We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay *****”
Review of High View Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uttoxeter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High View Cottage
Ranked #2 of 8 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Had an over-night stay after visiting Alton Towers Scarefest. Found easily after a long day, and they were very accommodating about a late check-in. The cottage was lovely and the owners are warm and friendly with clean comfortable rooms. Fantastic breakfast in the Morning. Great *****

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlatherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

Lovely rooms and great breakfast. Great location for Alton towers and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. Very clean! Would stay again and again and will always recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at High View Cottage in August 2011 as it was a good base for Alton Towers and other attractions nearby. Our room was really cute and was a great base for our stay. It was excellent value and in a lovely country setting. The family were really nice and breakfast was good. I would recommend this as a really good value place to stay and we will return!

Uttoxeter is a little limited when you are looking for somewhere to eat. There are lots of Indian restaurants but not a lot else other than Frankie and Bennys and Wetherspoons.

Room Tip: All rooms look nice on the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stringfellow08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just got back from an overnight stay at High View. The setting is superb and the walk across the gravel car park is very English.
Very warm,friendly welcome which is obviously genuine (we were late having been to see the horse racing at Uttoxeter). Our room was very nice with some great touches and was very clean (always a good sign). The trip into town was just a bit too far to walk but the pub we found (the Dapple Grey) was good value at 2for1 (£20 including drinks).
Breakfast was one of the best I can remember. Hot and cooked to perfection with great toast and pleasant chat with Chris it really set the day off on the right foot.

All in all I would have to say "highly satisfied" with our choice and would choose to go here again when we next visit Uttoxeter.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassiethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

i have stayed at this B&B twice now and they are always amazingly friendly, the rooms are immaculate, the location is perfect for alton towers and you get a fry up and a continental breafast for the very low price. one of my favourite features of this B&B is that all of the rooms are apart of an annex rather than in one house, the only very small detail that bothered me was that our neighbours were quite loud.
i will deffinately be paying this place another visit, also they are gay friendly for all those other people out there that just like to make sure

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Having stopped here several times throughout the year I have not been let down once. Chris and Judith are welcoming and friendly. They know how to make a home from home.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and the little extras have been thought of; bottle openers, a selection of DVDs, playing cards and board games.
Most importantly though the rooms are spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nesspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Easy to find. 20 mins easy drive to alton towers theme park. owners helpful. they allow you to stay one night rather than two (as most other b and b's near A.T. insisit on). the rooms were delightful - nicely decorated, clean, tidy, comes with towels, kettle, tea coffe, dvds, flat screen tv, even a four poster bed! shower was piping hot and powerful. even a foldaway bed was really comforable - with what felt like a memory foam mattress. local information booklet about places to eat, visit, drink, shop really helpful. breakfast was plentiful and hot - we ate far too much! more like a five star than a four star. next time we go to the theme park we will NEVER consider going anywhere else! Book early! check in was 4 till 9 ish. they discouraged late check in for fear of disturbing other guests. we had two rooms closest to car park and they had an interconnecting door so the space available was amazing.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasu452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uttoxeter hotels
1.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lanes Guest House
Lanes Guest House
#1 of 8 in Uttoxeter
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hare & Hounds Inn
Hare & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in Stramshall
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Way Guest House
Meadows Way Guest House
#3 of 8 in Uttoxeter
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bank House Hotel
Bank House Hotel
#7 of 8 in Uttoxeter
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High View Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High View Cottage

Address: High View Toothill Road, Uttoxeter ST14 8JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High View Cottage lies on the outskirts of Uttoxeter within easy distance of the town centre yet located in a quiet rural area enjoying views to the Weaver Hills and Derbyshire. Ideal for Alton Towers and Uttoxeter racecourse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High View Cottage Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing