We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and friendly staff”
Review of Robin Hood - CLOSED

Robin Hood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Bovington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Recently visited for a lunch time meal with my friends on Christmas Eve after hearing good reviews and we weren't disappointed. Lovely food and really lovely staff too. Very nice and cosy restaurant with good traditional food at amazing value, will definitely be visiting again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    70
    16
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Busy for a good reason!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We visited in January for a special occasion, the staff were all great, lots of them around too so don't have to wait long if you need anything during your meal, all were helpful and attentive!

The restaurant was full, for the middle of January, in the middle of the week this was not expected but the excellent explained for itself why there wasn't any spare tables! Booking highly recommended, out of 8 meals we couldn't pick a fault between us with the food!

The only thing was that the real open fires made the room too hot... We managed though!

Would recommend ten times over.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgegoodwin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Well accommodated ”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Robin Hood Bramshall
We turned up on spec at the Robin Hood on a Saturday evening in early January expecting to get a table easily.
However the Robin Hood was full and the only table available was a squeeze in the bar area.
Thanks to a very accommodating restaurant manager.
We took it as the reviews on TA were so good.
We were not disappointed. two starters Brie with pecan nuts was apparently excellent as was the home made Thai crab cakes with sweet chilly sauce.
Main courses of pork loins with black pudding & stilton, & steak n kidney pud with vegetables, the maungetout were delicious.
The only thing that let this restaurant down was the conveniences that were the type you'd expect in a city boozer.
We will defiantly be returning hopefully very soon.

Helpful?
Thank Rodders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Off the beaten track but well worth finding!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My friend & I stumbled across this little pub whilst out for a drive. From the outside it does not seem anything special but step into their delightful little dining room and order a meal from a good selection on offer and you won't be disappointed.
Big portions of delicious food with a choice of 1,2 or 3 courses.
We managed 3(!) and the total cost was just £9.95 each. How do they do it?
The two ladies waiting on us were friendly, helpful and efficient. A very enjoyable experience.
Just wished we lived closer to visit more often!
Continued success to Robin Hood & all it's Merry men (and women!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissiella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Excellent food and service, second time I've eaten here and would definitely recommend, it's about 15 miles from where I live but well worth the trip

Helpful?
Thank JoAlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robin Hood also viewed

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Stramshall, Uttoxeter
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing