We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stanhill court hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanhill Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanhill Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stanhill court hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We recently visited this hotel as we had an early start flying out from Gatwick to Turkey.
I mostly enoyed the experience but had a couple of issues with it.
On arrival the driveway appears very funereal because of the stone statues along the verges and was slightly off putting. Perhaps they could be removed
Room was slightly jaded and the wardrobe door wouldnt shut. No tea in the coffee/tea making facility.
On the upside, food in the evening was excellent and very tasty. Grounds were lovely. Also the Receptionist carried the bags to our room which was a great asset as we were up a long staircase.

Room Tip: Handy for airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Gosh, I'm disappointed you have issues with our statues! My husband has always loved Roman statuary and what an ideal setting we have at the hotel; a lovely long drive on which to place them. More statues can also be found in our beautiful amphitheatre leading into the walled garden. They're really at home there now as they've been there for the last 23 years and this is the first time anybody has thought to mention them in this way.

Thank you for your comments on our food and service which is always good to hear. We will happily put things right during a guest's stay if we can and every room has tea/coffee making facilities - set out in a special glass cabinet - if you were unable to locate them we would happily point them out, if asked.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    111
    73
    44
    38
See reviews for
46
261
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
braodstairs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here on the 14th May 2014 and would like to thank all the staff for an excellent service, the receptionist was very attentive and an asset to the hotel. Food was fabulous and being a chef I tend to be critical however the food was faultless and priced extremely well. The grounds are wonderful and the rooms are comfortable. i would recommend this hotel and will definitely use it for any other trips we take.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulredlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review of Stanhill Court Hotel on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

John and I stayed at Stanhill last night, following the wedding of my oldest friend, Roderick to Jeff yesterday in the library there. From the moment we arrived, we really felt we had been `looked after`, the staff were marvellous, and helpful to the `nth` degree, charming, smart and courteous, the food was lovely, the rooms, were `nicely` old fashioned, not swept through with the `Corporate look so favoured by hotels today...They even gave us a private dining room for dinner last night, we were only a party of nine, and I thought this was such a lovely touch, the dinner was very good, my duck with coriander rosti was really nice(would have preferred the duck a little `pinker`, but my fault, for not asking, not theirs!) breakfast was nice, again served by the waiter who had looked after us yesterday...a joy to behold, he was too! Altogether a lovely experience, and even though so close to Gatwick we were not disturbed at all by the airport, only by a VERY ungracious family leaving to get their plane at 5.00am this morning, Obviously too exited about their week in Benidorm to consider that other people may still be asleep! Again not the hotel`s fault. It is less than an hour from where we live, so would certainly think about going back for the odd night away, not expensive either. Well done Stanhill Court, you have got it right!

Room Tip: Rooms wiith a view look good if staying more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Wow! What can I say - thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful testimonial. I'm so pleased we 'rocked your boat', as they say and look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had a lovely afternoon at the Stanhill hotel. Attended a function which had over 100 people. The food was fab and being an ex-foodservice professional was one of the best mass catered meals I have ever eaten - and that is all 3 courses! The bar is lovely and bright and has a nice relaxing air about it. i am currently on crutches and the staff could not have been more helpful opening doors and carrying stuff for me, reception lady was again very helpful and friendly. High end prices for food but I think they delivered on the day (and others as well I think) Looking forward to me next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for a very professional critique of your experience here at Stanhill Court Hotel. We have built up an enviable reputation for hosting over 60 weddings here every year and I'm glad we got it right on this occasion also.

We are a privately run, family owned, country house hotel and although we also cater for the corporate market with meetings large and small, I think our reputation on all fronts lies in the fact that customer service and quality food is at the forefront of our success.

We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stanhill Court Hotel is a little oasis of calm and tranquillity only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of Gatwick Airport. Stayed there prior to our trip to St Lucia last month - beautiful old house with oak panelling, lovely grounds, quiet & peaceful - great service from friendly staff - comfortable room and altogether a great start to our holiday. The room rate included car parking for a week in their own car park so no danger of your car being driven off by who knows who to some other location as with some places. Would recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celia142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We are glad you found us and that we fulfilled all your needs! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you again on other occasions.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Owner/Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Review written on behalf of Debs (from Shropshire).

Breath of fresh air. Could not be more helpful. Stayed night before an early flight, left car for three weeks. Great room and supper, and staff lovely. Would highly recommend, and I'll certainly be back anytime I fly from LGW. Delightful hotel and great value in beautiful surroundings.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. It's obviously always a pleasure to receive good comments - and leaves us all with a warm glow.

We look forward to welcoming you again on other occasions.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Owner/Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a great one night stay, excellent food and service, lovely four poster bed which was very comfortable. Would definitely stay again, and would like to try the afternoon tea facility. The evening meal was to die for, and breakfast was the same?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor. I'm glad we met all your expectations and look forward to welcoming you on another occasion.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
4.1 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
2.8 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhill Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhill Court Hotel

Property: Stanhill Court Hotel
Address: Stan Hill | near Gatwick Airport, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanhill Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful architecture in park-like setting near Gatwick Airport hidden away in the Surrey countryside - full of original features and uninterrupted views to the far distant Surrey hills. Only ten minutes from London/Gatwick Airport but NOT in a flight path so it's very peaceful and tranquil here.Stroll down to our lovely Amphitheatre and Walled Garden - A great start to any trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Stanhill Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanhill Court Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing