We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VISIT TO THE SHREW”
Review of The Shrew

The Shrew
Ranked #6 of 66 Restaurants in Uttoxeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Many thanks
Just had an exelent meal Sat 31/05/2014 nothing to much trouble prices just right keep it up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bobyp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina C, Owner at The Shrew, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

It was lovely to meet with you all for the first time on Saturday and we appreciate the fact that you had travelled a substantial distance to come and give us a try. Myself and the staff all commented what a pleasure it was to meet and talk with you and your lovely comments were very much appreciated. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for The Shrew
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have had a couple of meals here now and both times the greeting was really friendly and the meal has been very good. Piping hot and tasty fare.
Recent refurbishments have made it a very welcoming place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank csl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina C, Owner at The Shrew, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for a great review. We've had some lovely feedback regarding the recent refurbishment. It's great to know that all the hard work has been worth it. We're so pleased to hear that our standards of service and food remain high, so Thanks for taking the time to let us know. Hope to see you again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the third time we have been to this country pub/restaurant and to my surprise it had just been re-carpeted and freshly decorated.

Now we were more than happy with the food and pleasant service before but it enhanced the experience.

Don't get me wrong this isn't the Ritz - it is a country pub with a separate restaurant - but it is very good at what it does. An extensive menu, but fear not, these are not pulled complete from the freezer: all are freshly cooked while you wait. The party had venison; sea bass " the best 'Hunter's chicken' ever; steak pie and a curry. Proper chips and separately served vegetables: and there were lots more items on the menu to select from.

The people are extremely pleasant and genuinely make you welcome. No rush to get someone else to the table afterwards! The meal was a social occasion with friends and we lingered.

Puddings also good and excellent value.

Highly recommended. Excellent value. Well worth seeking it out in Kingston, between Abbots Bromley and Uttoxeter

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hedgfud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina C, Owner at The Shrew, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. Your comments are much welcomed and very much appreciated. It's a real team effort here at The Shrew and we're so glad that our customers enjoy what we do. We shall continue to maintain high standards throughout. Thanks once again and we'll see you soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Shrew is a fantastic pub and restaurant. The food tastes great, is well priced, and the portion sizes are very generous.

The welcome from the owners and their team is always professional, friendly and polite.

It is a perfect venue for any occasion, whether as a couple or a family celebrating a birthday!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank england1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina C, Owner at The Shrew, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to review us and for your recent visit to The Shrew. What a lovely surprise we had today finding out we have three more five star reviews. We appreciate all your kind words and it makes us more determined to continue to offer high standards throughout. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Trina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Me & hubby just been for our Sunday lunch like we do each month . Lovely food & warm welcome as usual. Just wanted to comment on on the refurbishment. It looks lovely, nice comfy chairs in bar & restaurant & nice decor. It as been changed but not gone over the top. Keep up the good work & we will see you soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina C, Owner at The Shrew, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for another excellent review. We're so pleased that you like the changes and glad that you found the new furniture comfortable. We've had a lovely response to the refurb and it has made us very proud of what we've achieved and it shows people how serious we are to maintain our high standards throughout. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shrew also viewed

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Shrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing