We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”
Review of High View Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uttoxeter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High View Cottage
Ranked #2 of 8 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my daughter for two nights whilst visiting Alton Towers. Lovely clean rooms and delicious breakfast. Would definitely stay here again. Great value bed and breakfast and friendly hosts. Only 20 minutes from Alton Towers

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at High View Cottage for 1 night following a day out at Uttoxeter races.
The hosts Judith and Chris could not have been nicer or more helpful. We arrived quite early in the morning and Chris even drove us the the racecourse himself saving us getting a taxi which was extremely good of him. The room was lovely, not in the main house but a separate outbuilding which made it feel more like a little home rather than encroaching on their personal space. It was very clean and tidy and we had a very comfortable night.
We had a lovely breakfast the following morning, there was everything you could want, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cereal, toast and of course a good old full English cooked by Chris which was excellent.
If we are out that way again I would definately stay there and would highly recommend it.
Many thanks !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suezieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had one night at High View Cottage and it was outstanding. We were made very welcome, had a superb nights sleep followed by a smashing breakfast - everything we could possibly have hoped for.

Located a 15 minute walk out of Uttoxeter, it is well located not only for the town but the racecourse too. It's a lovely countryside location so no problem with noise or parking. Our room was not massive but spacious enough and some of the touches were unlike anywhere else we've stayed. Hair dryer, coffee / tea etc you might expect but not DVDs, a torch , clothes brush - brilliant.

high View is a place that cares a lot about their customers and it shows. We will use every time we are in Utto, that's for sure!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We were very fortunate to find this gem.

Managed to book 4 rooms for 7 adults and 2 small children on the day before check in.

Upon arrival we were met with a smile & shown to our lovely rooms. The owners are friendly and accommodating, and the rooms well maintained and equipped - making the stay relaxing.

Being just a stones throw from Alton Towers you can take your time in the morning, enjoy a great breakfast and arrive for opening (subject to the usual traffic through Alton).

I would recommend booking ahead so you don't miss out on staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here for a couple of weeks whilst completing a training course in the area. The owners could not do enough to help and make you feel at home. Set in a tranquil area 5 min from the town. I will defiantly call back if the opportunity arises.

Thank you Chris.

Room Tip: Any, all are well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWB8466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here a few weeks ago just for the night after we got back from Alton Towers, it's such a nice place. Wonderful accommodation, beautiful surroundings. We stayed in the Echos of France room and it was beautiful, the bed was really comfortable. Chris and Judith are so friendly and helpful, they pointed out some great places to eat/drink. Its a perfect location, 10 minute drive from Alton Towers. We didn't walk into town we got a taxi but that was also very cheap! Would definitely stay here again its a lovely place, feels very homey

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed and will not be the last. Rooms are lovely, nicely decorated and comfortable. Beautiful surroundings. Breakfast was lovely and will see you through the day. The owners are lovely and made us feel very welcome. Only a ten minute drive to Alton towers and a few minute walk into town. We will see you again! Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uttoxeter hotels
1.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lanes Guest House
Lanes Guest House
#1 of 8 in Uttoxeter
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hare & Hounds Inn
Hare & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in Stramshall
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Way Guest House
Meadows Way Guest House
#3 of 8 in Uttoxeter
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bank House Hotel
Bank House Hotel
#7 of 8 in Uttoxeter
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High View Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High View Cottage

Address: High View Toothill Road, Uttoxeter ST14 8JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High View Cottage lies on the outskirts of Uttoxeter within easy distance of the town centre yet located in a quiet rural area enjoying views to the Weaver Hills and Derbyshire. Ideal for Alton Towers and Uttoxeter racecourse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High View Cottage Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing