We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
253
8
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
253
8
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubdapple greyalton towersprivate bathroomb and bhomemade marmaladebottled waterdressing gownscereal barshosts were lovelyfull englishplace to staydouble roomcomfortable bednice pubtown centrerace course
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here when visiting Alton Towers. Jan and Chris were very welcoming, friendly and helped make our stay a very pleasurable one. The room was spotless; very comfortable bed and excellent, spotless facilities (Everything that you could need).
The location of the B & B was easily accessible and we found it easily, considering that we were unfamiliar with the area.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend Lanes B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah and Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased you had a good time and that everything was to your liking,Its a shame you couldnt come back the second night and we hope the birthday went ok.We look forward to you visiting us again and will do our upmost to make your stay a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Chris and Jan are the perfect hosts - welcoming, friendly and funny. The house is spotless: the room is welcoming and comfortable with lots of thoughtful, practical touches. The bathroom is the cleanest I have ever come across in a B & B! There is a pub within walking distance and the town centre is just a stone's throw away if you need to pick up bits and bobs. Good selection at breakfast, and cooked breakfast is done to order. We didn't eat any other meals in, but Chris kindly offered to make a packed lunch for our day out to Alton Towers:nothing is too much for these splendid hosts! A dip in the hot tub was very welcome after a long day out. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennyboik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words,we are so pleased you had a good time and everything was up to standard for you.We would love you to visit us again soon and will do our best to make your stay a comfortable one.
Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed here while on business trip. Jan and Chris made me very welcome and I had a comfortable night in a clean, spacious and well-provided room. An excellent meal taken with the hosts, conversation in the hot tub and a massage made a perfect evening. Full marks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SevernRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you Richard very much for your kind review we look forward to to your company in the near future when passing Uttoxeter again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

What a surprise, it was our last night in the UK and what a perfect way to end our trip. Rooms were impeccably clean and spacious , the location was very convenient to the A50 and M1 also easy to find and not far from a shopping centre. We were made to feel very special from the moment we arrived to when we checked out. Not generally a B& B fan but I would definitely go back to this one next time .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi Warren and Monica glad to see you got home safe, thank you both very much for your kind coments and hope when you come back to England you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

For my first B&B they set the standards very high. Jan and Chris are a very welcoming couple who made us feel at home the second we walked through the door. The place is very clean and the option of a massage and use of their hot-tub was the cherry on top. The location is easy to find and very central to the racecourse and Alton Towers. Chris offered to drive us to Alton Towers in the morning, saving us a lot of money on a taxi! I will definitely be returning and taking them up on the offer of a massage! Brilliant nights sleep and a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi Bonnie, thank you very much we are vey happy to have made your stay enjoyable and we hopt to see you again soon.
Jan & Cris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews