We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice service, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Water Bridge

The Water Bridge
Ranked #23 of 64 Restaurants in Uttoxeter
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice service, decent food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Friday night 5:30pm family table booked online easily. Greeted by nice staff, very friendly to our children. Food decent, good value, refils of soft drinks appreciated.

Helpful?
Thank RLBAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    63
    43
    30
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Eat here last night with my gourmet card. Pre ordered my T-bone steak. Glad I did, as last one they had put by for me.

Good was good, waitresses were pleasant and efficient.

I shall be back. I would recommend to other. We certainly did not have any problems or any negativity.

Thanks for a nice meal and compliments to the manager on having a great team

Helpful?
Thank Fudge2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK/Antigua
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Should have been OK, but really wasn't”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had pretty low expectations - it's a pub with food attached to a Premier Inn, but this one managed to not even reach the average mark.

We were a largish party - 10 people - BUT we had booked a table, and agreed to a slightly later time than we wanted to make things easier for them. Curiously, we'd had to book by walking over and doing it in person as the hotel front desk were unable to do this for us - they said they were 'not able to do so at present' which would suggest there have been problems in the past.

Having booked didn't make much difference, our table wasn't ready even at the revised time, and when it finally was, consisted of a large round table, with another smaller round table pushed up against it. Not easy to sit at, and certainly not easy for conversation.

It took another 20 minutes for an order to be taken, and then another hour for food to actually arrive - which really was pretty poor given that the place was emptying out by then - it's clearly a popular spot for families and most of the children were presumably heading for bed.

When the food finally did arrive, it really wasn't very good. Two meals of the ten had to be sent back, one was cremated, another stone cold. The rest were simply indifferent, and it's hard to do a poor job with a burger and chips.

Sloppy service throughout - though I suspect this is largely down to a lack of even the most basic of training rather than poor attitude. It took an extra 20 minutes to even pay the bill as the staff had disappeared, and the one that then did arrive seemed completely unaware of what was going on. We could easily have simply left without paying.

Shame, as these are usually pretty reasonable value and reliable. This one, however is certainly not an experience to be repeated.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mizgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“good, standard pub grub”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

been here a number of times on route to Alton Towers with the little ones and it's always good value, clean and friendly... recommended

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spaciecadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very pleasant”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This restaurant used to be the 'racecourse' and was renovated recently, the renovation has worked well, the premises is now tasteful and understated, the food is 'ok' nothing spectacular but reasonable for the price, do not expect Michelin star type food, but the prices are fairly cheap
the best thing about the water bridge is its location, on a main road with only a budget hotel on site people have to drive there so there are no drunken idiots in football shirts wandering in off the street

a nice afternoon out

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dannyharrowven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Water Bridge also viewed

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Stramshall, Uttoxeter
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Water Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing