We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, convenient, comfortable B&B”
Review of Lanes Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanes Guest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value, convenient, comfortable B&B”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at Lanes B&B for one night in early November as we were attending an evening wedding reception at Alton Towers Hotel. Jan and Chris have a lovely home, and showed us around as soon as we arrived. We stayed in the king room, which was HUGE, with a lovely en-suite bathroom. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Jan even offered us a lift to and from our function at the hotel, we declined as my husband doesn't drink so didn't mind driving us. We were asked to place our orders for breakfast when we arrived, and we weren't disappointed, everything was cooked to order and very tasty. Given its proximity to Alton Towers, I would definitely prefer to stay here over the Alton Towers Hotel, both in terms of value and service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomijosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
thank you so much for your lovely review . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We will try our best to make your next stay even better than the last one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
105
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldridge
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Thanks to jan and cris for making our 20th anniversary sooooo special. An amazing day at the races was followed by fun in the hot tub and a lovely romantic meal just for us! The room was stunning and everything was thought of. Attention to detail is amazing and I can honestly say we had a truly perfect weekend. Cannot recommend highly enough. Xxx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looby98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words and great review, We are so pleased we could help make your anniversary special and we hope to see you in the not to distant future. And we are pleased you enjoyed the hot tub. Hope you choose us for your next anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Uttoxeter train station and to our pleasant surprise was asked if we'd like to be picked up! We also got lifts to Alton Towers twice which again was a very pleasant surprise! We had a lovely stay despite spending most of our time at Alton Towers, Jan and Cris were very kind and generous to us, it felt brilliant to be valued like people instead of customers. Our room was impeccable, it had all essentials we needed and was very clean, warm and cosy! It's safe to stay we would 100% stay at Lanes B and B again and we recommend it to anyone 10 out of 10 from us!
Love, Dania and Reece!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi Dania and Reece, thank you very much for your great review and again we are overwhelmed with the kind comments you and others have given us. We believe that if we welcome and treat people the way we like to be treated , that good will be returned , and we find that this works for us.
We are so glad to have helped and hope to see you again soon Jan & Cris x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I was working in the North West and stayed overnight with Jan & Chris.
The rooms are very clean, the evening meal was great and I had a very relaxed evening and good nights sleep, followed by a great english breakfast. The rooms are modern and clean and everything is provided for a great stay. Jan & Chris will do anything to provide a good stay and it was much better than staying in a boring hotel and it felt like being at home.
Steve D

Room Tip: For most hotels, pic a room at the front, well away from the kitchens fans and waste collection area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi Steve thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so happy you felt so relaxed in our home, and i am glad you liked Cris breakfast as he enjoys cooking so much it is his relaxation were as you know i like to do the tea and toast, not a lot of people mention that ??
Look forwards to seeing you again Jan & Cris x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from a weekend at Alton Towers. Stayed in a superb B&B called The Lanes in Uttoxeter. Read the previous reviews, and couldn't agree more with them all. Jan made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. Showed us around her beautiful house and we instantly felt at home. The main bedroom we stayed in was wonderful - spacious clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was also of a high standard, good choice and cooked very well. We had a really relaxing time in this lovely B&B, and would not hesitate in recommending it. Chris and Gail.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hi Chris and Gail, thank you so much for your wonderfull review we are very happy to here you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
All the Best Cris and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Thank you very much for a wonderful night's stay. A wonderful homely feel to the house as soon as we walked in. Clean and modern. Jan and Chris are really friendly hosts, nothing too much trouble. An excellent breakfast, thank you Jan!!! Would thoroughly recommend this place and will be back.
Mary and Ken

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you very much Mary and Ken Cris is impressed !! It was a pleasure to have you stay in our home and look forward to seeing you again when you visit Uttoxeter.
Ps i tried the cling film on the eggs and they stuck to it !! you will have to show me how when you return please.
All the best Jan and Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Lanes B&B whilst we visited Scarefest at Alton Towers. On arrival we were given a tour by Jan & Chris of their immaculate spacious home and were shown to our double bedroom with en-suite. Chris offered to cook us an evening meal and also told us about the local restaurants which were only a short walk away. We decided to eat out at Frankie & Bennie's as we did not want to inconvenience Jan & Chris by cooking us a meal at nine o'clock at night. On return from the restaurant and pub we were offered to use the hot tub which is awesome and well appreciated after a 4 hour drive. Our bedroom did not disappoint and had everything we needed and more. I would recommend for the the few pounds extra to request the king size room if it is available. On the second night my wife jumped in the hot tub again whilst I had a full body massage from Jan which was absolutely amazing and made me sleep like a baby all night. Both mornings we were cooked a full English breakfast to order by both Jan & Chris and both were equally perfect and very filling. The B&B is ideally situated for Alton Towers & the racecourse.

Thank you so much Chris & Jan for welcoming us into your stunning house and making us feel at home. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Dave & Leah xxx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djdave1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and what a bonus that you were lucky in the races!!. We hope when you come back to Uttoxeter race course you will stay with us again.
Best Regards Cris & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttoxeter
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
176 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
340 reviews
6.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Meadows Way Guest House
Meadows Way Guest House
#3 of 8 in Uttoxeter
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanes Guest House

Property: Lanes Guest House
Address: 23 St. Catherines Close | Derby Road, Uttoxeter ST14 8EF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An executive B and B with en suite rooms including tea and coffee, flat screen TV and also offers the use of gym equipment and hot tub, for weary travellers. We also offer full body massage by qualified therapists (extra charges apply). Includes full English breakfast. Evening meal available.Early check in on available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lanes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanes Guest House Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing