We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Russ Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel to take advantage of the parking and transport to Gatwick. It is cheaper to stay there and park then to just park at Gatwick. The staff are quite friendly and the receptionist was extremely patient given the demanding clientele that were around. However, the hotel has very little to offer other than somewhere to sleep. (If you can sleep in a lumpy,old bed!).

The food is pretty gross and extortionately proced as you have no choice (£10 for a frozen pizza).

I would recommend spending the extra £20 and staying at one of the higher rated hotels and have an enjoyable night stay and meal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joker79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    256
    481
    334
    1,000
See reviews for
404
1,027
106
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Two weeks parking and a room overnight before an early flight for around 75 quid - great value. . We checked in quickly, had a few drinks in the bar and a bite to eat and it was great . .
Not entirely surely what some people expect?
The Hotel is clean and fine . .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We'd booked to stay here before an early flight. Check in was awful; the reception area smelt vile and after being given our room key we quickly headed to possibly THE most awful hotel room Ive ever been in! I think at one time it was a cleaners cupboard; it was tiny, grubby and the bed wedged in a corner alcove which meant that at 6'3" tall Id have to sleep with my legs bent. The bathroom was long and thin and only just big enough to squeeze into. I returned to reception to request another room; the only room left was above the function room and there was a function that evening. That room was decorated in a sort of retro 1960's theme - oh sorry....it hadn't been decorated since the 1960s!!! We returned to reception and spoke to a member of 'management' whose appearance did nothing to instill any confidence in the place. As we'd prepaid, I asked for, well actually demanded a refund. We finally left and got a last minute walk in rate at the Sofitel. Russ Hill is a dump. No two ways about it. Awful awful awful. Don't waste your time or money!.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We arrived at this hotel with our hearts in our mouths. Our travel agent booked this accommodation for us and when we discovered it was so cheap we wondered what it would be like. The reviews did not do much to re-assure us. Amazingly it was a lot better than we dared to hope. The linen was clean, the food wholesome and reasonable and although the hotel could do with refurbishing and is quite far from Gatwick Airport, we would not hesitate to stay there again if we required cheap, clean accommodation overnight on our way to Gatwick. Don't be afraid to give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisher68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here 1 night before a flight from Gatwick.

On check-in, we were told to wait behind a queue of approx. 50 children (we didn't, we spoke to someone else!) who were getting keys. Rooms are tiny, grubby, and when we first opened our door a big bit of it fell off. Wifi is only in the public areas. The beds aren't comfy (pillows are especially rubbish).

However, the reason this isn't getting "terrible", is that it is cheap and close to Gatwick. As a transit it's ok for the price. Depends what you are after, we laughed about it being like Fawlty Towers. We were up at 4am anyway, so it was only a few hours!

Room Tip: Maybe try the Premier Inn down the road??
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Really poor hotel which is run down and offers poor service.
Reception doesn't know difference between B&B, HB and FB.
Food very poor and cold.
Room however was clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggles318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at the Russ Hill for one night before our holiday to Mexico to ensure a nice and relaxed start of out holiday. Living in Weymouth means a 3 hour drive to Gatwick so choosing the hotel and parking ensures en extra couple of hours extra in bed! We paid around £70 - £80 for the night and 2 weeks parking which we thought was very good, the cost of parking alone at some places was very similar.

Upon arrival to the hotel you need to park in a space just outside the entrance then head inside to check in. You will then be given a parking location so you can move your car to its home for the period of your holiday. The parking is very close to the hotel so there are no long walks, its recommended that you offload your luggage when you are parked by the entrance for ease. You keep your car keys so you know your car is going to be left in the exact spot you left it waiting your return. This is different to our previous visit but I prefer this as I know that when we get off the bus on our return we can go straight to the car and begin the onward journey.

At check in we were told that the airport transfer bus was £5 per person and was paid for in pound coins in to a machine exactly like a car park ticket machine. I think the price of this transfer has gone up as I seem to remember paying £3.50 per person just over a year or so ago. Keep this price in mind when choosing your hotel & parking as if you have 2+ people in your group, the transfer costs soon add up.

We have stayed at this hotel before and have been allocated a room on the first floor, but this time we were given the choice so we decided to go for a room on the ground floor. Our room as 230, as expected it was the same as our room during the previous stay. The rooms are fairly basic, but clean and adequate for a one night stop over. The hotel its self is very old so the rooms could do with a bit of an update, but again just staying one night this does not really matter to us.

During the stay we visited the bar and restaurant for dinner which we have not done on our previous visit. The bar prices seemed pricy to use, but you could probably say they were in line with London prices. We paid £12.95 each for a buffet dinner in the restaurant. We could choose from, soup, salad, carvery (turkey & pork), curry and beef stew. The buffet was all you can eat so you could go up as many times as you wish. All of the food was of a good standard, we left with full stomachs! I would recommend booking the restaurant if you are thinking of going as there are not all that many tables. The bar is situated just over the hall from the restaurant and provides a great view of planes landing in to Gatwick airport.

In the morning the airport transfer bus was ready and waiting around 15 minutes before its scheduled departure (8am) so this enabled us to get on and place our luggage in to the racks with plenty of time to spare. The transfer to Gatwick south terminal took around 10 – 15 minutes and we were dropped right outside the entrance. On the previous visit we were flying from the North terminal, the drop off was a bit further away from the entrance but still only a couple of minutes walk.

Over all we were pleased with the hotel. As mentioned above we will take in to account £5 per person airport transfer fee next time as we may be able to put that £10 towards a nicer / closer hotel offering free airport transfers. One thing worth mentioning though is that the Russ Hill transfer bus is quite large so I wouldn’t expect there to be a problem with overloading on either journey.

Thanks for taking the time to read my review and I hope it was a help is some way, please +1 the review if it did!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank davecullen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
3.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
4.5 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.4 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Property: Russ Hill Hotel
Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing