We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does what it says...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Russ Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“does what it says...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have stayed at the Russ Hill a good few times over the last couple of years... 1..for staying the night before going on holiday and leaving the car and 2 for work.. Each time it has worked really well for us.. Its as cheap as chips so dont expect pristine conditions in all the rooms...its an older hotel for goodness sake but the staff are always as helpful as can be.. especially the chappie outside who when we arrived really late at night on 2 occasions and the car park was really full helped us find a space to park..what a great guy.. Last night we stayed in the 'newer' wing of the hotel and it was a lovely room..really quiet, clean with a comfortable bed what more can you ask for.. we would always choose to stay in the Russ Hill when in the area everything you can ask for. and I have to say its a fabulous atmosphere seeing people happy and in a great party mood heading off on their holidays... even if its not you lol...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huffyhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    259
    489
    344
    1,007
See reviews for
413
1,039
106
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Wow I can not even begin with this hotel! All me and my partner wanted was a comfy bed for the night as we had an early morning flight, but no we ended up staying in the smallest double room ever with no windows!! Just a little sky light which let no light in at all and with the temperatures soaring we couldn't even open a window for fresh air! We ended up having to get a fan from reception which didn't even help just blew dust around the whole room. The bed oh gosh! We we're led on a slab of rock! I think we we're shoved in an old room at the back of the hotel! We didn't even have suitcases with us and struggled to move around the room it was that small!

One this I can't complain about is the food was pretty nice and the location was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelskiix3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

AVery disappointing start to our holiday,we paid extra to have a family room with decent size beds for our two big teenagers-we got a large room with one dbl. bed,one single bed and a small put u up.

Our room had no air con so it was sweltering. So we had to open the window the noise from constant guests coming and going was so bad we had to shut the windows again but none of us were able to sleep. It was so stiflingly hot.!! My husband went to complain but as our room overlooked the front,where people were standing waiting throughout the night for the airport transfere so there was little they could do. we asked for some drinking water and was charged £1.60 each for each small bottle. So we had thought we wouldn't be so tired before our 6am gatwick flight having booked a hotel nearby the airport. But we were exhausted after such a bad night without any sleep
On return we went to pick up the car from the hotel car park. but to our horror there were deep lines of scratches all along one side from the back door to the front side panel. Reception reminded us of their 'no liability' however she gave me the operations managers number who was very unhelpful and didn't even apologise for our damaged car,let alone offer some recompense.
Basically we paid over £100 for a night with no sleep and a bill for £100s to respray the scratches on our car.

Room Tip: Don't stay here go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

One of the Britannia Group of hotels, still great value, excellent for Gatwick airport with bus service at a small charge, rooms on the whole a little small, but great double glazing it really keeps the noise out as you are quite close to Gatwick.

Meals reflect prices in the area and looked reasonable but as we never ate there i cannot comment.

The hotel was clean and decoration was a bit faded in parts, but for value in this area you cannot beat it , the staff were friendly and helpful. we were there on a short stay of 3 nights as the hotel is close to my sons house i am sure we will say again.

Most of the hotels are well above the price i paid at this hotel, in this area and we have stayed at many round the area and this one compares favorably with them all, and non will go near Russ Hill Hotels prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We visited the Russ Hill last year before travelling and were generally happy, but it had a few rough edges. We stayed again this year, got a better deal (£99 including 2 weeks parking) and were very happy. The staff were very helpful and pleasant - the kettle in the room switched off before boiling, for example, and there was a replacement within a few minutes. The all you can eat carvery was very good and our room, behind reception, was large, clean and modern. For what we wanted (and remember we had been previously) it ticked all the boxes and was a pleasant start to our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room behind reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy.priest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

After reading all the reviews my husband and I were somewhat worried about staying here, but I can honestly say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

We had booked with National Holidays London/Windsor trip for 3 nights stay.

We had a family room which was perfect for my husband and I and our 2 small children. We were situated on the ground floor which was perfect as we had a pushchair and there is no lift. We were never woken by aeroplanes. The room was clean, towels, bedding very clean and changed every day.

The staff were very helpful to us and went out of their way to help us at times, the breakfast was lovely and evening meal wasn't too bad for the price we had paid.

Overall we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libylynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Unlike some others that are clearly hell bent on slating the hotel, I was not planning on spending my 2 weeks annual holiday here. For us (and there was 9 in all) it was somewhere to sleep the night before our flight. We wasn't expecting the Ritz as we didn't pay Ritz or Hilton prices to stay there. The rooms were cleaned, the beds clean and comfy. We had kettles, tes, coffee, sugar and milk in our rooms.If you expect perfect rooms, pay the extra money and stay in the 5* hotels :-) For us it was great and we have no complaints.Satnav takes you straight there. Thank you Russ Hill Hotel for starting our holiday of easy and hassle free.

Room Tip: They have rooms with 2 sets of bunk beds in as well as a double bed :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
3.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
4.5 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.4 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Property: Russ Hill Hotel
Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing