We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
253
8
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
253
8
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubdapple greyalton towersprivate bathroomb and bhomemade marmaladebottled waterdressing gownscereal barshosts were lovelyfull englishplace to staydouble roomcomfortable bednice pubtown centrerace course
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here for one night after visiting Alton Towers before moving on to the rest of our honeymoon. Jan and Chris happily met us with our bags leading us to their amazing home. They were so friendly they even gave us a lift to the local pub....Breakfast was fantastic the house was very clean and could not fault them in any way. Would most definately stay here again and recommed to anyone who is visiting the area. Best b&b we have ever stayed in and really lovely people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words,it was such a pleasure to welcome you into our home,and we are still telling everyone about the famous motorcycle star we had staying.We hope you enjoy the rest of your honeymoon and wish you both all the best for the future.We will do our best to come and support you when you are racing.Its a good job you are braver on a bike than you are in Alton towers.
All our best and once again we thank you for your kind review.
Cris and Jan x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at Lanes whilst being on a mini break to the races Jan and Chris were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble!! their guest house is very clean with stunning decor, a real home from home of which you are made very welcome!! We would definatley stay with them again when we go to Uttoxeter again!! Thank you both xx

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room with the king sie bed!! Amazing!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Tina,So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the wonderful review you have given us.We love meeting nice people like you and really hope you return in the not to distant future.It was a pleasure to have you here.
All the best
Jan and Cris .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Excellent little guest house a stones throw from uttoxeter town centre. Both the owners where very welcoming. Spotless throughout. Nice touch with a hot tub. Breakfast was excellent. Bathroom was very nice. I would definitely recommend lanes band b to any of my friends

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Hi Terry thank you so much for your kind review we are so glad you had a good time in our b&b
and hope to see you again soon.We have been very lucky to have had met so many nice people again a big THANKS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed here whilst on business and after reading the reviews I thought there was no way it could be as great as everyone has described, but to the credit of Jan and Chris this is one amazing place to stay.
Top quality finishes throughout and the whole place is clean and feels instantly homely.
I wasn't feeling very well and both Jan and Chris couldn't do enough to ensure I was comfortable, which was massively appreciated. Chilling out in the hot tub is a must to relax after spending hours on the motorway.
Again, breakfast was a real treat, good quality ingredients and well cooked, it kept me going for most of the day.
Jan and Chris really make this a great B&B and could teach the bigger hotels a few things about customer service. I can honestly say that I am looking forward to staying here again next time I am in the area.
Jan and Chris - thanks for being great hosts and welcoming me in to your beautiful home. I enjoyed our conversations and laughed a lot (although now I can't look at a mushroom without smirking!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Hi Michael thank you so much for your wonderful review, we certainly enjoyed your company and I have been giving Jan mushrooms every meal since we saw you, but they are not working yet, We hope you choose to stay with us next time you are in the area and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here when visiting our daughter in cheadle and going to Alton Towers. Jan and Chris , our hosts were lovely nothing was too much trouble for them, we had a beautiful room everywhere was spotless and they had thought of everything you might need from dressing gowns to toothpaste . Breakfast was superb with cereal, yoghrt, breakfast bars, fruit and of course full english, with tea, coffee and orange juice. I would deffinatly recommend Lanes to anyone. Fantastic house, hosts, food and location. Thank you Jan and Chris for making our stay so enjoyable. xxx

Room Tip: The double room with superking size bed, you wont be dissapointed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Ann Marie and Rob,Thank you so much for your wonderful review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come and visit us again when you are in the area.
It is so nice to welcome a family with such a nice pleasant daughter and we hope we made your stay a memorable one.
Jan and Cris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews