We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£440
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
No prepayment needed
Priceline
£440
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Go to your Happy Price
Official Site
£440
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
George I
London, United Kingdom

Core memories made at Pennhill Park!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Feb 2024
Me and my girlfriend recently stayed at Pennyhill Park for one night as a Christmas gift to each other. We decided to arrive early and park the car in the car park then venture off for some lunch off site, when we arrived back via Uber we went to check in which was a very easy process and the very kind receptionist even offered to take us in the golf buggy to collect our luggage from the car which was going the extra mile.

We checked into a traditional room (Rhododendron) which was a lovely room with a grand four poster bed and a lounge area in front of the TV. We both really loved this room and it felt special, the room has a coffee machine and regular amenities. You will also find robes which are very well sized and flip flops to take to the spa. The bathroom was very nice and had a bath with a TV screen and had a high pressure shower. The room felt really comfortable and spacious.

The spa is located outside of the main mansion and is a short walk from reception and is very easily accessible. The spa is open late into the evening and is absolutely exceptional on day one. We had no treatments booked but still had lots to do. My personal highlights being the hydrotherapy pool and the laconium. The ballroom pool is beautiful and you can hear music below the water surface. On day 2 we used the Spa before breakfast for an early morning swim and then after breakfast had the Mud experience booked, this was a wonderful and unique treatment which will leave you with very smooth skin.

The breakfast at Hillfield was also exceptional with a range of on menu dishes and as it was Pancake day I decided to go for the Pennyhill pancakes which was a very good choice. There is also a range of pastries, meats and cheeses to choose from.

Our check out experience was also very good. Throughout our stay every member of staff made our stay extra special and we both can't wait to come back very soon for another stay!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graham Copeman, General Manager at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 28 Mar 2024
Dear georgei253,
Thank you for your review! I'm so pleased you had a great welcome from the team who could assist you with your luggage using the buggy. We have very recently refurbished Rhododendron, so I'm really glad you found the room to be so lovely! It sounds like you had a truly wonderful experience across the spa and hotel, and we hope we can welcome you back soon!
Kind regards, Graham Copeman, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
ID4 bedroom
PremierInn.com
£46
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
1.2 miles from Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£440
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £440
  • Official Site
    £440
  • Skyscanner.com
    £440
0.0 miles from Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £72
  • Lol.travel
    £69
  • Priceline
    £70
1.4 miles from Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £132
3.0 miles from Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £93
  • Vio.com
    £89
  • Priceline
    £91
3.4 miles from Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    £28
  • Agoda.com
    £25
  • Algotels
    £51
2.1 miles from Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
PremierInn.com
£41
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
2.1 miles from Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
External View
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £86
  • Priceline
3.3 miles from Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £115
  • Booking.com
3.9 miles from Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bagshot
Reviews (3,283)
Filter reviews
3,285 results
Traveller rating
2,228
525
319
138
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,228
525
319
138
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea england rugby penny hill latymer restaurant ice room junior suite sandwiches michelin star indoor pool changing rooms four poster bed huge bathroom birthday treat underwater music tasting menu the main house steam room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 3,285 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Had such a lovely spa weekend at penny hill. Staff couldn't do enough for you and so friendly. Food delicious... Great vegetarian options. Spa treatment fantastic. Thermal spa amazing as were the spa rooms. Felt extremely relaxed after the experience. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jaysh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graham Copeman, General Manager at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear jayshp83,
Thank you for you review. It is wonderful that the staff looked after you so well and you also enjoyed the tasty vegetarian options. We can't wait to welcome you back for another relaxing spa break!
Kind regards, Graham Copeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2024

This is our third trip to Pennyhill and a yearly treat for us. We love everything about it - the rooms are wonderful, the staff so welcoming and kind and the Latymer dining experience is truly special. You really do leave The Spa a different person. We would recommend afternoon tea by the fire!
A special thank you to Natalie who looked after us so well - thank you.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kelly97Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graham Copeman, General Manager at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear Kelly97Manchester,
Thank you for your 5* review! We love that Pennyhill is your yearly treat, and that Natalie in particular looks after you so well. We will all look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Kind regards, Graham Copeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024

What an amazing experience!

Incredible spa facilities and really friendly and attentive staff - a special thank you to Harry and Georgia at the Hillfield bar and Ben at Themis who went above and beyond in making us feel welcome x

We are looking forward to returning in the summer! 🧖🏽‍♀️

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dipsd2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graham Copeman, General Manager at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear dipsd2020,
Thank you for your review! We're so pleased you had an amazing experience. Harry, Georgia and Ben are so grateful for your kind words about how they went above and beyond, and we can't wait to welcome you back in the summer!
Kind regards, Graham Copeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024

Second visit to Pennyhill and agree with jameshban's review below. Serving wine and other booze just outside the pool area is a bit naff. Lead to drunken tattoed lads and lasses being pretty loud in what should be a more relaxed area. The pool area was so busy there was regularly no towels available. Nowhere to sit or leave your stuff because people were just camping here and sleeping and boozing. flipflops were nicked or someone was attempting to nick them at any given moment so hold on to them! Pool was good temperature but quite busy. Had someone front crawl right into me at speed at one point. Music below the surface could be louder. I love this feature and one of the reasons I came back. Spa facilites are amongst the best though. Really enjoyable. Quite slippery in this area when someone has nicked your flipflops though. Have no idea why the place was three times as packed in February than it was in June. Best thing was our room which was quiet and amazingly comfortable. With a lovely little welcome card and half bottle of English sparking wine which was delicious. Thanks so much for that. We will be back.

Room tip: don't walk around without flipflops. Its very slippy.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graham Copeman, General Manager at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Dear withnail69,
Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you had a brilliant stay overall and that you loved your room and the extra touches to welcome you. However of course I'm really sorry that your experience of the spa area was not what we know our guests usually encounter. We did have a particularly busy Valentines and half term period, and will ensure that we continue to monitor our guests behaviour and act accordingly if we feel it is not conducive to the calm and relaxing spa environment we want our guests to enjoy.
We will look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards, Graham Copeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Lovely hotel, spa and grounds but lacked the finishing touches expected at 5* hotel.

Spa
====
Purpose built—big—spa facility. Plush changing rooms, lots of facilities in the spa. Heavily utilised-possibly owing to it being a weekend. Brits on tour style lounger bagsying in full operation. On both days (saturday and sunday) we went we couldn’t get a lounger. On second, asked the spa staff to find lounger leading to them removing towels from a lounger - of someone who was still genuinely using it - awkward! In all seriousness, the spa needs to review how they handle this as the loungers occupancy was only 20% max at any point. Made what is otherwise a top-end spa tacky and frankly a bit of a towelled mess.

Check-in
=========
Reception was chaotic, no-one to hold the door open while you have to lug your stuff in (yes its a 5*- why is there no-one outside to assist?!) when we went to move car to car park, one of the staff did offer to follow in golf buggy and drive us back, but then proceeded to offer to take bags for another couple leaving them to walk to the hotel with us driving their bags - just odd, appreciate he was just trying to help but awkward for them, and not polished.

Hillford Bar
===========
Bar food underwhelming especially with price. Order was taken wrong despite being read back to us leading to the server and the original waiter discussing what had happened in front of us. I had club sandwich and half of it fell out when i picked it up which wasn’t a great start.

Hillford Restaurant
==================
Great food just a shame the wine took to the end of starters to arrive.

Rooms
======
We had a junior suite for the night. Massive room, comfy bed etc. Beyond basic tea, coffee and water facilities the room lacked the finer touches I would expect; like posh snacks, drinks in the mini fridge. Also pedantic things like the in-room info/room service tablet only lasting 2 minutes off the cradle, and the info clearly being for 2023.

Overall, we have a nice stay but the experience didn’t match the price tag.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jameshban
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graham Copeman, General Manager at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear jameshban,
Thank you for your review. I really appreciate your constructive feedback, and whilst I'm pleased you had a lovely time overall, was sorry to learn there were certain elements you were disappointed with.
Whilst this is certainly not a cause for daily frustration in the spa, we sympathise with the lack of etiquette a minority of guests can display when it comes to reserving loungers and the impact this has on other guests. Should this arise, we do our best to manage this and I am sorry on this occasion we fell short.
Your comments regarding the buggy have been shared with our Front of House Manager to ensure we are streamlining our guest's arrival process to be more welcoming as I completely understand your disappointment here.
I apologise for the incorrect order in the bar, and delay on your wine in the restaurant, although am pleased you had great food.
We have updated the information on the in room tablets and am sorry there was some old information on there. We are always looking to improve our guests' experience and have been making changes over the past few months to our in-room amenities to do just that. I hope if we have the chance to welcome you back in the future you will notice these small touches.
Kind regards, Graham Copeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews