We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one night but it felt like our holiday had already begun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stanhill Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Only one night but it felt like our holiday had already begun”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night before setting off on our summer holiday - the hotel offers a special deal where they let you leave your car with them for the duration of the holiday, for little ore than the cost of a one-night stay.

The hotel itself is very nice and we were made to feel very welcome on our arrival - a trivial touch but so frequently ignored. The room we were given was quite large, although the bathroom was a bit on the small side. However, since we were only staying one night, this didn't really matter.

The icing on the cake was that the kitchen were happy to cook us a dinner, even though it was pretty close to their closing time. Sitting outside on a warm July evening, eating our meal, it really felt as if we were on holiday already - before we'd even flown anywhere :-)

Room Tip: We got an upgrade without asking so might be worth asking on arrival - who knows?? Taxi to and from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1_and_A2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am so pleased we met all your expectations. We do aim to provide a warm welcome and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again just before your next trip.

We have many guests returning again and again, who, like you feel that a stay at this hotel is the real start to your holiday where you can relax and enjoy good food in wonderful surroundings.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    120
    76
    45
    39
See reviews for
51
275
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our anniversary was not ruined here but we were very disappointed to have to keep finding some one to serve us drinks whilst soaking up the sunshine on the beautiful terrace. I asked if I had to book a table and was told they were very busy so reserved for 2 people at 730. We arrived in the restaurant at 715 as again got fed up waiting to be served at the bar. We were the first couple there and there was no music or atmosphere at all. We ordered our meal and we're enjoying our starter whilst 2 other couples came in. Unfortunately we never received our main course until the other couples were on their desserts, even though no one else came into the restaurant. We were given a glass of wine each as apology but without any music it was embarassing discussing our annoyance. Still no staff on the bar. And no one on reception to complain to either. Generally the hotel is stunning and clean but poor management and staffing let it down. Breakfast too was a whispered affair, without sauces because they weren't offered and she dashed off so quickly because we could ask.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
I was truly sorry to read of your experience at the hotel. Please accept my personal apologies. I have, indeed, experienced this same thing when dining out. It is annoying but, as hoteliers, we do understand that things go wrong sometimes. Our prime aim is to make all guests welcome and that they leave us having had an enjoyable experience - otherwise, why would be in business (23 years!).

I am sure this was a 'one-off' and look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion when I know you will have a more enjoyable time.

Kind regards,
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times as it provides a corporate conference / training venue. It's location is perhaps 15 minute drive through the countryside from Gatwick airport, so it clearly serves a purpose for people with a flight to catch the next day.

Staff are always very friendly but you sometimes get the impression there could do with being one or two more of them and sometimes they are a bit rushed. Reception is not always staffed when you come to check in or out for instance.

In places it's décor could benefit from being refreshed but overall the main facilities provide a pleasant environment with a little more character than a typical hotel from a chain. It does provide wifi throughout the hotel but it's connection can be hit and miss at times and with mobile phone signal being limited there at times, be prepared for periods cut off from the digital world !

It does cater very well, whether it's buffet lunches for a group or more formal sit down evening meals. Breakfast is always worth getting up for and is always freshly cooked to order,

The rooms I have stayed in at the Stanhill Court have been good but from talking to some of my colleagues, there is clearly a degree of variability room to room, again with some being in need of some redecoration or running repairs. The rooms generally provide tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and my last one had a four poster bed.

Given it's remote location and the fact that the hotel is set back from the road it is very quiet a night, so there is seldom a risk of being disturbed whilst you are sleeping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor or you will have lots of stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_c_hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your comments and GOOD NEWS - we are told that Fibreoptic Broadband will be connected by BT by the end of September!

The variability to our rooms, size, content, etc is due to the fact that this was once a family home, not a purpose-built hotel which I suppose adds to its uniqueness and you will also be pleased to hear that now business is returning after the long recession we shall be embarking on a programme of refurbishment.

You do seem to have enjoyed your events with us and we look forward to continuing hosting events and the guests who attend.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had our wedding reception at Stanhill Court in May. They really did a fantastic job and helped make the day really special. In the lead up to the wedding Donna (the wedding coordinator) and Mr Colas were so helpful and worked really hard to accommodate all of our ideas. A few weeks before the day, we went to the hotel for a menu tasting evening which was very well organised and the food was amazing – it was something a lot of people commented on.

On the day itself, I will always remember when we first walked in – the place looked immaculate, the chandelier in hallway was lit up, there was a line of smiling staff with trays of drinks and canapés and a red carpet laid out - it really was wonderful.

We had our wedding breakfast in the Orangery which looked so pretty and was so much fresher and lighter than the rooms we had seen in other country house venues. Also, there is so much space – in the evening we had the band and dancing in one room, a crowd of people in the bar, a quieter group in the library and a lot of people in the big airy hallway.

My advice to anyone considering Stanhill for their wedding is to go for it. I had reservations the first time I visited as it seemed very sleepy and a bit dark but the place just came alive when it was full of all our family and friends and the helpful and friendly Stanhill staff members. Special thanks to Donna and Michael – they worked so hard and were absolute stars!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLouise2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your comments - if only all the weddings put their comments on Tripadvisor, we'd get top billing!

We aim to please - it's what we are here for.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you celebrate your first anniversary!
Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here while going on holiday, car park is a little basic, but it is fine. But wouldn't return for that.
The restaurant was superb, the meal was delicious and the service was professional. The girl in the bar was smiley and friendly and reception couldn't be more helpful.
The gentleman who checked us in ,and out as it happens, was a real asset, helpful, informative funny and a credit to the hotel.
Nice to see some English staff

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenS01293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed overnight for a visit to our friends nearby. First impressions are of a very impressive well maintained hotel in wonderful gardens. We had booked a four poster room which was clean tidy and again very in keeping with its surroundings. Be warned no lifts and most rooms involve a lot of walking and stairs. What lets this hotel is the poor service. On checking in no offer to car your bags, we sat in the gardens and eventually found the bar and then had to find the bar staff who weren't pleased to be found. When we arrived for breakfast following morning all the table were either full or had but used but not cleared. After 10 minutes and no staff we asked reception who said they would find someone, 20 minutes later no tables cleared so we checked out and when we complained were told oh dear we don't have many staff on today!. This hotel could be so much better just needs better management!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggie210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for your comments and, of course, I'm disappointed that you had less than a positive experience during your stay. We do run a tight ship and generally if one member of staff doesn't turn up, there isn't a problem but if two or more fail to show, then obviously this could prove problematical.

We always offer to carry bags or invite guests to leave larger luggage items on the ground floor in the porters lodge and breakfast should have been better attended. Please accept my personal apologies for what is generally a rare occurrence.

We trust this has not put you off and we look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Owner/Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We recently had an overnight stay at the hotel before going on holiday it offers a reasonable package including car parking. We only had a bar meal in the evening which we felt was on the expensive side and with very restricted seating and menu

Two problem we had was that I booked an early morning call for 04.00am and then changed it to 03.30 and I was assured that the time had been changed but we never did get the call at 03.30!!!! glad we had our own alarm with us.

With regards car parking going to the car at just before 4am in the pitch dark was very difficult lucky our car was only 3 in from the entrance but even then was not easy and there did not seem to be any security lighting or as far as I could see no security at all just park and hope for the best!!

This hotel has so much potential with a wonderful old house and grounds but needs a lot more attention to detail with regards why most people are staying and parking.

Room Tip: Try and park near to the car park entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your recent comments. The overnight lighting situation now incorporates 'sensor' lights to avoid the very problem you encountered.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay.

Kind regards
Kathryn Colas
Director
Stanhill Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
4.2 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
3.0 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhill Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhill Court Hotel

Property: Stanhill Court Hotel
Address: Stan Hill | near Gatwick Airport, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanhill Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful architecture in park-like setting near Gatwick Airport hidden away in the Surrey countryside - full of original features and uninterrupted views to the far distant Surrey hills. Only ten minutes from London/Gatwick Airport but NOT in a flight path so it's very peaceful and tranquil here.Stroll down to our lovely Amphitheatre and Walled Garden - A great start to any trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stanhill Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanhill Court Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing