We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeside Continental Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business Trip”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Forget all the bad reviews. Myself and 2 colleagues stayed at the Continental for 2 nights and we thought it was fine.

Cleanliness was excellent, bedrooms (slept like a log) with a lakeside view. Food ok - we did not expect cordon bleu, if we wanted that we would have dined out in town.

Staff very pleasant and helpful.

Only complaint - please put more staff on during meal service in the restaurant.

Will be back next year.

thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinebarnes2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    23
    13
    18
See reviews for
8
6
3
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has huge potential but is run down and tatty. Wallpaper is torn, wooden fixtures are chipped, signage is laminated paper... It's all just sub-standard.
Check-In was informative, but the reception area isn't a very welcoming environment. It's a bit dark and dingy. Completely uninviting.
All staff, however, were polite and helpful.
Other clientele could be heard vomiting as I walked down the corridor... But there's not much the hotel can do about that apart from soundproofing doors!
My room was spacious, with plenty of helpful items (iron & board!) to hand. However, when it came to sleeping, I didn't get much.... The bed was uncomfortable, lumpy and well worn... And doors slammed all night long outside in the corridor!
The room was clean, and there were plenty of towells.
Free wifi was a huge bonus and the breakfast was also a plus point.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Natsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Visiting family we stayed here for two nights and with all the usual amenities,( for making teas and coffees etc).the room was spacious,comfortable and clean.
The bathroom was spotless and the staff were very good,helpful and efficient.
We would stay here again hopefully with more time to spend at this large complex.

Room Tip: for a quiet night try to avoid rooms near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick13031951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for me. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Considering it was November, I did find my room very warm but, nothing an open window couldn't cure. Wifi access was ok, but not great with connections dropping. Breakfast for me was continental. £5.50 was reasonable I suppose but, the full english I thought was a bit pricey at £10.95. I would stay again though

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank merlinsquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had an overnight stay here and it ticked all the boxes. Welcoming, clean, tidy and had everything I needed. Yes, the decor is a bit dated, the portrait of Maggie Thatcher is a bit strange but the staff were very efficient and friendly. I ordered an early breakfast for Sunday morning, it arrived bang on time with a smiling waiter - great! This hotel provides a comfortable stay for a functional purpose, I wouldn't stay for a luxury weekend but it is more than adequate for business purposes. I would stay here again, definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Stratton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Even at Reception, there are indications of a previous era - like the portrait of Maggie Thatcher or the 'Coronation' chair in one corner. The room numbering is not properly referenced in the lift or stair landings so you might have some fun navigating there. On the way, there's lots of opulent wallpaper and curtain hangings to make you feel you've travelled back in time!

The room itself was fine and the bathroom clean and presentable, the bed comfortable but the room was too hot even with the window open and radiators off.

Breakfast was not terrible, but the teapot was one-and-a dribble size. However, top marks for the croissants!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I'll keep this short as I could go on forever. It is tired....a throw back to the bad old 80s. Poor décor, old fashioned wallpaper and furniture. The food is shocking. Breakfast looked so bad I decided to stick with the packet cereal. The head waiter was inaudible. I had no idea what he was muttering. If you really do not care about your accommodation and you want it cheap then this is your place. If you have a modicum of taste avoid this hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: It is relatively quiet but I stayed midweek and the place was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneHotspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Camberley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camberley
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Lakeside International Hotel
Lakeside International Hotel
#2 of 2 in Frimley Green
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Camberley Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Camberley Hotel
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Sandhurst Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Frimley
Travelodge Frimley
#1 of 2 in Frimley Green
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Continental Hotel

Property: Lakeside Continental Hotel
Address: Wharf Road, Camberley GU16 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Camberley
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeside Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Continental Hotel Camberley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing