We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanes Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanes Guest House
Ranked #1 of 10 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Thank you very much for a wonderful night's stay. A wonderful homely feel to the house as soon as we walked in. Clean and modern. Jan and Chris are really friendly hosts, nothing too much trouble. An excellent breakfast, thank you Jan!!! Would thoroughly recommend this place and will be back.
Mary and Ken

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meg403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you very much Mary and Ken Cris is impressed !! It was a pleasure to have you stay in our home and look forward to seeing you again when you visit Uttoxeter.
Ps i tried the cling film on the eggs and they stuck to it !! you will have to show me how when you return please.
All the best Jan and Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
97
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Lanes B&B whilst we visited Scarefest at Alton Towers. On arrival we were given a tour by Jan & Chris of their immaculate spacious home and were shown to our double bedroom with en-suite. Chris offered to cook us an evening meal and also told us about the local restaurants which were only a short walk away. We decided to eat out at Frankie & Bennie's as we did not want to inconvenience Jan & Chris by cooking us a meal at nine o'clock at night. On return from the restaurant and pub we were offered to use the hot tub which is awesome and well appreciated after a 4 hour drive. Our bedroom did not disappoint and had everything we needed and more. I would recommend for the the few pounds extra to request the king size room if it is available. On the second night my wife jumped in the hot tub again whilst I had a full body massage from Jan which was absolutely amazing and made me sleep like a baby all night. Both mornings we were cooked a full English breakfast to order by both Jan & Chris and both were equally perfect and very filling. The B&B is ideally situated for Alton Towers & the racecourse.

Thank you so much Chris & Jan for welcoming us into your stunning house and making us feel at home. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Dave & Leah xxx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djdave1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and what a bonus that you were lucky in the races!!. We hope when you come back to Uttoxeter race course you will stay with us again.
Best Regards Cris & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as my Hydro Fitness Solutions water fitness teacher training course was 10m. drive away and I wanted to make it my 'special' and 'relaxing' break too. I definitely made the right choice after reading all these wonderful reviews. The week before my husband and I did a practice run and Chris and Jan invited us in for a cup of coffee to view the premises. On arrival I received a very warm welcome and coffee. The breakfast is delicious and also the 3-course homemade dinner by Chris the Chef was 10/10. The most impressing part of the weekend was the fact Chris and Jan opened a bottle of champers/bubbly to celebrate the fact that I had passed my aqua teacher course that day and I needed to relax and unwind. The single room is just like being at home, very cosy with a very fresh and clean bathroom next door. The extras are nice too, with a delicious selection of biscuits, drinks and little personal extras you would not even get in a 5* hotel. I would definitely stay here again, hopefully with my husband next time if we are visiting Alton towers. I am also recommending it to everybody I know including my aqua tutor for his next students who yesterday travelled all the way from the Lake District and London. Jan also sells some exclusive crystals that are worth looking at alongside her massages. Thank you so much Chris and Jan. xx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review Kate, we are so pleased we made your stay relaxing after all the intense work load you had over the two days stay, It was hard but it was worth it as we know you will do well in the future in your new currier.
We wish you alll the very best Cris & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We are collecting racecourses and needed a night accommodation for Uttoxeter races, chose The Lanes from Trip Advisor and very pleased we did so. Lovely surprising large house with excellent large double room with shower all extremely clean and well fitted loved all the crystals on show. Good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful proprietors - we would stay again.
Incidental quite a good result at the races one winner and a couple of places!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much Dave and Leah for your fantastic review, it is having people like you that make running a bed and breakfast so enjoyable and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Our Best Regards Cris & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here for one night after visiting Alton Towers before moving on to the rest of our honeymoon. Jan and Chris happily met us with our bags leading us to their amazing home. They were so friendly they even gave us a lift to the local pub....Breakfast was fantastic the house was very clean and could not fault them in any way. Would most definately stay here again and recommed to anyone who is visiting the area. Best b&b we have ever stayed in and really lovely people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words,it was such a pleasure to welcome you into our home,and we are still telling everyone about the famous motorcycle star we had staying.We hope you enjoy the rest of your honeymoon and wish you both all the best for the future.We will do our best to come and support you when you are racing.Its a good job you are braver on a bike than you are in Alton towers.
All our best and once again we thank you for your kind review.
Cris and Jan x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at Lanes whilst being on a mini break to the races Jan and Chris were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble!! their guest house is very clean with stunning decor, a real home from home of which you are made very welcome!! We would definatley stay with them again when we go to Uttoxeter again!! Thank you both xx

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room with the king sie bed!! Amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Tina,So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the wonderful review you have given us.We love meeting nice people like you and really hope you return in the not to distant future.It was a pleasure to have you here.
All the best
Jan and Cris .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent little guest house a stones throw from uttoxeter town centre. Both the owners where very welcoming. Spotless throughout. Nice touch with a hot tub. Breakfast was excellent. Bathroom was very nice. I would definitely recommend lanes band b to any of my friends

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi Terry thank you so much for your kind review we are so glad you had a good time in our b&b
and hope to see you again soon.We have been very lucky to have had met so many nice people again a big THANKS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttoxeter
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
9.2 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadows Way Guest House
Meadows Way Guest House
#2 of 10 in Uttoxeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bank House Hotel
Bank House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Uttoxeter
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hare & Hounds Inn
Hare & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in Stramshall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanes Guest House

Property: Lanes Guest House
Address: 23 St. Catherines Close | Derby Road, Uttoxeter ST14 8EF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An executive B and B with en suite rooms including tea and coffee, flat screen TV and also offers the use of gym equipment and hot tub, for weary travellers. We also offer full body massage by qualified therapists (extra charges apply). Includes full English breakfast. Evening meal available.Early check in on available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lanes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanes Guest House Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing