionist did not ask about our stay and demonstrated very poor customer service.

There is also a Thai restaurant inside the hotel. We did not eat here due to the uncleanliness of the hotel and it was empty both nights we stayed at the hotel which was again off putting.

I have read some positive reviews of this hotel and can only assume that these are written by people with some kind of connection to the hotel. This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robertobaggio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    32
    29
    13
    25
See reviews for
22
46
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting Alton towers it was about a 15 min drive away so it was close enough.
The rooms really need updating, the good thing was they were clean especially the bathroom. We didn't really expect much as we only paid about £60. The shower wasn't very good as it didn't have much power. Another big problem was you could hear everything in the room next door :( so you felt you had to be quiet.
The lady that checked us in and out was lovely and helpful.
Overall this hotel is really only okay mainly due to the look of it everything about it is very old fashioned.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sminniemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

As a couple we have used both the hotel and the Thai Restaurant and were very happy with both.We booked the whole hotel for our wedding and all the guests were happy with their rooms. Those that had breakfast were very pleased.We stayed in the bridal suite which was very nice.
The restaurant is quite nice. Yes the decor could do with improving but I have never had a bad meal here.The fishcakes are to die for.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank stokiecarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

First ever review in trip advisor but this hotel is so awful I had to write one. Here is a list of problems:

1. Only had us down as one person even though the email confirming booking said two people

2. The stairs are steep and slope away from you meaning you feel you have to lean forward to stop yourself falling down the stairs. especially dangerous when you are carrying a lot of luggage

3. None of the floors in the hotel or rooms seem to be level

4. Room isn't big enough for 2 people and their luggage (room 9). Wardrobe is behind the TV stand with only a small gap in which to access it.

5. Window will open but it is either all or nothing as it seems to close itself during the night.

6. The shower is nothing but a trickle and useless for anyone over 6 feet tall.

7. The distance between the bathroom floor and getting in and out of the shower is close to a foot, with no step to aid you and no non-slip flooring

8. Double glazing is non-existent

9. The mattress is too soft as well are the pillows so you always feel like you are going to to roll straight out of bed - very difficult to get comfortable.

10. Extractor fan is disgusting. Looks like it has never been cleaned of all the dust that has accumulated in it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Uttoxeter hotels

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Agreed that the décor leaves something to be desired and the waitress was dressed in jeans but the food was probably the best Thai meal I've had outside Thailand. We dined using a groupon voucher and will definitely be going back. Compared with many so called Thai restaurants the normal prices were certainly competitive but need to be considering the décor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve125R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I ate in the Thai restaurant last week with my friend. It was absolutely terrible.
The restaurant lacks reasonable decor of any description and looks like a shabby back street cafe, it also had a really bad smell too. The waitress didn't look like one at all. She was dressed in a thick coat with a furry hood which remained zipped up for the entire time we were there, although it was not cold. Our food was disgusting and inedible, nothing like Thai at all and my friend's meal was not as described on the menu - lacking ingredients. They couldn't even get the drink right . I ordered a diet coke and it tasted like soda water. We told the waitress that it was terrible and she laughed it off.
Totally disgusting. We ended up sitting in the chippy at the top of the high street and their chips were great!
My advice? Go hungry rather than eat here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsofholsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had a Thai meal here with a Groupon deal (£14.00 for two). The meal was worth £7.00 each but wouldnt have wanted to pay full price as it was nothing special. The restaurant lacked atmosphere and the music was mind numbing as there was only one track that played on a loop throughout our meal. Staff were friendly but numbers on menu had to be given rather than just asking for the meal option? Not a very big menu either but managed to find something that would suffice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttoxeter
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
10.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadows Way Guest House
Meadows Way Guest House
#2 of 10 in Uttoxeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hare & Hounds Inn
Hare & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in Stramshall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Hotel

Property: Bank House Hotel
Address: Church Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a central location in the historic town of Uttoxeter, just 20 minutes from Stoke on Trent, this charming Georgian-era Hotel offers free Wi-Fi access and secure on-site parking.The property was built in 1777 and served as the first bank in Uttoxeter. To this day the Hotel still retains many of its original features, such as the bank vault and a beautiful unsupported oak staircase. With friendly staff and a thoroughly warm welcome, it’s the perfect base from which to explore the area.Each of the 17 en-suite bedrooms are individually styled and furnished. Emphasising both comfort and relaxation, they all include free Wi-Fi access, TV, cosy bedding, telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. Double, Twin and Family options are available and for those seeking a touch of added luxury, they also offer elegant four poster rooms.Although the Hotel does not have its own restaurant, the delectable ‘Thai at The Bank’ has set up home in the Hotel, offering freshly prepared, authentic Thai food served in a welcoming atmosphere.The Hotel is located in the town of Uttoxeter, just a 25 minute drive from Junction 14 off the M6. Convenient and accessible, it is just 20 minutes from Stoke-on-Trent, 30 minutes from Derby and 45 minutes from Nottingham. Each city has excellent transport links and there is also a local train station at Uttoxeter, just a brief walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is just a little over a 30 minute drive away.The town of Uttoxeter is perfectly positioned to make the most of all that the surrounding area has to offer. The town itself is home to the famous Uttoxeter Racecourse, just a 10 minute walk from the Hotel. The vibrant city of Derby offers a fine cathedral, the fabulous Westfield Shopping Centre and some of the best real-ale houses in Britain. Whilst Stoke-on-Trent, renowned as the World Capital of Ceramics, offers over 25 pottery factory shops as well as a wonderful selection of award-winning museums and visitor centres. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Staffordshire Moorlands provides excellent walking and beautiful scenery. There are also plenty of nearby historic attractions including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Tutbury Castle. For unparalleled family fun, escape to Alton Towers, Britain’s most popular theme park. With its adrenaline fuelled rides, blockbusting attractions, amazing live shows and scenic gardens, there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Hotel Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing