We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abacus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Camberley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed at Abacus for 8 nights recently. Location is very quiet and appealing. The accommodation came with the use of a full kitchen, which is appealing and a real bonus for those of us who don't want to live on take-aways every night. Tesco Express within walking distance, along with Lidl and Aldi. Helpful information, maps and WiFi available. Sky Tv. Selection of DVD's. Jane, the landlady could not be more helpful and kind. Breakfast came in the form of 'help yourself', with a selection of cereals and bread, plenty of tea/coffee too. I strongly recommend Abacus if you are staying in the Camberley area. Very warm and clean!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

We do quite a bit of mountain biking in this area (travelling from from North East London ) and ABACUS B&B is perfectly positioned for access to trails in places like Swinley Forest, Crowthorne Wood, Tunnell Hill, Yateley Heath and Minley Manor. Would agree with most of the other reviewers that this is a great B&B with everything from good WIFI access full sky TV package and a wonderful kitchen where you can prepare your own food in the evening (Tesco, Lidl and Aldi close by) and have breakfast anytime in the morning. Very peaceful location and could spend hours looking into the long garden watching all the wild birds. Also Jane is the perfect B&B host - very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steelarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Welcoming b&b with good facilities. Use of kitchen a real bonus and help your self continental breakfast is great as I have missed breakfast in other places due to being up for work too early. Good wi-fi connection and dog friendly with immidiate walks nearby on millitary owed heath. For dog owners it is near millitary training area so occasional gunfire can be heard so could worry a nervous dog mine not bothered at all. Jane the owner friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

A group of us stayed here while on tour with a children's theatre show. We travelled up and down the country and stayed in many B&Bs - this was right up in the top few.
Clean, welcome, friendly and with a large equipped kitchen at your disposal, not to mention a full sky tv package in every room! Jane, the owner couldn't be more helpful and friendly, making our stay incredibly comfortable and welcoming! 5 stars all round. I promised Jane I would leave a review months ago - better late than never!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tholmes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The approach to Abacus is some distance along a appalling road/track owned by the Military. Pot holes you could almost get lost in and so many on all sides it was hard to choose a route through them, especially after the snow and rain of recent weeks. My husband's main concern was possible damage to his car. With no lights at night it is an even more treacherous drive and sadly beyond the scope of Abacus and the people of Woodside to rectify. The B & B itself was immaculately clean and the help yourself breakfast not a problem, with lots of supplies in the room and kitchen. I had no problem with shared shower /toilet facilities but was a little surprised to find them downstairs and very,very cosy in size. Not for the oversized or even mildly disabled!. The gardens were lovely and the welcome friendly. Value for money especially if you are a business traveller.

Room Tip: If you are tall don't choose a twin because of beds under the dormer angles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayloftbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Abacus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Hurrah, hurrah. I am delighted to say that the Military have finally repaired the pot-holes and Woodside is once more a fully tarmacked road.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your many positive comments. Cleanliness is extremely important to us; it is pleasing to note that it is appreciated. I do hope that you will visit us again, now that the road is mended.

For your information, Abacus also has a large twin room downstairs, adjacent to shower rooms, which is ideal for disabled guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I wish I had found this one years ago. I was only passing through for the one night. Jane was very friendly and accommodating. The experience of cooking my own breakfast was i have to admit is new to me. But this just seemed to make it more leisurely. I enjoy walking and with extensive military training areas locally I was more than happy to just follow my nose. Would highly recommend. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPETERS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Finding myself stranded in Blackwater, I came across Abacus B&B on an internet search. I was made to feel instantly welcome with the offer of food and drink. Would definitely recommend. Good value too.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikes1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camberley hotels
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Camberley Central
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Camberley
Travelodge Camberley
#5 of 8 in Camberley
225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sandhurst Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
Premier Inn Camberley Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Ely Hotel
The Ely Hotel
#4 of 8 in Camberley
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacus Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 Woodside | Blackwater, Camberley GU17 9JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Camberley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Camberley
Price Range: £50 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abacus Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlimited free WiFi (Infinity), large LCD TV, DVD player, fully equipped and spacious kitchen where one may prepare and eat an evening meal, continental breakfast available at any hour, high standard of cleanliness, off road parking, shared shower rooms. In a private cul-de-sac, adjacent to 8 square miles of woodland with public access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Abacus Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abacus Bed And Breakfast Camberley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing