We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect b&b!!”
Review of Lanes Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanes Guest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect b&b!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great couple that own the b&b very nice people! We had the front double bedroom it ws very big and had everything in it so if you did happen to forget anything it was all there for u from hair dryer to deoderant! Breakfast was great, so much choice, also as we stayed 2 nights we could use the hot tub for free if we wanted! Definetly best place to stay near alton towers, we will be back! Thanks again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleycraig16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Ashley and Craig, thank you so much for your wonderful review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come and visit us again when you come back to Alton Towers ect
Our very best Regards Jan & Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
101
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

After a long drive from Barnsley, my partner Tom and I, were welcomed by Jan to Lanes BnB with such friendliness. We were shown to our room which was absolutely huge. The room was spotless with a spacious en suite. The added touch of the cuddly polar bear made it feel so homely! We made use of the hot tub and indulged in a full body massage courtesy of Jan. Our evening meal was cooked by Cris and was one of the best steaks I've eaten! We ate with 2 other guests and had a great time chatting away with everyone. The wine glasses were always full. In the morning Tom and I had a lovely breakfast and went and spent the day at the nearby Alton Towers. Upon our return Jan offered us the hot tub, which we used again to warm up.The evening meal again was cooked by Cris and had a fab time just chatting and laughing with fellow guests and Cris and Jan. A few glasses of wine later, I was ready for bed! Thank you for a wonderful, friendly stay. We will be back again and will definitely try to make the races at Silverstone in July

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LauraHopkins1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
A big thank you for you and Toms company also your review, we had a great couple of days with some lovely people which makes running a bed and breakfast so enjoyable for us.
It was a pleasure to meet two young people so nice as you both.
We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you in Silverstone
Best Regards Cris & Jan xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Now I stay away from home quite regularly so I've seen my fair share of hotels and bed & breakfasts etc but Cris and Jan make Lanes B&B a cut above the rest. From the second I walked in I was made to feel like I was home. The accommodation screams 5 star quality and comfort and Cris's cooking is worthy of a Michelin Star whilst Jan 'supervises' with effection as you share the stories of the day with a glass of wine in hand. When the three course meal has settled you're invited to take a dip in the glorious hot tub followed by an exquisite all over body massage. After a good nights sleep in a very clean and comfortable bed you're ready to tackle the new day feeling like a million dollars. Exceptional service from an exceptional couple.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David5174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Dave,we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the wonderful review you have given us.We love meeting nice people like you and really look forward to your return in the not to distant future.It was a pleasure to have you join us in our home it was a very enjoyable evening for us to
All the very best Cris & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Bob and I stayed here over the weekend, it was a present from our daughter, with a day at Uttoxeter races. We arrived early not expecting to be able to book in, however we were met at the door by Jan and Chris who told us to come in as our room was ready. We were instantly made to feel relaxed and welcome, we were shown around their beautiful home, it was immaculate with amazing decor, our room was wonderful with a huge king size bed, it had everything you could need , tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits even bottled water, in the drawers there was a hairdryer, straighteners and styling brush and in the wardrobes were towelling robes and slippers all for guests to use, the ensuite bathroom was pristine and was stocked with shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste etc. It was more like a 5* than a B and B. There was even a hot tub downstairs if you wanted to use it. The breakfasts were great, and I have to say that the marmalade made by Chris's Dad was the best I have ever tasted. Jan and Chris are a lovely, friendly couple and nothing is to much trouble for them. We cannot recommend this wonderful B and B highly enough and will certainly book again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammybob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Bob and Pamela, thank you so much for your wonderful review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come and visit us again when you come back to the race course and maybe bring Emma next time.
It is so nice to welcome nice people into our home and we hope we made your stay a memorable one.
We look forward to meeting you agin soon Regards Cris & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The owners Jan and Cris, made me feel very welcome and relaxed right from arriving late after a long journey. The room and facilities including the breakfast was first class, even though I did not use the luxury spa. Nothing was too much trouble and made me feel right at home! I will certainly not hesitate to stay with them again with my family as Alton Towers is only 6 miles down the road! The bathroom which I had sole use was excellent especially the large overhead shower. I recommend them highly for staying away on business!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Geoff, a bid thank you for your kind words we are so glad we could help make your stay on business enjoyable and we both look forward to when you come back with your family for Alton Towers.
We hope the boys liked the gift you took them home !
Look forward to your return Cris & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Diane and I stayed with Jan and Cris over the week-end and had a great time. We felt at ease immediately as we were shown around and we could see the house was immaculate! Decor is great, especially those sculptures! Took the plunge ( literally) and spent a while in the hot tub. My aching back/hip just melted away and I would recommend this therapy to all who visit. Finally, great breakfast and try to grab the last of Peter's marmalade while it lasts. Yum yum!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you David for your kind words and great review, We are so pleased we could help make your stay special and we hope to see you in the not to distant future. And we are pleased you enjoyed the hot tub. Hope you choose us again when you are next in our area !
We hope all goes well with your op Best Regards Cris & Jan
(PS Peter has given us some more of his home made marmalade so were okfor a while ).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had an overnight stay with Jan & Cris while visiting our Daughter who lives in Uttoxeter. Another Daughter had previously stayed with them after finding them on Trip Advisor and recommended them to us. All the reviews are spot on - Jan & Cris made us very welcome, a lovely friendly couple. The house is immaculate, very comfortable with everything you need and more. Breakfast was very good - and the Marmalade!! Has to be sampled 5*.
All in all - a B & B not to miss. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L, Owner at Lanes Guest House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you so much Tina for your fantastic review, it is having people like you that make running a bed and breakfast so enjoyable and we hope to see and your family again in the very near future.
Our Best Regards Cris & Jan
(PS Peter is so pleased you loved his marmalade)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttoxeter
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadows Way Guest House
Meadows Way Guest House
#2 of 8 in Uttoxeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bank House Hotel
Bank House Hotel
#7 of 8 in Uttoxeter
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanes Guest House

Property: Lanes Guest House
Address: 23 St. Catherines Close | Derby Road, Uttoxeter ST14 8EF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An executive B and B with en suite rooms including tea and coffee, flat screen TV and also offers the use of gym equipment and hot tub, for weary travellers. We also offer full body massage by qualified therapists (extra charges apply). Includes full English breakfast. Evening meal available.Early check in on available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lanes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanes Guest House Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing