We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at a Wetherspoons”
Review of The Old Swan

The Old Swan
Ranked #19 of 66 Restaurants in Uttoxeter
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: We offer excellent food and drinks at great value prices. There are regular promotions including our lunchtime Deli Deal (Mon-Fri 12-3pm), Beer & Burger/All Day Everyday Fish & Chips and 5oz Gammon Steak (includes a free drink from a selected menu), Steak Club (Tuesday Noon-11pm), Curry Club (Thursday Noon-11pm) and Sunday Club (Sunday Noon-11pm). Those looking for great value drinks can join us on a Monday for our Monster Monday offer where selected drinks are available from £2.15 each. We have the largest range of drinks in Uttoxeter with an exceptional spirits range, regular and seasonal real ales, quality wines, outstanding real ciders and a selection of World Beers available on tap or by the bottle. Those looking for something truly individual to the pub may also be tempted with one of our Freedom lagers, Four or Pilsner, supplied by Freedom Brewery located only a stones throw away in Abbots Bromley and available in Uttoxeter only at the Old Swan.
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As it was a Monday night it was quiet which we liked. The staff were friendly and quick. Typical bar grub but it was tasty and very reasonable and the first beer was included in the price!

Thank AprilIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Old_Swan_5367, Manager at The Old Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi,
Thanks for your review. We're really glad that we made your first Wetherspoon experience an enjoyable one! We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Stuart Aitken
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went here for a snack, we both had beef baguettes with chips and gravy, very yummy! We will be going back next time we visit Uttoxeter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grangie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Old_Swan_5367, Manager at The Old Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the review. So glad you enjoyed the beef baguettes (I make it a personal mission to have one each week - they are really good!). We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards

Stuart Aitken
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visited this Wetherspoons on a number of occasions as it is local & food is consistently good. Menu is good & have speciality nights, e.g., curry/steak night. Beer, ciders, spirits are extensive in range & reasonably priced. Will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Old_Swan_5367, Manager at The Old Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the kind review. I'm glad you think highly of our food and drinks range. If there's anything you think we should be stocking we're always open to suggestions (if you like gin we've just launched 6 new products that really are top class!). We'll keep doing our best to make sure we've got the best range in town. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards

Stuart Aitken
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

stopped at a hotel near by. went to wetherspoons every night. 2 for 1 or they have special deals every day e.g 'chicken wednesday' Lovely staff and lovely food. Pitchers 2 for £12 too :) Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChloeJoshTyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Old_Swan_5367, Manager at The Old Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad we helped make your stay in Uttoxeter more enjoyable. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Stuart Aitken
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Came here for a second visit. The first one in April was pretty poor. Today's service was very good, staff were friendly and helpful. Not overloaded as they were last time.
The food was delicious , well cooked and tasty.
Would recommend if you are in the area.
Reasonably priced too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adele-H65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Old_Swan_5367, Manager at The Old Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi Adele,

Thanks for leaving a follow up review. It was very kind of you. Please accept my apologies for the delayed response. We take our TripAdvisor reviews very seriously and feedback like yours is invaluable to us. As a people business sometimes we have to accept we don't always get things right. It doesn't happen often but when it does we do make the effort to put things right. I'm very grateful you gave us the opportunity. Do drop by and say hello the next time you're in the area. It would be lovely to have a chat.

Kind regards

Stuart Aitken
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Swan also viewed

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Old Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing